Whitbread Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 19 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Whitbread Chief Executive Officer Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
220 Ratings
Pros
  • "good working environment, great people to work with(in 22 reviews)

  • "If you want to work with nice people in a known name it can give you that(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours - contracted 48 hours over 7 days(in 38 reviews)

  • "Work life balance isn’t perfect but what company ín hospitality really can provide that(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good company

      19 Jan 2021 - Deputy Hotel Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to grow in your career

      Cons

      Work life balance, pay. Big responsibility

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company to work for

      20 Dec 2020 - Business Analyst in Dunstable, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Helpful colleagues * Work-life balance

      Cons

      * Traditional ways of working prevail and it is not always easy to realise a change in perspective

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Solid Company

      8 Dec 2020 - Reward Manager in Bedford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Secure Friendly Passionate Lots of opportunity for progression

      Cons

      Hospitality sector is struggling Work from home, work-life balance is challenging

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Digital review

      23 Feb 2019 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Really nice people *Good work life balance *Colocated so it’s easier to get things done *New leadership in product is strong. We need more seniors like this with the right external experience who know how digital should be run *Finally seeing some plans and having things explained a bit more. Before only a few people knew what was going on. With the new person she is more open and team focussed, so everyone has a view of what’s going on and is invited to be a part of it. Personally I really like that *Starting to be more customer focussed

      Cons

      *Blame culture across teams and even within our own team *Some negative people. There are a few people who no matter what happens always see the bad side or think of why something can’t be done rather than why it can *As someone else said Whitbread outside of digital don’t really understand it which can cause problems *We don’t think about our customers as much as we’d like to

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent support - not perfect Life balance.

      10 Mar 2020 - General Manager in Brighton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent support to achieve your own personal career potential as well as support to meet your kpi’s in your job role.

      Cons

      Work life balance isn’t perfect but what company ín hospitality really can provide that.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work.. until new GM

      17 Aug 2019 - Play Area Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. Great work life balance. Tips kept as your own. Great benefits with Premier Inns around the country. I came in originally as a Team Member and within 5 months was promoted to Team Leader. I really enjoyed my time at the Brewers Fayre, was there just a month shy of 2 years. I worked within the Play Area and enjoyed every minute of it. That was until we got a new GM. Them and I did not particularly see eye to eye. Felt as though I was pushed out the door. Handing my notice to them and was told "I was expecting this to be honest." I couldn't believe it. I really do miss working there. I'd go back tomorrow if the current GM was not.

      Cons

      I didn't really feel there was any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Supportive company for individual growth

      15 Feb 2020 - Hotel Manager in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good progression and career opportunities.

      Cons

      Work-life balance is terrible.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good place to work

      9 Dec 2019 - Hotel Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team ethic. Good recognition and clear targets

      Cons

      work / life balance is hard to maintain

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Brilliant company

      10 Aug 2019 - Hotel Manager in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training and progression, excellent bonus scheme for senior management, scope to transfer internally, senior roles have better than average work life balance for hospitality industry.

      Cons

      - Team member retention can be low. Mostly due to hourly pay not being competitive enough. - labour model is very tight

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A ship that needs turning

      27 May 2019 - Commercial Analyst in Dunstable, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • The work-life balance is very good • The people are genuinely very nice. Much nicer than in most FTSE companies, it is a different culture and a positive one • The bonus structure is quite generous although base pay is lagging the industry – the overall comp is probably just about in line

      Cons

      • While the people are very nice there is, in my opinion, a lack of top talent at the company. There are very few employees from top universities and this is even more true at senior grades and, unfortunately, it shows with the quality of work produced around the business. • There is a very ‘if your face fits’ culture. Some junior employees enjoy promotions they probably don’t deserve while higher quality employees get glossed over. They don’t take the time to explain why a junior employee is promoted so rapidly and there are no performance metric to justify the decision. Unfortunately, from my position, it does often look like more senior men are promoting junior men who remind them of them. Which in turn means glossing over high performing women. • Senior management is woefully poor. I really wanted to write that senior management is outstanding but, unfortunately, I can’t. Alison, the CEO, has a background in finance not hospitality and the lack of experience is apparent. The entire board seem to be out of ideas to the extent that they are looking at innovations of, historically, much poorer competitors to see what changes can be made at Premier Inn. It’s a sorry state of affairs. • Due to the above factors the company has endured a very tough year and this looks set to continue in the medium term. The company feels rudderless in what is a very buoyant market.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Whitbread Response

      Digital Content Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and giving a thorough review. As a company we are always looking to improve to give our people the best possible experience when growing their career with us. We’ve thrived for 277 years by listening to our people and building the business around them. However, without critical information, we aren't able to offer comment or investigate further. Please email glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com and give us the best opportunity to use your insight to help us understand and implement any required changes to the way we work.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

    Work at Whitbread? Share Your Experiences

    Whitbread logo
    or