Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated 5 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
47%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Vertex Pharmaceuticals President and CEO Reshma Kewalramani
Reshma Kewalramani
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and overall perks(in 34 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, very open to fresh ideas no matter how new you are(in 24 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Senior statistical programmer"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and competitive pay package

    Cons

    Heavily micromanaged and siloed

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    January 24, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We will make sure to provide your feedback to the proper departments.

  2. "Great benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No one can match their benefits in the industry.

    Cons

    Bit micro management. Prepare to work extra hours


  3. COVID-19

    "Innovative, supportive, fast-moving company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently joined Vertex, just before COVID-19 sent most workers to work from home. I've never experienced the level of executive support and engagement in my decades of experience. I feel valued. Listened to. And supported. I also feel motivated to work harder than ever for the patients we are working for.

    Cons

    Acronym soup is pervasive, and I always feel like I have to ask.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "challenging company culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    compensation package is very good

    Cons

    high employee turnover, challenging culture

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    July 27, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We appreciate your feedback and would suggest your talk to your manager regarding the challenging culture. We will be sure to provide your feedback to the proper departments.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The projects were challenging and the management was great....

    Cons

    There was not a clear growth path

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    July 14, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

  6. Helpful (7)

    "Reshma Needs to Learn Fast"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work was always there.

    Cons

    The new CEO, Reshma, needs to learn fast and understand why people leave this place so soon even when they want to stay. In addition to fixing the employee turnover problem, she needs to work on letting people have internal growth. Most of the employees see no bright future here in the next few years.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company & culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Scientific Associate 

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits Sense of purpose at work Innovative research technology

    Cons

    Fast pace of projects and timelines

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    June 22, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. We appreciate the five star rating.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "great time off"

    5.0
    Current Employee - CTM 

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    they encourage you to use your time off

    Cons

    fast paced work environment makes taking time off hard

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    June 15, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Vertex does encourage employees to use their vacation time.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Monopoly"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good starting salary and benefits Total market monopoly in CF Promising pipeline "Autonomy", either you are an admin or VP you will be micromanaged directly by the executive board at some point. If that prospect makes you tingle give it a go. Free food and snacks

    Cons

    Declining equity awards Extremely US-centric mentality (90% of the employees are in or from Boston), one size fits all, transactional "we-pay-and-call-all-the-shots approach" to everything. HR is cosmetic and simply parrots whatever the executive mantra of the week is. Rampant politics and non-stop jockeying for position.

    Continue reading

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    July 14, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We would suggest that you reach out to your manager or the head of HR in your region and discuss the issues you have posted. We will also forward your feedback to the Paddington office.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not for long-term"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    It's a good place to learn a lot and gain experience.

    Cons

    This could have been to learn a lot and gain experience.

    Continue reading

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    July 27, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We will make sure to provide this feedback to the proper departments.

Found 361 reviews