Virgin Active Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Virgin Active Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Active Founder and President Matthew Bucknall (no image)
Matthew Bucknall
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free gym membership for yourself and one other person(in 64 reviews)

  • "Free gym membership, great social culture, huge earning potential(in 57 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, long travel periods(in 30 reviews)

  • "I'm not even going to talk about Head Office(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "thats really good to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Virgin Active full-time

    Pros

    best enviroment ever in this company

    Cons

    cant talk about cons there in ni

    Virgin Active2019-08-01

    Virgin Active Response

    August 13, 2019People Advisor

    Amazing!! So happy to hear this :) Thank you for all of your hard work so far and adding to our success. Keep up the good work! Radha

    Continue reading
  2. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Active part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun job for a young energetic trainer

    Cons

    Long hours pay is not high

    Virgin Active2020-02-06

    Virgin Active Response

    February 18, 2020People Advisor

    Awesome! 4 Stars. Thank you so much. So good to hear that you enjoyed your role. We have set out our hours and shift times to suit Members and to create a flexible working environment for all employees. We have earlies, late and Weekend shifts. This can be tailored to suit your needs and of the business. Thank you for all of your hard work. Radha

    Continue reading
  3. "OK place to work for a while, but certain managers will ruin the experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Active part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training provided for free. Most of the team are very friendly. Can chat to members.

    Cons

    The Lifeguard role is no longer only Lifeguard, it is also a cleaning role as well for the same pay. Your shift is split between cleaning and Lifeguarding. The management team on the whole are very unorganised and can be very rude.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Active2020-02-17
  4. "Generally a friendly environment, but management can be disorganised and ineffective."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin Active

    Pros

    Flexible, good benefits, payed for qualification

    Cons

    Lifeguards are expected to fulfil duties which are not part of your job/not your responsibility

    Continue reading
    Virgin Active2020-02-09
  5. "Social work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Front Desk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin Active full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    meet loads of new people

    Cons

    long working hours, can get tiring standing all day

    Virgin Active2020-02-09

    Virgin Active Response

    February 17, 2020People Advisor

    Hi there, 3 stars! Thank you :) Its certainly a great place to meet new people! We thrive on this. Thank you for all of your hard work so far! Radha

    Continue reading
  6. "Looking for full time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Care in Mill Hill, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Active part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am a great and reliable worker as I get everything done to the highest standards

    Cons

    I sometimes lose track of time and rush tasks

    Virgin Active2020-01-18
  7. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lifeguard in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Active part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free membership and facilities are nice

    Cons

    management are rubbish and the conditions are poor

    Virgin Active2020-02-20
  8. "Fitness professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Professional 

    I have been working at Virgin Active full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good career prospect and fun environment

    Cons

    poor management and long working hours

    Virgin Active2020-01-09
  9. "A good start to upper management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Active full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Large profile of duties and work to do. Standard VA benefits available to you.

    Cons

    Depending on location, the club is often a very slow environment and not very stimulating, even on the busiest days. Very low payroll budget with high expectations. Not impossible, just a lot to ask for.

    Virgin Active2020-01-14

    Virgin Active Response

    February 17, 2020People Advisor

    Good afternoon, Thank you so much for leaving your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. Glad you enjoy the variety of the role and the benefits you receive in return. If you would like to discuss this with me further please contact me at peoplehub@virginactive.co.uk and I will be happy to learn more. Thank you, Radha

    Continue reading
  10. "Good place to learn sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relationship Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Active full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good if you want to learn more about sales

    Cons

    Management need more training and upskilling

    Virgin Active2020-01-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 428 reviews