Virgin Galactic Employee Reviews about "vg"

Updated 21 Dec 2017

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Galactic CEO George Whitesides
George Whitesides
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a very collaborative environment with a great work life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • "9/80 work schedule is great, but we work most off Friday's(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "CEO is consistently absent making VG a rocket club(in 7 reviews)

  • "Since when did ANY rocket program have that type of operating margin forecast(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "vg"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (15)

    "Hyperloop"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Galactic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I joined the culture was fun, nice location, nice people, smart engineers and an exciting project.

    Cons

    How do such smart engineers continue to believe such a small rocket with limited margins of payload is EVER going to orbit? The Boeing people won't even test because big box company execs don't take risks at startups. Then again, what makes anyone think VG is a start up? It's an LLC for crying out loud. It's a holding company for Branson brand promotion like Hyperloop and Cosmic 747's that pose as first stage boosters... sadly, with lots of people on board. It's ridiculous that this company houses so many well educated engineers that apparently just take the money. There's no serious engineering going on here. I mean come on it's a big marketing PR scam.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Galactic2017-12-22
  2. Helpful (12)

    "SpaceX 2.0- Return of The Jedi."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Galactic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life-balance, friendly staff and smart mid to senior level engineers. It's sad because company has potential. Branson would never approve but he's never there! Support staff and technicians are generally nice and down to earth. It was hard to leave because I really hoped for change.

    Cons

    -Jedi top engineering leadership (self-proclaimed in name only) = "my way or out!" - "Island of misfit toys" culture for SpaceX'ers. They really just need a hug, really. -SpaceX culture is insulated at the top and is self-serving and self-governing. - CEO is consistently absent making VG a rocket club - some engineers work hard while others take the Club Med approach. - some "Jedi" have 50+ reports in a company of just 195. Really?! - you never know who your friends are, sadly. Really. -All this could be cured if CEO or President took a hard look. But neither was very technical. -stock is non starter unless you never read the policy. It's misleading as I got 6,000 shares and then found they could never vest absent of going public.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Galactic2017-01-31
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Pass me the Kool-Aid!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Mojave, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Galactic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's been 3 years since joining VG and I've really loved my time here. There were always social events, challenging work, work life balance was second to none. People were engaging and friendly and the facility was convenient and well funded. We got to watch videos of Branson flying Balloons during Happy Hour. Balloons, not rockets.

    Cons

    Recently there is talk that in order to succeed VG can only sustain (1 in 100) failed launches. Since when did ANY rocket program have that type of operating margin forecast? Please. 99% success rate operating margin? Absurd.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Galactic2017-02-18
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Flawed Concept meets Billionaire Investor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Galactic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Nice people make it a fun place to work. -The work/life balance is great. -The location is great. -The engineers are smart and innovative. -Managers do not micro manage too much. -The company has plenty of funding and elements of the Virgin Brand.

    Cons

    -VG is flying one of their old 747's to launch rockets. -High risk if you are flying in the 747 at the SAME TIME! -Forecast: "Russian Roulette" -Branson flies across the pond once a year (on his way to Mojave) for ping pong and beer. -It's all a big ego trip. -Let him fly in the 747.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Galactic2017-02-11
  5. Helpful (36)

    "It's all a facade, failure masked by Virgin Magic (theatre)"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Cruces, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Galactic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, smart dedicated employees, benefits, exciting project.

    Cons

    I am not an engineer, but a professional in a discipline required to make a complicated company operate correctly. Working at VG destroyed my career progression as the failure to ever operate the company prevented me from doing what I was there to achieve. I came to this company for the excitement of the project and be a part of history, but after more than two years of continued lying by the leaders as to the real timeline and/or the incompetence of managers on the production side to actually manage production, it was time to move on. The leaders in the company 'chase' shiny 'objects' they think are cool, will give them individual attention or get them a raise, distracting the super smart talent from actually accomplishing any success. While the company may stumble into some type of 'success' there are better run companies and better space projects to be a part of that will let you be a part of history. Don't fall for the theatre that makes Virgin companies appear better than they truly are.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Galactic2016-05-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Galactic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Virgin Galactic is definitely one of the top companies I've ever worked for; the work is diverse, the engineers are rock stars, the benefits are great (free snacks, awesome company events, full health benefits, year end bonus) and there's no BS that you might find at other companies. Some might complain that there's little process and there are a lot of growing pains associated with being a new space companies, but I would say those are advantages rather than disadvantages. Things get done at VG a lot faster than other companies. Plus, being a part of a young growing company is exciting because each one of us had the opportunity to shape the company to what we want it to be. All this inspires me to work harder and to make myself the best engineer I can possibly be. Another point that is understated is that the CEO and VP are two of the nicest guys you'll ever meet. One thing I'll always remember is that the CEO took five minutes out of his day to welcome me during my first week on the job. Furthermore, the VP hosted a special orientation for all the new hires. In all of my experience working at other companies I've never had a CEO or VP go out of their way to welcome new employees like ours did.

    Cons

    For prospective applicants who only care about making money and working a 9-5 job Virgin Galactic is not for you. Furthermore, if you are mediocre and get by with just doing the bare minimum you will fail at VG. VG is a fast paced company that relies on having its employees go the extra mile and juggle two or three jobs at any given time. For those coming from traditional aerospace companies (Lockheed Martin, Boeing) you may find yourself struggling to keep up.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Galactic2016-02-22
  7. Helpful (18)

    "11 years in the making and a competitor just beat Galactic to space. VG has failed."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mojave, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Galactic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The act of getting into my car at the end of each day. That is the only 'PRO' that I can muster right now. The frustrations of uprooting my life and family for a company that works it's line staff to the bone, and yet only promotes those who already hold management titles, is something that I can no longer accept. VG management should prepare itself to see more of its lower level staff (the true backbone of the company) abandon ship.

    Cons

    Virgin Galactic has just been beat by another notable Space Tourism competitor. Work began on this project 11 years ago, so having another company reach the boundary of space before us should be seen as nothing more than a massive failure. The project has become so mismanaged and people are constantly being promoted for no real reason, and the problems continually get worse. Perhaps the Board of Directors will now see where the problems stem from, and finally rid the company of its CEO, President, and Senior Managers, and recruit in those who are actually qualified to run this operation.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Galactic2015-11-24
  8. Helpful (17)

    "Don't Be Fooled"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Virgin Galactic full-time

    Pros

    Brilliant line staff of engineering, fabricators, sales, techs, mechanics. Had a chance to bond with a few of the staff, and felt like family. This level of the staff is motivated and is dedicated to succeed with high motivation. I also had a few opportunities to learn new skills and interact with new folks & make new professional connections. Low level managers recognize the need for additional training.

    Cons

    The only thing that VG does well is marketing, they are fooling everybody. The entire project is being hamstrung by most of the VP level executives and above. It's very much a "good-ol-boy" club, and if you don't kiss the right butts there, you won't succeed. According to my friends/sources still there, turnover is incredibly high and is accelerating. You will find yourself fired very fast and for no reason if you try to do the right thing and it's against what senior staff wants to hear. Sir Richard has NO IDEA what's really happening at VG. The only time he shows is when needs some fresh PR. Favoritism & inequity runs rampant. No work/life balance at all. If you have a family, don't expect to see them much. I've never been part of a project that burns through so much cash with no real results before VG. They are YEARS and YEARS away from flying. If you're thinking about applying or accepting a job - do yourself a favor: DO NOT WORK HERE!

    Continue reading
    Virgin Galactic2015-09-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews