Wegmans Food Markets Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,383 of over 3K reviews

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Wegmans Food Markets President and CEO  Colleen Wegman
Colleen Wegman
858 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible Scheduling and Great Co-workers(in 259 reviews)

  • "Flexible Hours, Friendly employees, ability to grow(in 165 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Part time scheduling can be flawed at times(in 165 reviews)

  • "Honestly being a cashier is not fun(in 72 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Good place to work

      6 Mar 2021 - Team Leader in Syracuse, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, great co-workers, good culture/values.

      Cons

      Nights weekends and holidays required.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      18 Sep 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best work environment and culture

      Cons

      there are no cons at all.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice but inflexible

      24 Jun 2021 - Cashier in Shawan at Hunt Valley, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people, friendly environment, decent weekly pay depending on your hours, opportunity to meet people from all walks of life.

      Cons

      Mix messaging, no way of getting hold of people by email, etc. Why is there no email, at least to the scheduling person? Everything must go through an App, seriously? Scheduling is inflexible, at least when you first start I hear. Tried to get my 60th birthday off, denied. Needed to update my start time so I could continue to work, was basically sent to the principles office because I was too new to make such a request.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      One of the better companies to work for

      23 Jun 2021 - Meat Cutter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent training- step by step visual aides for most if not all expected responsibilities Relative autonomy in completing customer requests VERY competitive pay, especially compared to Harris Teeter, and Bi-Yearly raises. Upper management is quite reachable for the most part

      Cons

      Your experience will depend somewhat heavily on your team leader, they can make or break your time at Wegman's.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place

      24 Jun 2021 - Pharmacy Technician in Fairmount, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The opportunities that you get there

      Cons

      I really don’t have any

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Incentives to hide overwhelming negatives

      17 Jun 2021 - Sub Shop Worker in Allentown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fellow employees are great people to work with. They are very flexible with hours . They offer a lot of benefits like a scholarship which can help pay for college.

      Cons

      Note this comes from working at a busy store: - Due to a filtered hiring system, every department is short-staffed. - New ideas like the Wegmans 2 Go are just more work and stress inducers due to having to manage orders that appear when the employees already busy with the in-person line. - Unrealistic expectations are set on department(s) that are heavily short-staffed. - Corporate tries to make a busy store fit the same expectations of other stores that may not be as busy as our store, like cutting positions that the employee view as important.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great starter job

      24 Jun 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family environment, good raises, customers patient and kind

      Cons

      Physical labor is demanding at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company

      22 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      During the seven summer I worked for Wegmans you could definitely see they had a heart for their employees. The managers invested their time into you and it was a great first job.

      Cons

      At least at the store I worked at being able to transfer to different departments was difficult

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place!

      24 Jun 2021 - Cashier in Northborough, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best work environment to work for!

      Cons

      It was always very busy.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Is what you make of it

      12 Jun 2021 - Area Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started part time didn’t know anyone five years later I was an area manager. It’s all up to you how far you go but having a good manager to start is key. Values are important and having a store manager who is on the same page (like I do) is awesome.

      Cons

      Sometimes we are so optimistic we miss the reality. While we care about our employees the higher up you go the less you feel (or are) cared about. It’s retail so the wage is higher then average but the hours are brutal.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,383 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Wegmans Food Markets Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Wegmans Food Markets? Share Your Experiences

    Wegmans Food Markets logo
    or