Westpac Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Westpac Group Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 738 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Brian Hartzer
295 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "best employer ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you can find a unwatched corner of the office, you can go completely unnoticed in exchange for very little work. Quite possibly why the work life balance is so great! For the ambitious, you can create yourself a nice empire of morons - just remember to cc everyone in all manner of emails, then get your team to cc other people to keep the chain going. If you hear someone say something that sounds smart, you...

    Show More

    Cons

    Its challenging when you actually need others to do their work. My IQ has dropped quite a lot - though i'm slowly start to see this as a pro. I'm running out of smart things to re-say as all the smart people keep leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Please implement better performance management strategies. It feels like nobody has any incentive to work. Best case scenario : I get referred to someone that might do some work that I need. Worst case scenario: the person I am working with says they will do their job, but don't actually do anything. The reforms/changes are basically defaulting people into not taking accountability. We talk about ownership,...

    Show More
    Westpac Group2019-05-13
  2. "B-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worklife Integration is great and lots of exposure across a number of business units, people are excellent to work with

    Cons

    Dated tech stack, Finance is the primary driver of all decision-making, very risk-averse,

    Westpac Group2019-05-15
  3. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time

    Pros

    Good leadership, Flexible work, internal Opportunities

    Cons

    No or less bonus Term in role

    Westpac Group2019-05-12
  4. "Certified Backflow preventer Device technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful company to work for! I get to explore my city and surrounding cities while getting paid for it while helping people keep clean water!

    Cons

    I don’t have at least 20 negative words about the company so these are actually just filler words!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you guys are doing! I appreciate the great opportunities you have provided.

    Westpac Group2019-05-11
  5. "customer service officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Adelaide
    Recommends

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time

    Pros

    friendly environment, great culture, benefits

    Cons

    fast-paced, a lot to learn

    Westpac Group2019-05-10
  6. "ok position, toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lending Connect Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Westpac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great work benefits and potential for growth

    Cons

    toxic environment, management care only about sales targets

    Westpac Group2019-05-22
  7. "Good culture and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture Transparency in decisions roles Plenty of good middle management

    Cons

    No growth. Thus, limited opportunities. Middle of a restructure phase leading to a shrinking of the bank

    Westpac Group2019-05-22
  8. "Good start to financial career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good foundational learning and experience, cross skilling available and encouraged, work life balance, overtime offered and no pressure to take, provides great opportunity for internal moves outside of business operations division, little gifts from time to time

    Cons

    last minute demands, not much room for growth within operations unless wanting management position, social culture somewhat negatively influenced by kpi's focus

    Westpac Group2019-05-05
  9. "micro managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time

    Pros

    great team, supportive team members

    Cons

    management are not strong minded, training is minimal

    Westpac Group2019-05-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Change Lead in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Westpac Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours and good support network. Mgmt widely supportive of realistic work load and conditions

    Cons

    Heavy governance and framework of a large organisation. Multiple business areas covering similar outcomes, could be more succinct for deliverable.

    Advice to Management

    Look at capabilities of people and utilise the best fit for work and provide opportunities rather than limit responsibility to current assumptions of role

    Westpac Group2019-05-01
Found 738 reviews