Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Vertex Pharmaceuticals President and CEO Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
159 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Senior statistical programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and competitive pay package

    Cons

    Heavily micromanaged and siloed

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-01-11

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    January 24, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We will make sure to provide your feedback to the proper departments.

    Continue reading
  2. "Packaging, labelling and distribution QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, GDP Operational Quality in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team culture, exciting company with great challenges

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a challenge

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-02-18
  3. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTC Manager in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great cafeteria and cheap in house gym, amazing co workers

    Cons

    none at all, great experience

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-02-05

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    February 6, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your internship.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company, Terrible Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Pros

    Commitment to CF Patients Good science A lot good employees that care Beautiful headquarters

    Cons

    Unfortunately Vertex is not doing a good job at looking at issues closely when they are raised. Where there is smoke, there’s fire - it’s all over these reviews! If an employee comes to HR with an issue, talk to the people around that employee, not just the head of the Dept who may have a hidden motive for burying the issue. Talk to people on the project, people they work with - do your job and investigate! Most people don’t go to HR unless there is a real issue. And there is a REAL issue with favoritism and hiring of friends. A talented employee’s work will be accredited to those friends so they can propel their careers. If you are part of the favoritism circle you’re golden, otherwise be prepared to have a stagnant career. Maybe you’ll be paid decently but don’t expect recognition for your *own*work and don’t expect there to be an atmosphere of “this will be good for the company” cause too often it’s about “is this good for me and my friends.”

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-02-17
  5. "Unexpected result"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great perks and great network of peers

    Cons

    terrible leadership and poor execution of cultural ideals

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-02-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great committment to patients, poor career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Committment to patients, Exciting science

    Cons

    Very little opportunities for career development

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-02-12
  7. "Their Way or Highway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The cafeteria is nice. It saves me from cooking on my own.

    Cons

    The management has a "my way or highway" kind of approach. All the experience you gathered in your previous companies would be nullified. You have to adjust your thoughts, way of working and even your mindset to meet the expectations of the management.

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-02-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Executive Management doesn’t walk the talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boston, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Pros

    Beautiful buildings in a great area. Great benefits and RSU payout

    Cons

    Believe everything you’ve read in prior reviews. Company culture is not what they want you to believe. Bullying and harassment at high levels is tolerated. Micromanagement at high levels is the norm. All that experience you came to the company with will not be valued.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-02-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing benefits- from overpriced products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, flexible working etc etc, but at a cost

    Cons

    It’s a typical US our way or the highway company. The toxicity is rife fuelled by a dog eat dog environment due to fear of ever loosing your job and great benefits. So many individuals hate to work there and suffer in silence or go on long term sick to reap the rewards of the benefits

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-01-15

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    January 24, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review. We are sorry to hear your time at Vertex was not successful. Vertex is a global company with offices across North America, South America, Europe and Australia. Based on our employee surveys and the awards we have been given, we feel the culture at Vertex is positive and innovative. Good luck in your new role.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Don't work here for your own sake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    The location of the office is great.

    Cons

    Aside from the location, most things about this company isn't good. Management has its favorite employees, and they form a small circle that discriminates against other employees. This company doesn't reward hard work since promotions and raises are only given to the employees who manage to join their circle. You'll survive this company if you like sucking up to the boss. But if you are a dignified employees who works hard, then this company isn't for you.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-01-24

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    February 6, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are sorry to hear that your time at Vertex did not meet your expectations. Vertex rewards employees based on their performance. We wish you good luck in your future roles.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 335 reviews