Virgin Galactic Reviews

Updated 15 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Galactic CEO Michael Colglazier
Michael Colglazier
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a very collaborative environment with a great work life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • "9/80 work schedule is great, but we work most off Friday's(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "CEO is consistently absent making VG a rocket club(in 7 reviews)

  • "Since when did ANY rocket program have that type of operating margin forecast(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      All the growing pains

      4 Apr 2021 - Production in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wide breath of personal roles and responsibilities to those that want them. Some interesting and challenging engineering and manufacturing work. New executive leadership as of 2021 appears to be making changes for the better and appointing mostly more competent VPs and directors.

      Cons

      Poor people management and leadership. Abysmal HR and recruiting departments. Historically extremely little accountability for poor performance or downright incompetence of employees and managers alike.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Virgin Galactic Response

      It is important to receive input on the wide breadth of experiences that Virgin Galactic offers its teammates - thank you for sharing. In addition, we value your constructive feedback on our management, leadership and recruitment. Together we are confident we will drive a high-performance together as a team with our current and future talent. Please reach out to your People Team Leader with your feedback on Mojave and specifics on location. I appreciate the time taken to provide your feedback and perspective.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent place to work

      7 May 2021 - Technician in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      4-10 schedule, free snacks / drinks. It's hard to get any real work done, so the days are pretty relaxed / easy going.

      Cons

      Poor processes, lack of QA, engineering, and leadership support.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good People Terrible Management

      27 Jan 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The workers are great. Generally willing to go out on a limb to help you and get work done. Lots of talent in the company at lower levels. The new CEO seems to know what needs to be done to be successful. Good Diversity, good benefits.

      Cons

      Upper management (below the CEO) is extremely inexperienced with how to run a business and care for people it seems to be a good old boys club. When there is a management shakeup it seems like its all the same people but with different titles so the same problems keep occurring. VG is incredibly micromanaged, and the bureaucracy rivals some government organizations. The employees were sold a spacex culture, but were actually given a bureaucratic disaster which rivals "Office Space" or the California DMV customer service. Nonpaid overtime for engineers (and quite a bit of OT is expected).

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Virgin Galactic Response

      We love to hear you feel our work environment is collaborative and that the team is working together on objectives and goals! Also, Michael Colglazier, as our CEO, continues to lead us and keep us focused on our strategic priorities and ensures we build diversity into all aspects of our workforce. We want to learn more on ways certain teams may feel micromanaged and the impact of our teammates' workloads. It's great to know the Virgin Group DNA is a part of who we are and is felt within Virgin Galactic. Please keep the feedback coming. I would love to hear from you directly on other thoughts/ideas you have may have. Best, Diane

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Run from it

      15 May 2021 - Engineer in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, benefits, work hours, HR.

      Cons

      Management is lost. Old boy club

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      This company is extremely toxic! Don’t make the mistake of joining!

      22 Mar 2021 - None of Your Business in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company does a great job of posing as an up and coming company... (it’s not).

      Cons

      This was a company that came to the public markets through a SPAC being led by Chamath. Fast forward to now and this guy has sold off all of his personal stake (any red flags yet?) Beyond that this place is very toxic. Management is very insecure and as such this affects everyone. Ask how often you work weekends or hours a day because they are understaff? (They will lie) If you enjoy being on a constant lookout of when the next round of layoffs is coming, avoid this place at all cost! I’m not disgruntled just disillusion that I join this joke of a company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Virgin Galactic Response

      First off, thank you for being transparent with your personal thoughts and feedback on our Company. The pandemic and all in 2020 did make the year challenging in various aspects. We are sorry to hear that your first year with us was a challenge, as well. We have an open-door policy and want to hear about your concerns and any ideas for improvement in our workplace. Your leader or I look forward to hearing from you directly.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good People, Not an Ideal Location

      6 Apr 2021 - Test Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great people and interesting work

      Cons

      Location location location and location

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Virgin Galactic Response

      We would value hearing your ideas and thoughts on our current locations. Our manufacturing and testing facilities in Mojave are in a location that is outside of downtown Los Angeles and was selected due to the nature of the work. Please connect with your leader and others within our Facilities and People Team to discuss some of your ideas and thoughts on locations. We value the ideas and recommendations of our teammates! Thanks for your input and feedback.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Job

      24 Mar 2021 - Flight Test Engineer in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very interesting to work on Space travel and the high dynamic environment of the different phases of flight

      Cons

      Not really anything comes to mind that would be a con.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Virgin Galactic Response

      It's excellent to see that you love working at Virgin Galactic and it's great to have you as part of the team in Mojave. I am confident we will continue to rely on you and your teammates for insights as we lean into our objectives for 2021 together. Thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback!

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Really ask the questions of " entry to service"

      31 Mar 2021 - TEC OPS, NEW and OLD in Spaceport City, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some amazing people that have incredible motivation.

      Cons

      Zero accountability of management positions.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Virgin Galactic Response

      We value your feedback on our amazing people and the incredible motivation each has to our mission. It's definitely an exciting place to be as we move forward on our mission. Please do reach out to your Leader and/or our People (HR) Team to discuss your thoughts and inputs for specific teams, as highlighted. We want to ensure we create a work environment that is collaborative and agile as we work together to design and build our spaceships, motherships and rocket motors. Look forward to hearing your valuable insights!

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good job, bad location

      9 Feb 2021 - Flight Sciences in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hardworking and dedicated co-workers that had a passion for the job.

      Cons

      The location of the job was remote.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Virgin Galactic Response

      It's great to hear you enjoyed your position within Virgin Galactic. We value being surrounded by hardworking and dedicated teammates across the globe that are passionate about our mission and purpose! Best, Diane

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor Management

      10 Jan 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great salary, medical plans and stock options.

      Cons

      Management of some the departments do not know much of technical stuff, all they care about is schedule and cost management. Because of their unrealistic scheduling and budget they miss company goals far too many times. Also lack of technical knowledge is making management trying to do too many things at the same time, in the end achieving very few. Need technical expertise in management position.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 124 Reviews

    Work at Virgin Galactic? Share Your Experiences

    Virgin Galactic logo
    or