Wilson Elser Legal Secretary Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Wilson Elser Legal Secretary Reviews

Updated Mar 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Wilson Elser CEO Dan McMahon
Dan McMahon
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Large company comes with perks and problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Resources, experienced staff, high standards

    Cons

    Miserable women, non caring partners, poor management of support staff

    Wilson Elser2019-03-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time

    Pros

    Excellant benefits-generous time off policy

    Cons

    They auto deduct 1 hour for lunch even if you don't take one & PTO time if you're late. No opportunity to make up time.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees as though you care whether they stay. The blatant favoritism of some employees is hard to deal with..

    Wilson Elser2015-10-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Legal Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Legal Secretary/Executive Assistant in New York, NY

    I worked at Wilson Elser for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benes and good raises

    Cons

    10 attorneys on one secretary

    Wilson Elser2015-09-23
  4. Helpful (7)

    "A firm lacking integrity and ethics with a disregard for labor laws."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Run run run run away

    Cons

    Wilson Elser has an auto deduct time clock, which subtracts 60 minutes from employees' time whether one gets a meal break or not. If you clock out for 30 minutes, 60 minutes is deducted. If you clock out for 70 minutes, 75 minutes is deducted. Affectionately referred to in our office as the "WEMED cheating" time clock. And if you are forced to work without a break, they will not pay the premium meal break... penalty. Wilson Elser violates ERISA laws by not disclosing plan information to participants such as the SPD and SMM.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Comply with California labor and federal ERISA laws.

    Wilson Elser2015-06-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "legal secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Downsized and let alot of good people go.

    Wilson Elser2015-04-15
  6. Helpful (7)

    "RUN FOR YOUR LIFE! THIS PLACE WILL KILL YOU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in White Plains, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Too many to list. Horrible, stressful, toxic, just to name a few. Great place to work if you like to be overworked and underpaid. 1 Secretary does the work of 5 attorneys and the attorneys reap the rewards.

    Advice to Management

    Quit while you're ahead

    Wilson Elser2015-02-10
  7. Helpful (12)

    "I Should Have Listened to My Gut!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If I had say something good, you'd have to torture me to say it, because I can't think of one pro.

    Cons

    This place is the worst firm I've worked for in my 25+ year career in the legal field. I suppose it has a lot to do with who you work for, but the firm itself is just awful. They really don't value their staff at all. Also, their technology is behind the times with inferior software and hardware. They want to do everything on the cheap. Their macro pac had to have been written by a trained monkey because it is a... joke. The features didn't work. And, the attorneys were a bunch of cry babies. I've never worked anywhere where the attorneys were so unprofessional and immature. Couldn't wait to get out of the place. If you're thinking about a job here, run, run, run as fast as you can away from this firm. You'll be glad you did.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What's the point? Management never listens.

    Wilson Elser2014-06-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Experience at Wilson Elser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awarded opportunities to learn and develop litigation skills

    Cons

    Good place to gain experience but very little room for growth and pay is paltry.

    Advice to Management

    increase salaries for support staff not just attorneys

    Wilson Elser2014-04-15
  9. "Legal Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, excellent support system, always up todate

    Cons

    I don't know of any

    Advice to Management

    Salary pay scale should be upgraded, give bonuses and raises

    Wilson Elser2013-12-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Mostly good people to work with but expect long hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Legal Secretary in San Francisco, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser

    Pros

    Wilson Elser offered good salary, good benefits, and I enjoyed working with a lot of the attorneys and most of the secretaries and paralegals.

    Cons

    There is very little growth opportunity at Wilson Elser even though it is an international company. They didn't have any sort of career training or help further education so if you stay there, you pretty much stay where you are unless you're an attorney, in which case, you can move up the ladder.

    Advice to Management

    It wouldn't be a bad idea to help with tuition assistance for legal secretaries. Many of them have very good legal skills on par with the paralegals and with some flexibility and monetary help, they could become great assets to the team. It would also provide better internal growth, company loyalty, and the drive that employees need to know that their hard work can help take them to the next level.

    Wilson Elser2011-10-25
Found 11 reviews