Virginia Mason Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Virginia Mason Reviews

Updated 9 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Virginia Mason Chairman & CEO Gary Kaplan
Gary Kaplan
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "I learn a lot about patient care and medicine that makes me a more valuable part of the team(in 14 reviews)

  • "Our CEO Dr Kaplan is a significant figure in health care reform, and we are proud to have him at the helm of VM(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "A former VM manager says it best "(in 16 reviews)

  • "short staffed, over worked, under paid(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Pay is good. Clients are great. Lots of micromanagement though. Hope you like case management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virginia Mason full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers are the best people!

    Cons

    Micromanagement is a pain. I generally don't feel supported by my supervisor.

    Continue reading
    Virginia Mason2020-03-10

    Virginia Mason Response

    March 10, 2020Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We agree that our team members are the best people. Having great co-workers around you is important, and we work hard to hire, develop, and celebrate the best people. We also appreciate hearing about how we can improve, so thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We appreciate the care you provide to our patients.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Wish I could stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Patient Account Representative in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virginia Mason

    Pros

    Great insurance with access to a broad medical system. Decent on the job training and many passionate people.

    Cons

    While the focus is on patients it is clearly not on admin staff. Retention is low due to a bad work environment. Staff do not feel appreciated and are not compensated competitively. Go-getters and innovators lose their spark fast here and go unheard despite corporate dogma stating the opposite goal.

    Continue reading
    Virginia Mason2020-03-09

    Virginia Mason Response

    March 10, 2020Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback about your work experience at Virginia Mason. Thank you for recognizing our great benefits, passionate team members and job training. We value our team members and believe that they deserve the best experience we can offer. We appreciate hearing about how we can improve, so thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We wish you the best on your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  3. "Excellent Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virginia Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent, patient centered culture with an emphasis on safety. Leadership is supportive and transparent towards front line staff.

    Cons

    Expectations of leaders can be demanding and though work-life balance is promoted, leaders often go above and beyond at all times which is good but can also lead to burn out.

    Virginia Mason2020-02-20

    Virginia Mason Response

    March 9, 2020Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate you recognizing our patient-centered culture with an emphasis on safety, and our supportive and transparent leadership. We strive to create an environment where everyone feels respected and their contributions valued. We also appreciate hearing how we can improve, so thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. We appreciate the care you provide to our patients.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great values and great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pct in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virginia Mason part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and awesome company policies that include paid time off early on in employment. High standards of patient care. Highly reccomend

    Cons

    Lack of limit setting with behaviorally abusive patients.

    Virginia Mason2020-01-09

    Virginia Mason Response

    January 14, 2020Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    We appreciate you leaving us your feedback. Thank you for recognizing the great pay and benefits our staff receive along with the high standard of care we provide to our patients. Our employee-focused approach drives us to offer great benefits and support. We value the constructive feedback you provided and have shared your comments with the appropriate leaders. Wishing you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  5. "Staff RN review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virginia Mason full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Patient to RN ratio is fair. Team oriented and good PTO plan

    Cons

    Compensation is lower compared to other hospitals in the area

    Continue reading
    Virginia Mason2019-12-17

    Virginia Mason Response

    December 27, 2019Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your work experience at Virginia Mason. We are glad to hear you found our PTO plan competitive. Our employee-focused approach drives us to offer great benefits and support. Virginia Mason offers a comprehensive package of pay, career, benefits and recognition that is competitive in the market. We wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  6. "Professional and caring nursing staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Technician in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at Virginia Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional and caring nursing staff and nursing management

    Cons

    Long work hours and expensive parking

    Virginia Mason2019-11-26

    Virginia Mason Response

    December 2, 2019Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback you provided. We are pleased to hear how professional and caring our nursing staff is. Virginia Mason strives to create an environment where everyone feels respected and their contributions are valued. Regarding the concern you raised about the parking being expensive, Virginia Mason recommends the use of public transportation to our staff. One of the benefits our team members receive is an Orca Card for $50 per year which can be used to commute to our campus. Thanks again for taking time to share your experience.

    Continue reading
  7. "RN surgical unit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virginia Mason full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great sense of inclusion, teamwork, support. You can tell that everyone loves their job, and all workers are equally respected. Good pay. Many opportunities to advance. Plenty of voluntary overtime options, but no REQUIRED overtime.

    Cons

    Not a lot of parking options for day shift workers

    Virginia Mason2019-11-15

    Virginia Mason Response

    November 18, 2019Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    We appreciate you taking time to share your comments about working at Virginia Mason. Thank you for recognizing our work environment, and the great sense of inclusion, teamwork and support you find here. Respect for people is at the core of who we are at Virginia Mason, and we'll keep doing our best to make sure that Virginia Mason is the best place our team members have ever worked. We also appreciate the advice you shared about the local neighborhood parking options. Virginia Mason recommends the use of public transit, and offers all employees an annual ORCA transit card for $50. Thanks for sharing your feedback and keep up the great work.

    Continue reading
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cvt in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virginia Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall good place to work with great colleagues

    Cons

    No real room for growth

    Virginia Mason2019-09-19

    Virginia Mason Response

    September 24, 2019Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    We appreciate the time you took to share your comments about your work experience at Virginia Mason. We are glad to hear you feel Virginia Mason is a good place to work with great colleagues. We work hard to be the best place our team members have ever worked. We are sorry you feel there is no real room for growth, and encourage you to reach out to your Business Partner to discuss your career goals and how we can work together to provide a supportive environment where you can grow and succeed. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we appreciate the care you provide to our patients.

    Continue reading
  9. "great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Outpatient 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Virginia Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team environment and supportive managers

    Cons

    i don't have any cons

    Virginia Mason2019-09-08

    Virginia Mason Response

    September 16, 2019Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your work experience. We appreciate you sharing that you enjoy the great team environment and supportive managers here at Virginia Mason. Having great co-workers and supportive leaders around you is important. We work hard to hire, develop and celebrate the best people. Thank you for sharing your comments and keep up the great work!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Unwelcoming work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Physician Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Virginia Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hospitalists were among some of the most knowledgeable and easy to work with.

    Cons

    Terrible EMR, so many layers and drop down boxes for the most simple of orders. Very time consuming, created a significant barrier to productivity.

    Virginia Mason2019-09-19

    Virginia Mason Response

    September 24, 2019Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thanks for taking time to provide your comments here about your work experience at Virginia Mason. We appreciate you recognizing the Hospitalists that work at Virginia Mason. Having great co-workers around you is important and we work hard to hire, develop and celebrate the best people. Regarding the concerns you provided about our EMR system, Virginia Mason is committed to using proven, leading-edge technologies to improve quality, safety and the health care experience of our patients and team members, and we were recently recognized as one of the ‘Most Wired’ hospitals for the 8th year in a row. We will make sure to share your comments with our Clinical Informatics team. We wish you the best on your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
Found 235 reviews