Valero Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Valero Energy Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Valero Energy Chairman, President and CEO Joe Gorder
Joe Gorder
120 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The Memphis refinery management lacks field experience & ability to make tough business decisions(in 22 reviews)

  • "Long hours and some holidays scheduled to work(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pipeline Technician in Beaumont, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Pay, work/life balance, experience, company

    Cons

    On call, compliance, audits, advancement opportunities

    Valero Energy2020-02-20
  2. "Great company and great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great company with great benefits.

    Cons

    Local management is terrible at their jobs.

    Continue reading
    Valero Energy2020-01-31
  3. "Office Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Administrator in Galway
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good hours, flexibility, good teamwork.

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to progress. No bonus or sick pay

    Valero Energy2020-01-31
  4. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, friendly atmosphere, room for growth

    Cons

    Some of the customers can be very difficult to deal with at times

    Valero Energy2020-01-10
  5. "Good Benefits but No Career Path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, on-site gym/clinics at corporate, on-site cafeteria, covered parking garage, great co-workers.

    Cons

    Lack of development with no career path. Some managers don’t set measurable goals so at the end of the year, most are left wondering how they are ever considered for promotions besides sitting in the same position for the amount of years required before moving up... Management passes their employees ideas off as their own. Nepotism is HORRIBLE here. If you’re not someone’s cousin/niece/nephew/son/daughter/in-law, it will be extremely difficult for you to get a job here.

    Continue reading
    Valero Energy2020-01-07
  6. "Asphalt Facility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plant Operator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The facility that I currently work at has been good to me. It is a great way to get a start in the chemical industry on the non-contact side.

    Cons

    Management seems to believe that the level of turn around in the plant is due to "bad employees". But I believe it is due to low pay for the area and low standards for management and maintenance.

    Continue reading
    Valero Energy2019-12-23
  7. "very good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Superintendent in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits. Support from the team.

    Cons

    A lot of work and no time to socialize

    Valero Energy2019-12-12
  8. "Great pay but lack of diversity in management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Wilmington, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits; commitment to surrounding community.

    Cons

    Training opportunities are lost due to financial incentives for management; lack of diversity above supervisory level.

    Continue reading
    Valero Energy2019-12-12
  9. "No help , Inconsistent . Meet cool people though !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Stocking/Customer Service in Blue Mound, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Got payed weekly. The people I worked with were my age . Laid back enviorment at times. Got to eat the food I made and or was supposed to throw away

    Cons

    Managed the store by myself every shift , no one else to help me when I had less than 6 months of work experience. Having to take out the gas station outside trash (expecially the trucker trash since I worked at a truck stop Valero.)

    Continue reading
    Valero Energy2019-12-20

    Valero Energy Response

    December 23, 2019

    Valero manufactures fuels for distribution and does not own convenience stores or retail gas stations and does not employ convenience store or retail gas station personnel. Your comment is reflecting an issue with the company who owns and operates the store.

    Continue reading
  10. "It was very resourceful and educational."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSR-1 in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teaches self responsibility and self reliable efficiency.

    Cons

    Certain times of the day or night can leave u with nothing to busy yourself with

    Continue reading
    Valero Energy2019-12-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 355 reviews