Vaco Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated 25 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Vaco Co-Founder and CEO Jerry Bostelman
Jerry Bostelman
206 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance and work hard/play hard mentality(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great people who know how to have a great time even when the job may get hard(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Inconsistent work placements and low pay(in 22 reviews)

  • "Not sure the sale on being hired on full time through a contractor position is always as realistic as told(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "If you absolutely need work, don't stay here long"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worked On A Product Team 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vaco full-time

    Pros

    - interview process is quick - bonded with some fellow contractors - snacks and drinks

    Cons

    It took me a long time to write this review because I was paranoid of the repercussions, but I feel that it is important for me to shared my experience. Vaco's objective is to get the most work out of you, for the least money, and offer no channels for growth. Professional Development: - they do not care about your professional development, and will actively block you from growing or advancing despite proving your abilities and skills. - I was told, verbatim, that there is no guarantee for any title change, advancement, or raise of any kind, at any point. This might make sense for a contract role that is for 6 months or a year. But most of these contract roles are not actually "contract" and referred to, internally, as "on-going" roles. It's designed this way to keep people in roles that are clearly essential to the company that is outsourcing them, while being able to pay a fraction for what they would pay if they hired them full-time. I know people who have been in their "contract" position for 5+ years. Pay: - If you try to negotiate pay when given an offer, they will eagerly remind you that they can give the job to someone else. Because they partner with such big companies like Google, they will use the allure of that to try to strong-arm you into a low pay. Don't fall for it. Be aware of whether what they are offering is competitive pay and if it is a livable wage. - Even if, while in the role, your scope of work has expanded from your original job description, the only way you will get a raise, is if you tirelessly fight for it, and even then, you are likely to only get a very small raise, if any at all. Teams vary, but for mine, we had an annual review, but we WERE NOT ALLOWED to discuss pay or title. If there aren't any channels to discuss pay, figure out who your HR rep is (not your manager, which in my experience they referred to as my HR rep, but did not actually have the information needed or power to make any changes with HR concerns). The real HR rep is the only person who can help you if you find yourself in this situation. It took me a year of being stonewalled by my manager (my red herring"HR rep") and my manger's manager before they were tired of me, and referred me to my real HR rep. It took one year to discover this person. One year. Benefits: - Insurance Packages are expensive - OT will rarely be approved (even though, you will likely find yourself in a position where you will need to work overtime) - There is no paid vacation-- so, calculate that into what you believe is fair pay and negotiate anyway. They WILL low-ball you. - No 401k match - LOOK CLOSELY at their holiday policy, and question it. It is purposefully confusing, and they change their policies frequently. Example: if you take a sick day the week before, during, or after a week with a holiday, you will forfeit your holiday pay. - You do not get paid for holidays that your contracted company has, and for companies like Google, they have A LOT of holidays. They will also tell you that working on those holidays are not allowed. It's not true. Challenge it.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2020-05-25
  2. "First job"

    4.0
    Current Contractor - Content Reviewer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Vaco for less than a year

    Pros

    I guess the best part of working from them it's that we're able to work for big companies that I've could never imagine working for.

    Cons

    I'd say it's because we're a not full-time employee.

    Vaco2020-02-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Vaco Contractor Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vaco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people with great attitudes and will bend over backwards to help.

    Cons

    Not sure the sale on being hired on full time through a contractor position is always as realistic as told.

    Vaco2018-10-07
  4. "Great company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vaco part-time

    Pros

    Organized and nice , helpful HR staff!

    Cons

    Hard to know when not full-time

    Vaco2018-01-21
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Vaco is the equivalent of modern slavery in Silicon Valley"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vaco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work at some big tech companies in Silicon Valley (but you are treated as a second-class citizen because you're a contractor).

    Cons

    I worked for Vaco for about 2 years as a contractor for a big tech company in Mountain View. You get hired with big promises of raises, perks, and a high probability of becoming a full-time employee for the company you are contracting for. I fell for all of the promises Vaco made me because I was new to tech. I started at $14.00 an hour as an operations specialist and was told that was just a standard procedure and would be given a raise after my first 3, 6, and 12 months of work. When my first 3 months were up, I asked for a raise and Vaco management told there wasn't a "performance" evaluation program in place, so there was no way to give me a raise since they didn't know how well I was doing. I documented all of my work and impact in my team to use for raises and future promotions; however, Vaco management continuously gave me excuses to avoid giving me a raise. After my first year of working with Vaco, I was finally able to get a $2.00 raise. Then, I ended up switching teams to get a "better" pay, and with my new team was earning $20.00 / hour (which was still severely underpaid for someone working in Mountain View and at a tech company). I made the mistake of working at Vaco for 2 years and being undervalued by this company, if you are considering joining Vaco please be aware. I learned through other contractors at other tech companies that the type of work I was doing was paid at least $30 / hour at other places. Additionally, did I mention that you don't get any sort of employee benefits? Yes, Vaco doesn't offer medical, disability, and/or life insurance benefits; no retirement benefits and no paid time off. I was really stupid to work for Vaco for 2 years, so please don't make the same mistake. The work dynamic among Vaco employees is not friendly because everyone is competing to get "converted" to full-time employees for the tech company you're contracting for. Vaco managers also don't care much about you if you get sick or need time off for any kind of emergency. This is actually something negative that "affects" your performance and it's used as "proof" of you not being a "valuable" employee. Vaco managers have "favorites" who move from being contractors for the tech company's team to working for Vaco as "managers" but that's just another word for "supervisors". You are closely micro-managed and depending on the type of work you do within the tech company, you perform under strict "performance metrics"....you are basically a modern day slave. I knew other Vaco contractors who didn't get reasonable lunch / bathroom breaks and were also under-paid with no benefits. During my last months at Vaco, an ex Vaco employee sued Vaco for all of the things I mentioned before. The person filed a class-action lawsuit but Vaco worked very hard in discrediting the ex-employee and made us all sign documents to not suit Vaco in the future.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2017-11-11
  6. "Great assignments"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vaco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    After I got my first assignment they placed me quickly after the assignment ended with no break between job assignments

    Cons

    Not much information giving as to the status of being hired on full time with the company. So you can't really make long term plans because you don't know when your time is up

    Continue reading
    Vaco2017-09-09
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Seemingly amazing, disappointingly unprofessional"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vaco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    perks, or whatever is left of them

    Cons

    keep further separating us from Google/Youtube itself, (sent us to SJ so we would not take up space amongst full time employees) management has zero capacity of knowing how to connect with their own employees. Hostile work environment, petty managers attacking back-handedly, training is absolutely miserable, discrimination, special treatments. It feels like high school all over again.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2017-07-28
  8. "Great people to work with"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Data Scientist in Mountain View, CA

    I worked at Vaco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people and easy to deal with and received all my benefits and salary with out a hitch

    Cons

    It is a staffing company so all of the cons that are associated with not being full time.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2017-06-08
  9. "Know where you stand and don't drink the kool-aid"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Brand Ambassador in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vaco for more than a year

    Pros

    Vaco is a good temporary job to keep money coming in.

    Cons

    Not much growth here at all and there is very little appreciation for employees. You're there to perform a task with little care for treating you as a human with an outside life and emotions. The company is very tight with giving overtime which was promised but then taken away and has little regard for the quality of their employees or attempting to grow them. As long as you know your value, don't have expectations, know what you're getting into and hold your own work/life balance, it works as a temporary job. They will often tell you it's a door to working for the company they're contracted for but you're often kept away from the full-time employees of the main company and get your hand slapped for asking for growth opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2017-03-30
  10. Helpful (5)

    "white badge event only"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parnter Operations Coordinator in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vaco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience. At one point I was part of a highly skilled team that enjoyed their work.

    Cons

    Very little possibility of converting to full time Google employee. Micro manages team - example: timing how long it takes to complete a task and mandatory morning meetings. Despite doing great work, I didn't feel valued or that they trusted me or anyone on my team.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2016-06-09
Found 18 reviews
</>Embed