Westpac Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Westpac Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 816 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Westpac Group CEO Brian Hartzer (no image)
Brian Hartzer
330 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "too much red tape to get things done(in 26 reviews)

  • "Lack of employee engagement with senior management around significant business change(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is good

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities as its a small office

    Westpac Group2019-06-10
  2. "System Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Westpac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance is there.

    Cons

    No Cons. Everything is fine.

    Westpac Group2019-03-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Old technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance Tad one day off a month

    Cons

    Old computer software Old staff No training Hierarchy

    Westpac Group2018-05-10
  4. "Not just a job, but like a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker Specialist in Erina
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training, development, resources and life style is incredible. Westpac are big on work/life balance and are very understanding. If you air your voice they will give you every resource and opportunity to help you develop your career further within the group. I worked hard for a year and spoke to my bank manger about move into home lending. Within a month I was put in a fast track course to become a lender.... Best place I’ve worked not just for opportunity but for working with likeminded people that care

    Show More

    Cons

    Just like any job there is stress from work load.

    Westpac Group2019-06-28
  5. "Improve efficiency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Architect in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good employer, Good salary, Good work life balance

    Cons

    Inefficient IT teams, IT Management is not skilled.

    Advice to Management

    Need to hire better skilled employees

    Westpac Group2019-06-22
  6. "Advice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very supportive of employees when needed, flexibility with work life balance.

    Cons

    Closing the advice business for face to face clients

    Westpac Group2019-06-14
  7. "Great in certain area's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Westpac Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance Lots of scope to move $$'s

    Cons

    Politics Culture Performance mgmt of people under performing

    Advice to Management

    Focus on outputs and delivery, not words.

    Westpac Group2019-06-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "best employer ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you can find a unwatched corner of the office, you can go completely unnoticed in exchange for very little work. Quite possibly why the work life balance is so great! For the ambitious, you can create yourself a nice empire of morons - just remember to cc everyone in all manner of emails, then get your team to cc other people to keep the chain going. If you hear someone say something that sounds smart,... you can re-use the sentences as your own somewhere else. Management are good at noticing how well you do this and will reward with a promotion.

    Show More

    Cons

    Its challenging when you actually need others to do their work. My IQ has dropped quite a lot - though i'm slowly start to see this as a pro. I'm running out of smart things to re-say as all the smart people keep leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Please implement better performance management strategies. It feels like nobody has any incentive to work. Best case scenario : I get referred to someone that might do some work that I need. Worst case scenario: the person I am working with says they will do their job, but don't actually do anything. The reforms/changes are basically defaulting people into not taking accountability. We talk about... ownership, but no one demonstrates how. In a big organisation, it is so easy for leaders and middle managers to disappear instead of create/demonstrate ownership. Theoretically, everything seems ok - though something is so fundamentally wrong. I can't quite put my finger on it.

    Show More
    Westpac Group2019-05-13
  9. "Good start to financial career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good foundational learning and experience, cross skilling available and encouraged, work life balance, overtime offered and no pressure to take, provides great opportunity for internal moves outside of business operations division, little gifts from time to time

    Cons

    last minute demands, not much room for growth within operations unless wanting management position, social culture somewhat negatively influenced by kpi's focus

    Westpac Group2019-05-05
  10. "Home finance manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Finance Manager in Epping, New South Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large organization Australia's first bank, lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Recruitment process is quite lengthy, Have not fully experienced work life balance in my 8 years of service

    Westpac Group2019-04-29
Found 816 reviews