WHSmith Reviews

Updated 23 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
35%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
WHSmith CEO Stephen Clarke
Stephen Clarke
188 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good breaks if you’re under 18 and staff discount(in 26 reviews)

  • "interesting work environment at the airport(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum Wage even at a higher level(in 55 reviews)

  • "Incredibly low pay for workers under 21(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CA Finance in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WHSmith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best work culture in maruti suzuki

    Cons

    Work load is too high

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2019-06-28
  2. "Co-ordinator"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good products, Good competition among staff Negative management skills, No salary increment, No mutual interest from Delhi HR regarding salary and commitment for salary and position for the staff

    Cons

    Sales competition Good customer handling customer flow

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2020-03-17
  3. "Good Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive in New Delhi

    I worked at WHSmith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a good retail company, high quality products for customers

    Cons

    jobsecurity and salary, because in india it was running by a franchise.

    WHSmith2019-05-02
  4. "Salary and holidays"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WHSmith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Knowledge of products the way to learn

    Cons

    Not a good experience at all

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2018-06-18
  5. "General Manager-Business Development"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager - Business Development (India) in New Delhi

    I have been working at WHSmith full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Organisation with a strong retail pedigree. Travel Retail Specialists with great value systems

    Cons

    No downside to working with such an incredible brand

    WHSmith2017-11-17
  6. "Very good company worst management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WHSmith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked 18 months given resign serving notice period just I serve one day less due to my dad passed away they stop my payment

    Cons

    Learn good things but see the bad picture also

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2017-02-17
  7. "Customer service assistant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Services Assistant in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith full-time

    Pros

    Nothing much... Only few co-workers were nice

    Cons

    Low payscale, No work ethics, unprofessional managing team,

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2016-08-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Less corporate culture.......no professionalism,"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at WHSmith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good for passing time, mixed category....

    Cons

    less learning, lees organized, no growth

    WHSmith2014-11-24
  9. "Bad work culture and not the right pay for the hours of work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Brand Whsmith and Retail

    Cons

    Overpowering employee, job responsibilities are more than what the job is meant

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2013-03-14
  10. "Great people - difficult environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unemployed in Farnham, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith full-time

    Pros

    People are great and great social life It is what you make of it - often you get the freedom to create your own projects

    Cons

    A lot of pressure to make money - so much so that bad choices need to be made Many people very stressed and working long hours

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2020-05-23
Found 754 reviews