Walmart "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Walmart Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 29 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
13,392 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay very competitive with market(in 1770 reviews)

  • "Good benefits good raises good associates to work with(in 1179 reviews)

Cons
  • "At time there will be long hours(in 1292 reviews)

  • "The only thing for me is they will have you part-time working Full-Time hours(in 1265 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Ludhiana

    I have been working at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    very friendly and hardworking staff

    Cons

    long hours of work even weekends are working

    Walmart2019-09-22
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of opportunities and recognition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-III in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good perks like free food, cabs and transport, frequent team outings. - Training opportunities are good.

    Cons

    - Some teams have no roadmaps or goals. There is a lack of good projects. The culture is to come up with your own projects and execute them or only work on supporting existing projects. Coming up with projects requires various levels of approvals and is not easy. - Lack of recognition. Only those who work long hours are appreciated and not those who deliver. - Not everyone's idea's or inputs are considered. There... seems to be favoritism. - It is not very easy to interact with other teams if the work requires to do so. - Traveling using office transport is not convenient due to fixed, inflexible timings.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Encourage teams to work together when there are cross-domain projects. Provide employees with opportunities to travel to improve interaction with teams working remotely. - Improve the performance evaluation procedures and make the process more transparent. Recognize those who deliver. - Don't hire if there is no need. Many teams lack good projects or work but keep hiring. Promote internal team switches for... employees.

    Show More
    Walmart2018-09-13
  3. Helpful (5)

    "DATABASE TEAM IS THE WORST TEAM I BELIEVE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Oracle Database Administrator in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for more than a year

    Pros

    if you are looking for free food & Snacks. Then you are most welcome to this company

    Cons

    1) Micro Management....You can see extreme here. Your DBA Manager Might check your mails any time and will question you like " what you have done from 11:30 to 12:00? I can see your mail @11:30 and another one @12:00 what you have done in half an hour gap?" 2) No wonder, Apart from the reporting manager. Here any FTE can screw up anytime and you should be ready to answer any question shot by FTE.. 3) Team... Party? Rather you can call it as FTE's party. Get ready to accept work from them and sit back to spend extra long hours when these guys go for a party. Any more suggestions abt our worst retail client ever are most welcome 4) After all, if there is some scrap work pending to complete. Dont worry guys we have our vendors to do it and you should accept it without any questions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better not to hire vendors. If you are really not able to manage work without vendors then let them work at their parent company itself. At least they would be happy with service based company values.

    Walmart2016-02-22
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    Nice co workers to work with

    Cons

    Long hours and short breaks

    Walmart2019-11-29
  5. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity for career advancement

    Cons

    Possible long hours and hard work

    Advice to Management

    Be open to all new procedures

    Walmart2019-11-25
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Overnight Support Manager in Orangeville, ON

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    learning new things, close to management

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours

    Walmart2019-11-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    Good people, Good CEO, good business foundation

    Cons

    Long hours, holidays working 14-16 hours

    Walmart2019-11-20
  8. "good place to get your foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Clinton, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good benefits and decent pay

    Cons

    holidays and very long hours

    Advice to Management

    nothing at all.

    Walmart2019-11-18
  9. "Retail is a pain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount on everyday items

    Cons

    Long hours. No work life balance

    Walmart2019-11-29
  10. "walmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management for the job

    Cons

    long hours for the job

    Walmart2019-11-12
Found 1292 reviews