Virgin America Employee Reviews about "alaska airlines"

Updated 11 Sep 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Virgin America CEO C. David Cush
C. David Cush
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flight Benefits , Health Insurance & 401 Match(in 44 reviews)

  • "This position is great if you like dealing with the public and travel benefits(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay and youre based in san francisco out of training and can not afford to live there with the horrible pay starting out(in 23 reviews)

  • "Crashpads are tough and Alaska Airlines is talking over so the company culture is dying(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "alaska airlines"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Director"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture. Culture. Teammates. Creativity. Innovation.

    Cons

    None. That Alaska Airlines acquired Virgin.

    Virgin America2018-09-11
  2. "Guest Services Teammate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best co-workers I've ever had. Sweet people who just have a list for people and adventure., Virgin America was really good at selecting people who were flexible, honest, and fun. I enjoyed going to work and even now I still go on trips and adventures with the people I've met here.

    Cons

    Bought by Alaska Airlines. Boring, stuffy, old. Their managers are mean , they're associates are unnecessarily cold and rude to one another. The rift between guest facing and inflight positions is baffling. They are the most elitists people to work with.

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2018-06-11
  3. "GST"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GST 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was the best company to work for! Everyone is family and the company culture is/was amazing!

    Cons

    Alaska Airlines "merger" (takeover) has been terrible.

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2018-03-19
  4. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin America for less than a year

    Pros

    You meet the best people with fun personalities. Cute uniforms. Great company culture. You will never wana let go of your flight benifits.

    Cons

    Not the best pay. Being on reserve is tough. Crashpads are tough and Alaska Airlines is talking over so the company culture is dying

    Virgin America2018-01-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Shame..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    Virgin America is such a great airline, really focused on doing the right thing for guests and employees. It's a shame that Alaska is going to dismantle the whole thing.

    Cons

    Acquisition by Alaska Airlines will ruin everything.

    Virgin America2017-12-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Don't bother applying now if you want to be Virgin"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GST 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America part-time

    Pros

    A very fun airline to work for

    Cons

    Virgin America is going away and Alaska Airlines as a brand is very different. Alaska isn't a bad airline, but if you're looking for the Virgin experience you won't find it with Alaska. Pay and hours are dreadful, and unless you have a second job or are otherwise supported, the only benefit to working here is the flight benefits.

    Virgin America2017-11-02
  7. "Great airline to work for!"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Virgin America part-time

    Pros

    Virgin culture, flight and health benefits, flexibility.

    Cons

    It was bought by Alaska Airlines

    Virgin America2017-11-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be great, after takeover don’t bother."

    2.0
    Current Employee - Guest Service Teammate 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits. It used to be a great company.

    Cons

    This used to be an excellent company, with a fabulous corporate culture. Coming to work was fun, and as a smaller airline, you quickly got to know everyone from the CEO down. We did things differently, and won a lot of awards for it. Enter: Alaska Airlines. The subpar legacy airline was struggling to retain customers with its lackluster fleet and limited relevant destinations. They have quickly started stripping down the once excellent virgin product, replacing it with their own boring and dated versions. Virgin employees have lost schedule flexibility, weeks of Vacations, competitive starting wages, and worst of all, our spirit. Once they get the single operating certificate, Alaska will finish gutting the Virgin name, and it will look like ever other boring airline. If you want to work for an old fashion carrier, I’d go with a bigger one, because at least you’d get better destinations to fly to. RIP Virgin America.

    Virgin America2017-10-29
  9. "Aviation Maintenance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    Fun people to work with. Hours are great.

    Cons

    Bought by Alaska Airlines and job is going to Seattle

    Virgin America2017-09-23
  10. "Guest Services Team Member"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    very upbeat, current with whats going on, friendly, enthusiastic, great planes, music at counter and gates

    Cons

    at the time our current station manager was doing unethical things that eventually got her fired but everyone hated her. also the name will be gone soon as they are now owned by Alaska Airlines.

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2017-08-31
Found 17 reviews