Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated 11 April 2019
280 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Vertex Pharmaceuticals President and CEO Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
123 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Hard to maintain work/life balance at time" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Furious timelines and sometimes muddled direction from senior management" (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "One of the best places to work(No seriously check the Forbes List)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Op Student in Boston, MA (US)
    Current Employee - Co-Op Student in Boston, MA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Amazing people
    -Great work environment
    -Culture and moral really keep the employees going
    -Happy to come to work each day
    -Strong tight knit community
    -Self expression is encouraged
    -Employee recognition
    -We are definitely a team

    Cons

    Haven’t come across one yet.

    Advice to Management

    Management is great, all ideas are welcome

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    6 Mar 2019 – Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your review. It is great to hear how happy you are working here!


  2. "good salary and advantages but very difficult to evolve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Paris (France)
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Paris (France)
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Gym reimbursement, RSU, good salary, bonus, ....

    Cons

    Difficult to evolve if you are not based either in Boston or in London (International Headquarter) as teams in countries are very small. Silo organization.

    Advice to Management

    Please try to retain your talents and make them evolve. Listen to people and reward them.

  3. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    they have great company culture, friendly people.

    Cons

    none come to mind - great place!

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    17 Apr 2019 – Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thanks for the positive review!


  4. "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Los Cochinos, Lara (Venezuela)
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Los Cochinos, Lara (Venezuela)

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    working conditions ok ok ok

    Cons

    slow progress ok ok ok

    Advice to Management

    continue good work


  5. "Overall good company, salary and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Boston, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Boston, MA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Scientifically sound, Good benefits, Salary, Great Location (except for parking), company culture

    Cons

    parking is expensive and traffic is difficult, some favoritism

    Advice to Management

    continue with basic style with striving for continuing improvement.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    17 Apr 2019 – Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thanks for posting a positive review of Vertex. Please talk with your HR rep about the parking benefit Vertex offers to employees.


  6. "Passion and excitment you can see and feel!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Vertex is filled with passionate, hardworking and dedicated individuals. You can feel the excitement when you walk through the doors. Everyone, from the security team to the executives, is excited to be a part of a company that is truly dedicated to its patient-centric mission.

    Cons

    The pace at Vertex is not for everyone. It's worth it for the outcomes, but its not what everyone is looking for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    18 Mar 2019 – Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking time to post your positive review. We are very happy to hear you feel the "excitement" at Vertex too!


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Please Don't consider this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Boston, MA (US)
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Boston, MA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Compensation (it s a trap)

    Cons

    1. Violation of employee rights.
    2. You can not challenge your seniors. If you do, you will not be only maimed, but fired. The environment is of a high level of fear and intimidation. Regardless of what you are offered, please dont make mistake or think 10 times before joining this company, at least the headquarters. The micromanagement and leadership fear has made working here worse than private store and it is a company-wide problem.
    3. Ineffective HR function.

    Advice to Management

    I think the only way to change work culture is overhaul of senior leadership. The stress that is forced on employees will backfire severely anytime. HR function is worse as they not only overlook at current problems but rather encourage it.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    17 Apr 2019 – Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We are very sorry to hear that your experience at Vertex did not meet your expectations. As a current employee of Vertex, we would suggest you meet with your manager to discuss the issues you have... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Internship is boring but the pay and people are good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Co-Op in Boston, MA (US)
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Co-Op in Boston, MA (US)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free food outside meetings, good pay, gym inside office ($30 per month), transportation is paid for, good cafeteria. Everything you see about the company's values externally is upheld and striven for internally.

    Cons

    My job is not too mentally taxing, though it is relaxing. This company does not seem to reward ambition. There appear to be biases from management towards certain departments. This can be seen in the distribution of "Vocap Awards" which are essentially free money. To be honest, this company is very good objectively.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    18 Mar 2019 – Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking time to provide your review. It is great to hear that you agree the values are upheld. We will be sure to report your concerns about your internship to the proper department.


  9. Helpful (15)

    "sad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    - great benefits - but they have changed the compensation package many times
    - on-site caf is fabulous

    Cons

    - don't care about employees. bottom line. HR is only for legal protection.
    - turnover high due to constant reorgs. new mgt.
    - bully mgt style and "do as I say but not as I do"
    - not nibble - big pharma players
    - no work life balance

    Advice to Management

    You have destroyed the culture by flooding the gates with a bunch of sr leaders who come in, reorg, rename, let skilled people go, hire friends and then the same leaders are then fired or leave. This hiring cycle has destroyed Vertex. Sorry to see the decline. The teams are exhausted from all the changes in people and process. If you are there long enough, you can just pull out past process. Do you wonder why you are always hiring? this is not a growth issue. this is a culture issue.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    18 Mar 2019 – Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time working at Vertex. We will make sure that the proper departments receive your feedback. Good luck in your future endeavors.


  10. Helpful (13)

    "No chance of growth no matter how hard you work.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Boston, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Scientist in Boston, MA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good salary and compensation
    Good work life balance and beer hour

    Cons

    No chance of growth unless you are white. The place is full of politics and nepotism. I was surprised in my early days when people would just randomly leave. Soon I discovered that you can get all the awards and appreciation but your career will not advance. If you keep promoting only certain people without any talent while keeping people of color at the same position (no matter how hard and productive they are) than one day you will be left with no talent. I have seen really smart people leave Vertex just because they were tired of politics. This is the reason that Boston site could not produce any molecules in past few years. I really liked the science and the research, but I could not deal with politics and just wait for your shares to vest without any actual growth.

    Advice to Management

    Stop spending time and money on diversity propaganda and rather do something in the organization for actually supporting people of color. People who bring new disease area never gets any actual appreciation while someone who cannot calculate pH and solubility gets platinum and palladium VOCAPs. Focus on talented people and advance them so they can stay.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    8 Feb 2019 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We will pass your comments on to the appropriate people.