Walgreens Boots Alliance Employee Reviews about "pharmacist"

Updated 28 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Walgreens Boots Alliance Chief Executive Officer Roz Brewer
Roz Brewer
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good staff and fast paced(in 35 reviews)

  • "Staff discount , extra hours available(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance is non existent(in 20 reviews)

  • "Some stores you have nice pharmacist while some will literally drive you to a corner(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "pharmacist"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      My experience

      22 Oct 2020 - Pharmacist in Leicester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Organised, helpful, pay is good

      Cons

      Staffing in some stores is bare bones therefore you go from pharmacist for couple of hours to shop floor assistant for a couple of hours, but it’s okay I guess, all part of the job. Also allows you to advertise your kind personality and stellar clinical knowledge and uplift the boots brand in general :)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Terrible upper management

      28 Dec 2020 - Pharmacy Manager in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee discount, 41K , medical/dental

      Cons

      Terrible upper management!! Pharmacist manager had to work under store manager's supervision. Store manager and district manager are not pharmacists but they supervised pharmacists and taught them how to do pharmacist works. They really micromanaged. If they liked you, you would have an easy job. If they didn't like you, they micromanaged and blamed you for everything. Weird company!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      WBA market pharmacist

      12 Oct 2020 - Pharmacist in Farmington, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent benefits and PTO given for FT employees

      Cons

      Required to travel 50 miles before compensation for traveling pharmacist. Schedule can be changed constantly for traveling Rph. As a Market pharmacist it is hard to communicate with anyone about career movement Within the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Store Management is not the problem.

      16 Jun 2019 - Pharmacist Store Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A large corporate with decent peer support and some fantastic individuals that work at various levels. The pharmacist managers, or those with pharmacy background are leaving in droves and the workforce is being de-skilled. The non-pharmacist management is highly varied in its capability to lead such a large pharmacy brand - with recent experience being disastrous, but past experience being extremely good. It is obvious to see working day to day on the job. From the outside, its amazing peers and dispensary staff at all levels that keeps most of our local stores afloat. The public may catch on soon. I just hope that the diligent and skilled governance managers working at area and regional level are fighting strongly to maintain a 'pharmacy led' health and beauty aspect of this so-called heritage British institution.

      Cons

      You are a cog in a huge machine, that is relentlessly marching towards something you ''won't recognise in 10 years'' (#quote from C&D), consequences be damned. The pharmacist forum, internal networking and raising concerns does little to mitigate the damage done to the local population that you serve. To make this sound less harsh, I would like to stress that change, which revitalises a workplace and challenges practice in order to improve the proficiency, professionalism, reputation and future-proofing the pharmacy profession is good. However I am put off by the middle management disregard for genuine (i.e. those that walk the talk) work done on the ground by all the hard working dispensing team.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Remember Strict Liability and Don't Overwork

      20 Jan 2020 - Pharmacist-in-charge in Jackson, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good managers, well developed best practices for efficient work procedures, well-known brand, modern facilities, Fortune 500 company, large network of pharmacies, good technicians kept and valued.

      Cons

      Working overtime for free unavoidable, but should not be done. Cutthroat competition for all positions, bare-bones operations in terms of clerks and technicians, pharmacists can thrive if work efficiently, have quick hands, can multitask.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A good job

      15 Dec 2019 - Warehouse Operative - Boots DSP in Preston, North West England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay Good amount of holidays Flexible hours Great canteen facilities Lots of friendly colleagues

      Cons

      Age discrimination (especially towards young workers) Hostile 'professional staff '- ACPTs, Pharmacists and Engineers Management can be unfair and often times lack good communication Lots of over ambitious colleagues clinging onto tiny bits of power from extra responsibilities Working environment can be toxic at times especially due to all the cynical attitudes there Training and NVQ attainment is a sluggish and unorganised process (if you aren't full time it's even worse)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to learn from

      3 Mar 2020 - Pharmacy Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As an intern, you learn a lot

      Cons

      Depending on which store you are at, the experience can turn miserable. Some stores you have nice pharmacist while some will literally drive you to a corner.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don’t Bother

      29 Mar 2019 - Pharmacy Dispenser 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoyed the interview and was looking forward to joining the Company

      Cons

      I started my new job with Boots as a Pharmacy Dispenser on Monday and left never to return on Thursday evening! Although I am a trained and qualified pharmacy dispenser I was new to Boots. My first day consisted of being left on my own in a small office to go through all the legals on the computer. I wasn’t phased by this as I realised pretty quickly the place was short staffed and I’m a big girl I don’t need babysitting. I had high hopes for Tuesday! Went in only to be taken to a room upstairs and told to dispense weekly prescriptions. There was no equipment and I wasn’t shown where anything was. Anyway, I got on and did it. The afternoon was spent in the dispensary downstairs dispensing prescriptions. Stock was left in boxes and not put away so I had to trawl through loads of stock to find the right meds. This took ages! Has Wednesday off. Went in Thursday only to find I was expected to cover the front of the dispensary with 5 minutes training on systems! Not surprisingly I didn’t do well! Back to trawling through boxes and the pharmacist moaning about being behind!!! Never going back. Don’t work for Boots.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Got worse at the end

      4 Oct 2019 - Pharmacist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good wages and a good staff.

      Cons

      They wanted to perform tasks that were not for a pharmacist. No support from the store manager

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Work/home life balance

      9 Oct 2019 - Pharmacist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedules and good work environment.

      Cons

      Not enough technician help, too much work overwhelming the pharmacist especially in busy stores

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

    Work at Walgreens Boots Alliance? Share Your Experiences

    Walgreens Boots Alliance logo
    or