William Hill "shops" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

William Hill Employee Reviews about "shops"

Updated 20 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
William Hill CEO Ulrik Begntsson
Ulrik Begntsson
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working hours between shop staff(in 45 reviews)

  • "Generally flexible working hours, may vary by location/shops needs(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours weekend shifts boring when slow(in 95 reviews)

  • "Shifts were not very flexible so there isn’t a good work-life balance(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "shops"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Manager in Amesbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at William Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great customer interaction in some shops

    Cons

    Work late and weekends nearly all of them

    Advice to Management

    Sort opening hours

    William Hill2019-11-20
  2. "Good Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CEA 

    I have been working at William Hill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good customers when working in good shops

    Cons

    Very lonely work when opening or closing shops

    William Hill2019-11-01
  3. "Easy job but can be a headache"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at William Hill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relatively simple job if you just want a short term job rather than a career. Travel card zone 1-6 is great value if you work 5 days (25 hours minimum). Can meet interesting customers. Generally flexible working hours, may vary by location/shops needs

    Cons

    Breaks can be hard to setup as you'll often find yourself without a cashier if you're managing, often leading to a long shift without a break. Due to the nature of the job, not all customers you'll meet will be nice.

    William Hill2019-09-01
  4. "A once great business that has now lost its way due to senior management failing to engage with the government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Operations Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at William Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people who work in the shops are the best people in the business Being able to recruit and develop people The flexibility Meeting customers Engaging in local communities

    Cons

    Senior people too far removed from day to day operations and not prepared to get close Instability (across the industry) caused by a lack of due to a collective burying of heads in the sand Lack of transparency with important decisions Encouraged open communication but this was not the case Poor approach to pay reviews Cost lines constantly reviewed and planned budgets cut

    Advice to Management

    Let someone else have a go

    William Hill2019-09-26
  5. "CEM / Relief / CEA / Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CEM/Relief in Preston, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at William Hill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For me working in William Hill has been Brilliant right from the off, to begin with the guys training me have been excellent. They equipped me mentally and physically for everything I was about to do and they was really easy to talk too. I started in one of our smaller shops and got along great with customers, they became really good friends and some almost felt like family, many didn’t want me to leave when I transitioned to a relief position. Relief is a whole new game, each day I can be in a different shop helping a different team and having a laugh with a different set of customers. I feel the opportunities are endless within William Hill, providing you are prepared to work towards them and prove yourself like in most respectable companies. I feel very rewarded in my role and have had many colleagues reach out to me and tell me how much they appreciate me and that makes me really happy knowing that people care. My next goal in William Hill is to transition to shop manager, carry on learning, smash targets create an awesome/happy shop team and prove myself worthy of a BPM position, and so on, unless I come across a different / equally exciting / rewarding opportunity within the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Off the top of my head I can’t say I find any cons working for William Hill, I believe when everyone enjoys and is doing their job properly then everything ticks really smooth. I have spoken with management once regarding a specific issue and it was dealt with immediately. Managers get really busy and if they don’t know something is up or that you may need assistance with something then there is little or nothing they can do, so if you have any issues then just go ahead and book a meeting in with your BPM asap.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Carry on doing a great job.

    William Hill2019-03-16
  6. "customer experience manager, formerly deputy manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at William Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy job once you learn it, no boss around so pretty much left to your own devices. certain shops can get good tips.

    Cons

    A bit of a brain dead job, have to be able to handle some of the abuse you may get. Late finishes if thats not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic

    William Hill2019-03-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at William Hill full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime available if willing to travel to different shops in area. Very high turnover so easy to come across progression opportunities.

    Cons

    Paid minimum wage to work in potentially hostile and violent environment. Poor management and overall communication. Majority of the time you are sat behind a glass screen doing nothing. Worked 14hr shifts many days in a row sometimes without breaks as no staff available. No freedom with holiday, cannot book one day off when you need it, only a week at a time could be taken which had to be scheduled 6 months in advance. No routine. No set responsibilities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Scrap and start again.

    William Hill2019-01-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at William Hill part-time

    Pros

    The people that you work with in the shops are actually nice people... well some of them...

    Cons

    The BPM's are idiots, the customers always want to fight when something goes wrong, FOBT machines are the devil and ruin peoples lives, again BPM's are dumb idiots who keep messing with my pay and hours. Long hours, rubbish job prospects, anyone thinking of applying don't. Let the company fall to ground due to their lack of staff. You'll need to be councilor for the customers, a whipping boy for upper management who again are stupid. Honestly stay away from the company at all costs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Tell the BPM's to first get to know it's employees instead of talking to us like we're idiots. I'm an Engineering student and this job felt like I was losing brain cells just looking out of a window waiting for time to tick. It's a crap job stop giving us rubbish

    William Hill2018-05-24
  9. "Find the company ok at a District level but this is due to having an exceptional AOM."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at William Hill part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent flexibility of shifts so good for students or parents who prefer nights and weekend working. Depending on the shop you are assigned to the work will not be onerous and the shift will be spent chatting to customers or workmates. In very quiet shops it’s possible to study or read, watch tv etc.

    Cons

    The new BPM role is intrusive for managers. Constant interference and loss of control over the working environment means most managers are disengaged. Can be very long hours and you have to deal with angry or violent customers. If you end up in a busy shop your shift will be non stop and stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Clarify the BPM role. What’s the point in having managers if you don’t allow them to manage?

    William Hill2018-03-22
  10. "A tough place to work but an alright place overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at William Hill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with were great and very accommodating. It's perfect for students because the shifts are relatively flexible so you can fit work around your schedule. The pay isn't great but its not the worst either and you don't have stand like most retail shops.

    Cons

    Customers can be nasty and the company does nothing to prevent and deter antisocial behaviour. Conditions in the shops aren't always the best for the employee's side of things. Job requires you to be on alert all the time which can be stressful.

    Advice to Management

    After a while the job gets easier and you get promoted to manager relatively quickly, which pays a little bit more.

    William Hill2018-02-09
Found 34 reviews