WhatCulture Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 35 reviews

2.5
34%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
WhatCulture Founder 	Peter Willis (no image)
Peter Willis
12 Ratings
  1. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Not worth your time.

    20 Aug 2020 - Contributor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun content to write about.

    Cons

    The editors haven’t got a clue what they’re doing. No consistency to writers guidelines. Not worth the time.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Most comfortable I've felt in a job!

    10 Oct 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's an incredibly laid back environment where everyone chats to everyone. There's about 20 people or so in the office who all get along and have a laugh with each other. Staff nights out on payday each month, as well as when anyone fancies a pint/good food after work. There's a pool table/darts board/PS4 if you need time to unwind or fancy a game of something at lunch time. There's a bunch of different channels that people work on, so it's easy to work on something you're interested in, whether that be Film & TV, Gaming, Wrestling, or Sport. Whilst there's a nice cafe on the ground floor of the building to get food, someone will usually mention in the works group chat that they fancy a Maccies/KFC etc and then everyone piles in and it gets delivered in. This usually happens a couple of times a week. Five-a-side football for anyone who fancies it happens once a week after work. We play each other, so first 10 or so to want to play is more than welcome. Nobody is actually fit enough to play, it's just for a laugh. Everyone now and then we'll all go play mini-golf or on scavenger hunts/days out set up by management and paid for by the company. Quiz days are a thing where management will put a quiz on during work hours and we'll get into teams and do the quiz whilst eating pizza and drinking a couple of beers. It's a good laugh.

    Cons

    Job structuring could use some work. Other than the main two bosses, everyone else is seemingly on the same level, which can sometimes make certain projects that we're working on a bit confusing. There's no middle management (on paper) basically, and it could probably benefit from that.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Sacked me for attending a funeral

    15 Jan 2020 - Writer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of readers, good scope for content

    Cons

    Really nasty management , not interested in you. Terrible pay.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Work hard play hard

    16 Jun 2019 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hard work pays off

    Cons

    Matt the boss isn’t good

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    An insanely fun way to make a living.

    12 Feb 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Total freedom to write about whatever you want (within a certain field of course), as well as opening doors for new writers struggling to get started. We easily provide one of the best start-up packages for anyone looking to get their work read by millions, and personally as I was previously unsure whether I'd be able to land a job getting paid to cover any and everything about a certain topic/medium, I'm more than happy with how it's turned out.

    Cons

    Just a case of there not being enough hours in the day to get everything you want out there, and as we respond to major news stories breaking, that can derail something you intended to have finished by that evening. There's also the fact that as there's so much scope for anyone to write for us, it does mean you have to deal with unreliable writers or a lack of communication even though they may have been given a time-sensitive topic to cover. So far bonuses have been amazing and there's a real incentive to match business-minded decisions in terms of how and what to write with my own personal interests.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    The Most Toxic Company Imaginable

    25 Nov 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can’t think of a single pro. Working here for any period of time is genuinely going to make you depressed.

    Cons

    I worked a long stint at WhatCulture over several years, and all I can say is that the experience was hellish from start to finish. There are a number of reasons for this, but really it’s all to do with Matt Holmes, the immensely ill-qualified Editor-in-Chief who runs this company with absolutely no respect for any of his employees. Matt is the sort of person who will declare his allegiance to you one day and then fire you the next. He is a user who literally sucks the life out of his employees and creates a work atmosphere built on anxiety and his own random whims. He has little knowledge regarding the subject matter and no writing skills, and yet he lords over his employees as though they are worthless and dispensable. The worst thing about Matt, though, is his relentless passive-aggressiveness, coupled with his outright refusal to promote himself on social media or reveal himself in person. He is clearly a man who knows that his reputation is downright terrible, and has no choice but to operate via computer screens and Skype conversations as a result. It is incredibly frustrating that this company has been met with such huge financial rewards. Working under Matt made me genuinely depressed; I had no idea where I stood or what I was doing at any given time. I spent years worrying about what he might say to me next, or when he’d “suggest” a new, poorly-devised work scheme in place of a previous arrangement we’d agreed upon, leaving me no choice but to accept. I still haven’t recovered from this experience and it has negatively affected my work life. I’m downright sure that the other, better staff members over at WhatCulture know that Matt is both unqualified for his post and is an all-round terrible manager, but have no choice but to humour him or face the guillotine. It’s sad. He is the work equivalent of a gaslighter - I’m so ashamed that my years of hard work have since served me no favours career-wise, but have made him tons of money. This may sound like a personal rant, but search around the internet and you will find a dozen similar tales of Holmes’ treachery, deceit and shady practices. It was these accounts that inspired me to come forward with my own story. I just hope that he gets his cumuppance in the end.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Nice editors, insane management, bottom rung "journalism"

    17 Feb 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The office is nice and the camaraderie in the editorial staff keeps you going. Writing about something you love is great at first, and if you love wrestling, you're set. It's a fun, strange kind of workplace and there's always something weird going on. It's pretty much one of the only jobs of its kind in the North East.

    Cons

    The senior management are nuts - and incompetent with it. There's no planning, no support, no quality control and no thought, it's all about view count and nothing else. You can be as unscrupulous, offensive, sexist, plagiaristic or flat out wrong as you like, so long as it brings in the clicks. Equally, you can try to make things better, but will be mostly ignored. The pay is terrible, and even worse if you're a contributor, and the job security is nonexistent. Staff are treated so badly that many of them snap and leave. A lot of this doesn't apply if you're into wrestling, which has taken over, but if you want to do anything else then you're screwed. Oh, and some of the positive reviews on here were left by current employees under "suggestion" from management to balance out the negative ones. Just something to bear in mind.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun, friendly, flexible... the perfect job for creative types

    1 Mar 2015 - Content Manager in Newcastle, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Landing a job at WhatCulture was a dream come true - the opportunity to get my writing seen by millions of people; with total freedom to be as creative as I liked. The office environment was friendly and casual, and the managers were very inspiring and taught me a lot about the industry. Any problems I had were addressed straight away without ease. Working hours were flexible and the bonus opportunities were great!

    Cons

    The restricted style of list websites is difficult to grow with in terms of writing skills, but there's no denying their popularity!

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Reliable, personable, and fun to write for.

    20 Feb 2015 - Staff Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The guys at WhatCulture were always very easy to chat with, and genuinely eager to hear about new ideas. While strict about what gets published, the editors aren't heavy-handed with pushing their own ideas over your own. Despite working from home in a freelance position, I never had communication issues, and there was always someone from the office available to talk with about any issues. Payment was always timely, with no problems.

    Cons

    If you're looking to make it as a freelance staff writer here, then there's a high workload involved. For some this might not be a problem, but many could find themselves getting burnt out if they're unable to consistently generate strong article ideas.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    3 Ups And 6 Downs About Working For WhatCulture.com

    26 Apr 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Tailored content to your personal interests and strengths - A fun and productive atmosphere in the main office between editors and writers - A good starter job for early writing experience if you can handle the obvious flaws in the company

    Cons

    - A cowardly boss who effectively bullies his employees (between regular playstation breaks) - No patience or planning when trying new ideas that could benefit the site in the long run - Too stubborn to deviate from the click bait format - A laughable lack of human interaction from the boss towards his minions. - Low pay and a lack of bonuses/incentives - Nepotism. Muchos nepotism

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Work at WhatCulture? Share Your Experiences

WhatCulture logo
or