Cover image for Weston College
Logo

Weston College

Is this your company?

Weston College

Add a Review

Weston College Reviews

Updated 1 Dec 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 51 of over 56 reviews
3.6
54% Recommend to a Friend
Weston College CEO  Paul Phillips
76% Approve of CEO

Found 53 of over 56 reviews

3.6
54%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Weston College CEO  Paul Phillips
Paul Phillips
29 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    good place

    29 Nov 2022 - Graduate Student in Weston-super-Mare, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fun and nice people work here

    Cons

    the lifts take about 10 minutes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay away if you're not white

    1 Dec 2022 - Marketing Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Next to the town centre Exposure to new skills Some good people

    Cons

    They don't know how to support you, especially if you're a person of colour. Looking back at my time and finally understanding micro aggressions and discrimination, I hate that I never went to HR with my concerns. There were many instances where I felt cornered, bullied or ignored and the managers either contributed to it or turned a blind eye. And lmao the worst part is the pay wasn't even worth it. They make you feel like you're getting treated so well and you're making so much but this was the worst paying job I've ever had.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Weston College team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Excellent

    11 Jul 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent employer, enjoy my team

    Cons

    None no negative comments to write

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Unsupportive to staff

    10 Jul 2022 - Teacher in Bristol, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Able to Manage your own time

    Cons

    Unsupportive managers. Too focused on money staff wellbeing not considered

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    micro management

    19 Jul 2022 - Lecturer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very supportive co-workers with a lot of experience in their fields

    Cons

    1) I did not have access to basic and necessary materials for my teaching, which was the result of lack of organization by the college. 2) I felt unsupported when I was raising any issues, receiving answers such as “Welcome to prison” or “This is life”. 3) There is lack of professional development; I created collaborations with well established organizations. However, I then received answers such as "you try to run before you walk". In addition to this, I wasn't supported to complete or promote the practical outputs of the above collaborations. 4) you have to teach the same group for 3 hours without break, something that I find unethical when you have students with multiple LDDs, health and mental health problems.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Money Money Money

    17 May 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Weston-super-Mare, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some good ground level team members long term employment

    Cons

    Money over quality of education and work, reiterated in all of the speeches. No progression in the workplace, all managers have been in post for 10+ years. No innovation allowed due to the time spent in post by senior people. Poor pay for the level of work and commitment they ask of you, unless you are a manager. Massive pay gap between leads/managers and ground level staff

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    GIS Cuisines

    16 Apr 2022 -  in Bristol, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love too work in the kitchen & Management I have +10 years experience I have Qualification Weston College GIS Cuisines

    Cons

    GIS Cuisines Qualification Management Certificate

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hard work, but rewarding

    7 Apr 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The management team are accessible and are open to ideas. There are some good benefits. There's lots of training available of you want it. Gifts at Christmas and sometimes at the end of other terms. Great holiday compared to other places of work!

    Cons

    There are no downsides for me, but you do need to be willing to work hard - it's a very busy and fast paced environment, and as it's education, there can be changes in the "targets" of the college. These are what make it an interesting place to work for me, but might not be for everyone.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Overall a great employer and great place to work

    23 Mar 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very generous amount of annual leave (up to 48 days including bank holidays). Pay awards at the end of each academic year. Christmas and Easter hampers. Enrolment into a good pension scheme with high employer contributions. A very friendly and supportive team of people, with lots of opportunities to progress and a strong emphasis on CPD.

    Cons

    There aren't any that come to mind.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Review

    21 Mar 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff Development opportunities Strong educational practice

    Cons

    Revenue focused, sometimes to the detriment of wellbeing

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews
</>Embed

Weston College Reviews FAQs

Weston College has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 56 reviews left anonymously by employees. 54% of employees would recommend working at Weston College to a friend and 63% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Weston College employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Weston College. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

54% of Weston College employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Weston College 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

Popular Careers with Weston College Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Weston College? Share Your Experiences

Weston College logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Lecturer(11)
  • Teacher(4)
  • Manager(3)
  • Administrative(2)

Weston College Photos

+ Add Photo
Weston College workplace photo

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Glassdoor has 56 Weston College reviews submitted anonymously by Weston College employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Weston College is right for you.