Web Spiders Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Web Spiders Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Siddharth Jhunjhunwala
88 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Grab the job if you are a fresher. Living hell-fire for experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Programmer in Calcutta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Web Spiders for more than a year

    Pros

    The only plus point I see will be for the freshers. It's better to give your career only a start here. Once you have completed a year, pack your belongings to somewhere else. You will be exploited if you choose to stay. They do not pay heed to anything else other than their product called E2M which has a good rather great learning space for freshers

    Cons

    SALARY: Their pay structure is pathetic. They offer you an annual bonus, which they will cut from your salary and after a year you won't be sure whether you'll get the full amount or not. Example: You are offered 20,000 a month at the time of joining and they cut 3,000 each month from your pay which makes your so-called-bonus 3000*12=36,000. But then there's a very less probability that you get full 36,000. They might just release 5000 with a sick excuse of poor performance. WORKING HOURS: There is zero flexibility when it comes to the working hours. You will make you to stay for days in office. I have been there in the office straight for 2 days to 5 days many times. Despite giving all your sweat to the company and their projects, they will never appreciate your efforts in ways you deserve. A team lunch and they are done with all your hard work. I swear, even if someone from your family is on his deathbed, these people will expect you to report at work and get it finished; even if that means not going home for a week. HR: The HR here does not have any sense of handling things. They are puppets to the management, the VP precisely. They will never listen to what you have to say. Ultimately everything they do depends on which button on the remote the VP is pressing. HIRE/FIRE: Your job is never secured here. You don't have a second chance when you have done anything wrong. As a developer, you job is just to develop things and do a unit testing, which of course won't make your application bug free. Yet you will be caught hold if the deliverable to the client improper. YOU ARE NEVER SAFE HERE! I can tell you many more things about the company. All I would say is if you have a family and hold decent experience, never even think about this company. NEVER! Also I quite believe, all the good reviews, filled with praises (ones with zero cons) you may read here, are posted either by the HR or the company might have asked the employees to do it.

    Continue reading
    Web Spiders2017-09-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Spiders full-time

    Pros

    1. Yoga Session 2. Friendly employee 3. Salary on time

    Cons

    No comment on this section

    Continue reading
    Web Spiders2017-08-26
  3. Helpful (8)

    "May be suitable for freshers, But attrition rate is very High"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Kol
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Web Spiders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is good for Freshers position like programmer, Tester. They can learn from small life cycle projects.

    Cons

    It is just a pipeline people are joining and leaving. No night drop facility and conveyance. Only few senior persons are there because they get desired salary or they might have no place to join elsewhere. If you are senior or experienced. You may be deployed in more than one project. Only express edition used in case of .Net Projects. They will insist you to work on Saturday and Sunday. Team leads are horrible. Some of them yell/ quarrel such way as if you are a maid servant. No project guide line and standard architecture /practice is followed. After I left, I found 90% of the .Net developer has left. If you are outspoken person and do not dare to speak the reality then never expect any appraisal.

    Continue reading
    Web Spiders2017-09-11
  4. Helpful (23)

    "Challenging and Inspiring - Web Spiders Is A Definitely a Great Place To Work At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Web Designer in Calcutta
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Spiders full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been associated with Web Spiders for 9+ years now as a Senior Designer. # All these years, what has kept me associated to this company is the feeling of belongingness. It's like one big family working with different technologies with varied challenges and clients. # There is never dearth of learning opportunities. Over all these years, I have enjoyed equal chances of learning and teaching. # Variety of projects always keep work interesting. Never have I felt stagnant in terms of technology knowhow. # The management is very usually travelling and busy but still always has time to listen to each and every problem of employee. They may always not be able to give a solution instantly, but they never ignore our requests. # They frequently interact with project and product teams and giving their valuable inputs, rather than depending solely on reporting authorities. Briefing and constant guidance are always provided. This often helps in the overall project deliveries. # As it happens with every business, there are good times and there are not-so-good times. The latter has been true for Web Spiders in the last year. Thankfully, with the efficient guidance of the management, we are managing to overcome the hurdles that 2016 threw at us. In fact it has taught us new things on how to be together in tough times. # Employee reviews and appraisals always have a predictive approach. # The company celebrates employees’ birthdays and festivals in a beautiful way. Those celebrations and other team building activities during festivals, really brings team closer and it becomes lot of fun and a break from the work

    Cons

    # Since there are many projects being handled simultaneously, the work pressure is quite a bit. But if you enjoy learning about new technologies and like challenges, you will enjoy this pressure. # The bigger the family, more the problems. Some issues are there which HR is tackling on a day to day basis. What's good to see that issues are not ignored.

    Continue reading
    Web Spiders2017-03-16
  5. "Challenging and Rewarding Experience of Working at WS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Designer in Calcutta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Web Spiders full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been associated with Web Spiders for 5+ years now as a Senior Designer. Work environment is very good, colleagues are friendly, HR department is helpful. Employees get many learning opportunities as we have to work on different types of projects. Appraisals are regular and satisfactory. Birthday celebrations and celebrations of various festivals in office are a lot of fun. Yoga sessions are held at the Rajarhat office which help us to take care of our health and mind.

    Cons

    Sometimes HR department takes a bit of time to address issues (if any). There is quite a bit of work pressure at times as multiple projects have strict deadlines.

    Continue reading
    Web Spiders2017-06-09
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Do not go for this company,BPO is better than this"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Developer in Calcutta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Web Spiders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    So many pros are there, 1.this will teach you how to leave your life without money. 2.how to spend most of the time in office,10+ hours 3.how to manage your salary bonus, which will be unpaid always. 4.how to negotiate with your salary date, it may be 25th of the month, now days 50-50% salary option also available.one month you will get you 50% salary then forget about your 50% 5.How to get the position of VP of a company, without having technical & managerial knowledge.

    Cons

    Honestly so many no management policy, top-level management thinks they are God and technically so strong.(they should do basic maths of class 10th) less salary as compared to the market. HR(Tele caller), they are trying to fill the glass door with positive reviews by themselves, that's not gonna work!

    Continue reading
    Web Spiders2017-06-21
  7. Helpful (8)

    "One of the worst company in kolkata"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Web Spiders full-time

    Pros

    No a single good thing you will find in here. Well, the good comment are given by company's management team.

    Cons

    Everything is worst. Salary delayed. Bad behavior, overwork pressure, vp's behavior is bad

    Continue reading
    Web Spiders2017-06-10
  8. "A company that is growing steadily; good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Calcutta
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Spiders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It has been 4 years since I joined Web Spiders as the Project Manager.. One fact that I liked right from the start was the environment of the workplace. Everyone is friendly. Teamwork is encouraged and practiced here. Management is easily approachable. They are not only patient in listening to our concerns but are also open to new ideas. They also provide feedback and suggestions every now and then. There is ample opportunity to learn. While mistakes cannot always be avoided, Web Spiders gives everyone many chances to learn from their errors and do better. Knowledge development is one area that is properly catered to. The management makes sure that we know about every new technology and development that is introduced in our respective fields. Recently, the Rajarhat building of Web Spiders has been inaugurated and it is a matter of pride to all of us. The Town Hall Meeting of 2017 was held at the new office. Located right at the heart of the corporate township, the new office has great workspace, washrooms, canteen, etc. The management has made particular effort to engage new employees who spend long hours at the office. Yoga classes and music classes are held, twice a week each, at the new office premise to benefit the employees.

    Cons

    Work pressure is there, but nothing unmanageable. Some of the new joinees seem to lack patience and perseverance. Their restless attitude is affecting the work culture to some extent.

    Continue reading
    Web Spiders2017-05-05
  9. "I find it unique in Calcutta"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst in Calcutta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Spiders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Product led company 2. Focus on Machine Learning and AI 3. Benefits like Yoga, Music Classes and expansive workplace. 4. Been there for a while and constantly adapting and changing

    Cons

    1. I understand the new office is still getting commissioned. If you are there, then be ready for some logistical issues like system tests etc . However backup systems in place. 2. It seems the new campus is a gutsy investment. I see a mix of biased reviews. While I can adjust, new employees do not seem to have patience.

    Continue reading
    Web Spiders2017-04-28
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Very bad experience, don't go by the fake reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Programmer in Calcutta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Web Spiders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Subsidized food. 2. Company location is not bad.

    Cons

    1. Unethical HR and Management policy. Salary can be put on hold for any excuse. At the time of resigning they will stop paying any money. For full and final settlement it generally takes more than 6 months and the employee has to push and follow up with the HR on regular basis. 2. Unprofessional behavior of upper management from VP to PM. They often use bad words verbally or in email. They often shouts inside the office (Mostly VP). 3. Taking leave is extremely difficult. 4. EXTREME WORK PRESSURE for the most of the time, if they got projects. You can relax a bit if they don't have any project for you. 5. Very less job security. They believe in hire and fire. First they try to push extreme work pressure but if the desired output is not reached they will fire. 6. Variable part of the salary are mostly not given to the employees.

    Continue reading
    Web Spiders2017-05-09
Found 124 reviews