Wall Street Journal Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Wall Street Journal Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Wall Street Journal CEO K. Rupert Murdoch (no image)
K. Rupert Murdoch
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some of the best editors in the biz(in 15 reviews)

  • "Excellent journalism, great opportunities to report interesting stories, exposure to some great journalistic traditions(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too many editors having a say on a story makes them stilted(in 8 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is not known as a true value(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correspondent in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wall Street Journal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can learn a lot, see the world, have good mentors.

    Cons

    Current management has political bias that creeps into the newsroom

    Advice to Management

    they can figure it out

    Wall Street Journal2018-03-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Case manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wall Street Journal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No working hours too much work experience

    Cons

    Too much work And zero work life balance

    Wall Street Journal2019-10-15
  3. "****"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Wall Street Journal full-time

    Pros

    People People People People People

    Cons

    The stress of the job

    Wall Street Journal2019-09-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "losing good people for solid reasons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant News Editor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wall Street Journal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good insurance cover, exposure (it's rare)

    Cons

    no career progression line, little recognition on the job, know-it-all attitude, lack of communication, arbitrary management, lacks efficient feedback mechanism, local currency payment

    Advice to Management

    draw a clear career progression path, incorporate employees in decision making, introduce rotation system, equal pay (at least in currency!), work on the feedback mechanism

    Wall Street Journal2019-09-15
  5. "Great editing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wall Street Journal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the best editors in the biz.

    Cons

    The CMS needs an upgrade.

    Wall Street Journal2019-08-26
  6. "Great place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Planner 

    I have been working at Wall Street Journal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the most supportive people in the publishing industry work here at Journal. I honestly feel as though management cares about my career trajectory and overall growth within the company.

    Cons

    There are no paper cups!

    Wall Street Journal2019-08-17
  7. "Design Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wall Street Journal

    Pros

    Autonomy, perks, very well balance work/life

    Cons

    Low salaries, outdated office for creative jobs

    Wall Street Journal2019-08-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great title but no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - News Assistant 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Wall Street Journal full-time

    Pros

    Great to have on your resume

    Cons

    No growth opportunities and archaic management

    Wall Street Journal2019-08-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audio/Video Team Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wall Street Journal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good health insurance, I liked my immediate boss, but everyone else above him was so unhelpful.

    Cons

    Surprisingly disappointing. I so badly wanted this job to be good, but the consistent lack of communication, scare tactics, and denial made this job impossible. I was constantly afraid because everyone was so ready to blame everyone else for something going wrong. Although there are some union positions, the union is like a dog with no teeth. People are constantly being taken advantage of by having to work more... hours then they are contracted to, and then not getting compensated for them because they are severely understaffed. Don't work in the audio or video department because you will quickly realize that upper management have no idea the effort it takes to create quality content.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to take time to understand how much effort needs to be put into audio and video, and that they need more money and resources. Hire more people because no one can do quality work in the insanely short time frames that are pressed on them. Lastly, listen to your employers and trust their professional opinions because that is why you hired them. You didn't hire them to tell you what you... want to hear.

    Show More
    Wall Street Journal2019-09-01
  10. "Smart coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wall Street Journal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the smartest coworkers in this field.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Reply e-mail

    Wall Street Journal2019-06-21
Found 189 reviews