Vrbo Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Vrbo Reviews

Updated 13 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Vrbo Senior Vice President and General Manager Jeff Hurst (no image)
Jeff Hurst
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Austin are the ones that actually deliver value(in 22 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance can sometimes be a challenge(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great perks, low stress, nice coworkers.

    Cons

    Travel industry can be a roller-coaster sometimes.

    Vrbo2020-03-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Loved my time here, but struggling recently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, opportunities to work on many different things and flesh out ideas, surrounding by helpful, smart people

    Cons

    When I started several years ago, Vrbo (HomeAway at the time) was in its heyday -- it felt like a startup but with lots of money to spare. These days it feels like it lacks direction and its glory days are behind it. Constant feeling of being the loser in the industry.

    Vrbo2020-03-07
  3. "Great culture, great work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Design Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great work-life balance

    Cons

    A bit slow and siloed

    Vrbo2020-03-12
  4. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo

    Pros

    Great benefits, nice people all around.

    Cons

    Can be a bit directionless.

    Vrbo2020-03-10
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time

    Pros

    The data science team and data science work is valued here. The company has gone through a few bumpy road over the past year but it's still a great place to work as a data scientist.

    Cons

    Re-org and strategic change at the company level. Top-down management.

    Vrbo2020-03-01
  6. "Work with great people in a fun category"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great team to work with -Get to think about travel as part of your job -Great benefits -Very inclusive culture.

    Cons

    -Tough competitive business. -A lot of ongoing organizational changes

    Vrbo2020-02-22
  7. "Customer Experience Graveyard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trust & Security Specialist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There really are no pros, unless you are outside of the Customer Experience department.

    Cons

    Terrible and antagonist middle management, no work life balance or flexibility for individual contributors, absolutely no interaction with other departments, unending lip service to company culture while providing a completely antithetical culture.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2020-03-08
  8. "Would recommend if you love travel, tech and Texas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open, transparent company culture with a focus on empowering teams

    Cons

    Sometimes siloed and challenging to get things moving quickly

    Vrbo2020-02-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Shame for Expedia to have this brand under their umbrella"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Partner Success Manager in London, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo

    Pros

    Some initiatives like Day for Charity

    Cons

    As per subject line- it’s a shame on Expedia to call VRBO part of the group. The culture is nothing like the rest of the group, it is even based in a different buildings than the rest of Expedia. Extremely toxic culture where unethical and unlawful behaviours are accepted. Could be compared to a snake pit. Backstabbing, two-faced managers and colleagues, who only care about their own promotions. Exceptionally unskilled management, especially on sr.director and director level. Leading by fear & dictatorship. Partner Success and ‘supporting’ them Training Team are the worst in my opinion. Partner Success has nothing to do with Account Management or Sales- it’s just a call center with KPIs like: number of calls per day and call audit score(!). This is just encouraging robotic approach to the role, no relationship building, strategic thinking, growing revenue. If you don’t like using your brain, this role would be good for you. Team members are treated like school kid (very strict and poor school), where every activity is tracked, but no flexibility allowed. So the team members are not allowed to work from home, while it’s OK practise for managers. The training & coaching (as they like to call it) role is in fact just a QA role, where the main responsibility is to audit calls following an idiotic audit form. Most brain-killing, boring role you can think of. No development or creativity available. Promotions given only to those who glorify the management and keep the Senior Director happy, never mind that managers, senior managers or team leaders are lacking proficiency in English. It was insulting for me and my intelligence to see some colleagues being promoted or becoming managers. Very US focused and that said not really modern american company, rather cowboy style.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2020-02-28
  10. "Great company and place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees can learn new skills. Receive Recognitions, Employees can remain motivated. Environment super friendly and good benefits. Very good bonus and benefits

    Cons

    So far, I can't see any.

    Vrbo2020-01-23
Found 592 reviews
</>Embed