Wawanesa Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Wawanesa Insurance Reviews

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Wawanesa Insurance President and Chief Executive Officer Jeff Goy (no image)
Jeff Goy
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and work/life balance unlike another carrier I worked for (GEICO)(in 18 reviews)

  • "Forward thinking company rethinking the work environment to appeal to a wave of new creative talent(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most supervisors in customer service refuse to take supervisor calls and customers get more frustrated(in 8 reviews)

  • "Upper management has unrealistic expectations, as they don't have a technical background(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Property adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Property Claims Adjuster in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wawanesa Insurance

    Pros

    Good and supportive team members Decent pay Good benefits

    Cons

    No clear path for career advancement

    Wawanesa Insurance2020-01-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Truth Be Told"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation Benefits (medical and dental- for now) DCPP Location

    Cons

    I was approached by my leader several months prior that the recruitment team (HR) at head office was ‘looking to improve Glassdoor ratings’ for the last little while. Therefore, leaders from all regions were asked to speak to employees who would be willing to write a positive review. Please be aware that I have been with the organization for over a year. Prior to this ‘ask’ , the ratings were hovering around 2.5 stars. Left the organization due to many issues with management, lack of transparency and confusing changes. Many new initiatives were launched without proper planning and communication. Management: Older leadership team in terms of experience. Many have worked at the company since high school or university. Not as open to new ideas or how competitors stay relevant in the market. This relates to the VPs to Directors to Managers and Supervisors.

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2020-02-07
  3. "Management needs revamp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accident Benefits Claims Adjuster in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wawanesa Insurance

    Pros

    Benefits, no premium paid into benefits, DC pension plan

    Cons

    Pay (very low compared to industry standard), management (micromanages), employees over worked

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2020-02-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Convenient location in San Diego's Mission Valley. Fun events for Halloween and Christmas, potlucks, picnics. The company throws a formal dinner dance once a year that is always a big hit. Wonderful co-workers who will become lifelong friends. A small onsite cafe owned by a sweet Asian couple gives some easy options for meal and snack breaks. A nice courtyard with a fountain and picnic tables make a great spot for employees to relax. Decent benefits package. Work/live balance is reasonable.

    Cons

    Heavy micromanagement and nepotism. Promotions are given only to "favorites". Management will hire or promote their friends, spouses, and family members over anyone with relevant experience or tenure. Managers and Supervisors who have been there forever are either pushed out if not popular (quit/forced retirement), or are allowed to sit around and take up space. The harassment of employees by managers is a regular occurrence. Pay is low compared to the rest of the industry. The building is a bit old and needs updating. Vacation days are awarded based on seniority, not merit or need.

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2020-01-07
  5. "Re"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good com0any thank you it

    Cons

    Salary is not great but it's okay

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2019-12-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Excellence in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great collaborative team Excellent benefits Interesting work

    Cons

    High stress environment Very little management support at times Poor work-life balance

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2019-12-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, but can be stressful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment, great coworkers, benefits, pension, pay

    Cons

    Stressful at times, training is lacking, some departments are under staffed

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2019-11-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible working environment. The leaders are there for you and your development. Very positive place to work. I enjoy going into work everyday.

    Cons

    I honestly don't have much to complain about.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-11-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's alright, really need to work on the culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Claims Assistant 

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time

    Pros

    It's an office job. Benefits, Salary great co-workers.

    Cons

    pretty depression place to go to work. The building is pretty dated, no wifi, and everyone doesn't wanna be there. Really need to work on their culture and engagement

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2019-11-15
  10. "I love coming to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Claim Representative in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always something new to keep me thinking Great People to work with Team supports each other Good pay Good Benefits Promotes learning Chance for advancement Sense of Satisfaction when claims are settled and insured happy with outcome Work life balance - work from home options Personal days and sick time

    Cons

    Grumpy Insureds - sometimes have unreasonable expectations Storm Season

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 205 reviews