Vrbo Product Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Product Manager

Vrbo Product Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Vrbo CEO John Kim
John Kim
4 Ratings
  1. "Satisfactory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good work, good benefits, lots to learn

    Cons

    too much is changing too fast

    Vrbo2019-11-24
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company, but Becoming More Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Transparency, emphasis on continuing development, exciting product

    Cons

    Poor strategic focus at high levels, things move slower now that Expedia acquired the company, culture is changing to become more corporate

    Vrbo2019-06-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Unplanned Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company offers excellent benefits that rival most other top tech employers. They invest in their employees and focus on finding great talent to start from.

    Cons

    Innovation is not at their core. If you want to extend your range of technical experimentation than this is not the place for you.

    Vrbo2019-04-25
  4. "Great people but facing issues because of the scale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Global approach to building teams

    Cons

    Too many stakeholders resulting in slow pace

    Advice to Management

    Divide responsibility better

    Vrbo2018-06-07
  5. Helpful (8)

    "The place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since John Kim has taken lead, the company has transformed to one of continuous learning, intelligent values, and dedicated culture. There is no shortage of things to keep busy with and the bottom-up approach is preached here. Now is the right time to be here. Just read Expedia’s earning reports for the last year. It’s all HomeAway.

    Cons

    The company is running lean so that means dev teams are small and it often feels like there is not enough time to get what you need done. Also, the travel benefit is lacking which is surprising given we are a travel company.

    Advice to Management

    Changes to the culture are great and you’ve managed them well. Get a better understanding of needs from the product development teams.

    Vrbo2018-02-12
  6. "Amazing place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo for less than a year

    Pros

    1) Beautiful Culture 2) Treat employees with great respect 3) Great opportunities at work

    Cons

    I can't think of any. This is the best place I have worked so far

    Advice to Management

    Do what you are already doing. The culture is great, involvement of every single individual is outstanding.

    Vrbo2017-06-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people and culture are by far the best things about HomeAway. Everyone is extremely intelligent and the culture is very down-to-earth for a company of this size. There is no dress code and managers trust employees to manage their own time as long as their getting their work done.

    Cons

    With all of the websites that HomeAway operates, things can be very complex and take much longer than you might expect to get done. This is the challenge when you're acquiring and integrating the technology and people from other companies several times per year.

    Advice to Management

    Laser focus on top few priorities vs. mediocre focus on too many priorities.

    Vrbo2014-08-10
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Success and confidence with a touch of ADD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many really smart people working together to build a new market. The only place I have ever worked where the products I get to participate in actually change and improve an industry. In that way it feels like a startup in a new space. Compensation and benefits are very good in Austin. Management is focused in evolving people and pushing us hard to achieve. Product roles require building up leadership muscles given... the highly matrixed organization and fragmented aspirations (both a pro and con). On the surface, the products and problems look easy, but they are not given a very complex customer base and the ownership of global marketplace. A great challenge that touches both consumer and SMB classes of problems. One of the few companies where mobile is a value prop vs. a trendy thing to do.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company suffers from ADD, which translates into resources being spread very thin, product MVPs stretching the the definition of "minimum", and a lot of conquer and move on behavior. It's a delicate balance between being a public company focused on quarterly revenue targets and having a group of passionate people trying to build great products.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on reducing complexity to gain leverage.

    Vrbo2014-07-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Work hard and get rewarded!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company really cares about its people and I'm not talking about in compensation and benefits - those are definitely on the high end but they actually care about if you're doing okay or not in all aspects of your life. Willing to invest in the right technology and people as evidenced by over $50MM in investment every year! Very goal-oriented and metrics-driven which in my opinion drives the best companies... in the world (along with leadership vision and engaged employees).

    Show More

    Cons

    Not as big as IBM or Dell but no sweet spot of 200-500 employees where you know everyone. But the size brings benefits in technology investment.

    Vrbo2014-07-23
Found 9 reviews