Whitbread Employee Reviews about "nice people"

Updated 10 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Whitbread Chief Executive Officer Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
220 Ratings
Pros
  • "good working environment, great people to work with(in 22 reviews)

  • "If you want to work with nice people in a known name it can give you that(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours - contracted 48 hours over 7 days(in 38 reviews)

  • "Work life balance isn’t perfect but what company ín hospitality really can provide that(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "nice people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Digital review

      23 Feb 2019 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Really nice people *Good work life balance *Colocated so it’s easier to get things done *New leadership in product is strong. We need more seniors like this with the right external experience who know how digital should be run *Finally seeing some plans and having things explained a bit more. Before only a few people knew what was going on. With the new person she is more open and team focussed, so everyone has a view of what’s going on and is invited to be a part of it. Personally I really like that *Starting to be more customer focussed

      Cons

      *Blame culture across teams and even within our own team *Some negative people. There are a few people who no matter what happens always see the bad side or think of why something can’t be done rather than why it can *As someone else said Whitbread outside of digital don’t really understand it which can cause problems *We don’t think about our customers as much as we’d like to

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Full of potential

      22 Apr 2019 - Digital in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people, both in digital and the wider business. Great office location. Full of potential.

      Cons

      There are challenges to solve, but all are solvable. Some key ones: •Low morale is a big concern and known drivers will need support for solutions •Misconceptions about agile. Some process implementation but lacks full implementation and mindset / philosophy that are critical to unlock benefits which would be huge •Can be very siloed. Taking a simpler approach would unlock big efficiencies and bring people together. This is part of the agile philosophy. •Could benefit from a more progressive culture. Leans to bureaucracy and hierarchy at times as a safety net which slows everything down, disempowers and demotivates. Most big companies have moved away from this with everyone aligned around agreed goals to ensure company objectives are achieved. •Lacks goals, KPIs and continuous performance measurement. Minimal visibility of performance and no reporting can result in missing value-add. We want to always be adding material value. •Lack of visibility of business strategy. Understandable given lots of recent change, but this would really help

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Less contractors and needs to be based together

      2 Jun 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many nice people and good facilities

      Cons

      The quality of people has always been patchy but the influx of contractors is a concern. Far too many uncommitted overpaid people and too many being made permanent. Whilst that may lock in some sort of commitment it is bringing in lower quality people into higher level positions which is causing real problems. It’s also known throughout the business that one area is very weak, very expensive, very relaxed in comparison to other parts of the business and is failing. Whilst it has a tumultuous time, back in the real world cost cuts are made and people are just about keeping their heads above water. It’s hard to understand how it is acceptable to have one rule for one area and another for everywhere else. That same area also seems to divorced from the rest of the business partly due to geography.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Whitbread Response

      Digital Content Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as a company we are always looking to improve to give our people the best possible experience when growing their career with us. You've raised several points and I appreciate your honesty however, without critical information, we aren't able to offer comment or investigate further. Please email glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com and give us the best opportunity to use your insight to help us understand and implement any required changes to the way we work.

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      too much hierarchy and bureaucracy

      11 Apr 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      •Nice people •Easy to get to

      Cons

      •Nothing to attract customers •Obsessed with big programmes and ignore everything else. It’s just an ego boost for people with their own project as they get a big budget, a big team of project people and a lot of focus •Too much hierarchy and bureaucracy •Lack of knowledge and experience at highest levels. People move from area to area with periodic reshuffling so you can end up suddenly having a boss with no previous experience in your field •We were better off with Costa •Facilities could be better

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Whitbread Response

      Digital Content Manager

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. In order to help us make real changes to our business, we’d really appreciate the chance to talk to you further about this – just drop us a line at glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com and help us strive for even more together.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Disappointing

      25 Apr 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Luton, South West England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people and staff discount

      Cons

      Too many politics. Some people have rapidly weaselled their way to the top by saying the right things to the right people but haven’t done anything so far beyond talk. Endless paperwork and updates. So many meetings. Everything is a program or project. It’s plain silly as is the number of people they have and the pot of gold available to spend.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Whitbread Response

      Digital Content Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as a company we are always looking to improve to give our people the best possible experience when growing their career with us. We’ve thrived for 277 years by listening to our people and building the business around them, so your review is vital to helping us us understand and implement any required changes to the way we work. However, we'd get a lot more if you were willing to carry on the conversation with us. Please email glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Out of date

      13 Apr 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A few nice people and that’s about it

      Cons

      •Outdated and inefficient old company that doesn’t know how to move with the times •Too much process and long meetings •Processes don’t work. No plans, milestones, dates •Dominated by program people which shows how old fashioned and inefficient it is •Too many directors and many lack relevant experience. Overall everything is slowed down •Culture of hierarchy •Lots of overlapping people •Lack of career progression and your face needs to fit with the right people

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Whitbread Response

      Digital Content Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review, appreciate your honesty. It would be great to carry on the conversation here - glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com - so we can use your feedback for even more and and give us the best opportunity to use your insight to help us understand and implement any required changes to the way we work.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Wasteful and chaotic

      31 Mar 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Nice people -Flexible working good for parents

      Cons

      -Chaotic -Company performing badly for some time -Huge amounts of money wasted on 3rd party systems for minimal return -Brand in decline -Nothing to entice customers to bother with Premier Inn -Due to re-org moved some areas under people who don’t have the right knowledge or skills. The area move made sense but the reporting line person did not. A better choice was passed over for what looks to be office politics -Wasteful extra layers of unnecessary director fat

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Whitbread Response

      Digital Content Manager

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We’ve thrived for 277 years by listening to our people and building the business around them and we are continually reviewing our ways of working. If you email us at glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com we can use your feedback for even more so please get in touch and let's continue the conversation.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Think twice

      10 Jun 2019 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some nice people. Good work-life balance. But outweighed by the negatives.

      Cons

      The revolving door of people is nothing new. The work is unfulfilling, technology is mostly outdated and slow progress is being made. Minds are fixed and you are very limited in what you can do in every sense. It takes a toll. Recruitment keep promoting it as an amazing place to work despite the feedback and leavers.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Whitbread Response

      Digital Content Manager

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Working in the hospitality industry can be demanding, but we recognise it's important to get the right balance between challenging and impossible. In order to help us make real changes to our business, we’d really appreciate the chance to talk to you further about this – just drop us a line at glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Not good

      4 Apr 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *A few nice people *Staff discount

      Cons

      *People at the top out of touch with reality and lacking leadership skills *Too many directors and ‘MD’s. There are seperate Premier Inn, restaurants and German execs. As well as directors below them *Over investing in some places and under investing in others. Too ignorant to know the difference *IT depts not properly held to account for big projects that are failing *Able to hide behind Costa for a long time and now the weakness is showing putting people who had it easy under pressure

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Whitbread Response

      Digital Content Manager

      Hello and thanks for leaving a review. At Whitbread we are continually reviewing our ways of working so, if you email us at glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com, we can use your feedback for even more and ensure we remain at the forefront of our market.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Pointless

      14 May 2019 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you want to work with nice people in a known name it can give you that

      Cons

      Too many. Terrible work, the slowest code convergence, some bad systems you are stuck with, many people leaving

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

    Work at Whitbread? Share Your Experiences

    Whitbread logo
    or