Wilson Elser Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Wilson Elser Reviews

Updated Nov 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Wilson Elser CEO Dan McMahon
Dan McMahon
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Billable hours are high and certain partners only see numbers(in 20 reviews)

  • "Low pay compared to comparable sized firms(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great work ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary 

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time

    Pros

    great PTO after starting 2nd year

    Cons

    There is no room to grow.

    Advice to Management

    allow flexibility to allow better outcomes & less frustration within the team

    Wilson Elser2019-11-02
  2. "Solid experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work was high quality and plentiful, though not overwhelming. The people in the Houston office were top-notch at every level and were easily the best part of working with the firm. The only reason I left is because a dream opportunity came along; otherwise, I would have gladly stayed.

    Cons

    The firm's file management software was outdated, buggy, and hard to use, though I understand that system is now a thing of the past. Also, and more anecdotally, the Houston office's building is in a state of permanent construction, which can make it frustrating, if not actually difficult, to get clients, witnesses, etc. into the office.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in younger attorneys; they'll form the backbone of the firm's future. And don't skimp on modernizing/upgrading the firm's information technology. Solid steps have been taken over the last 12 months--keep it going!

    Wilson Elser2019-10-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Attorney in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time

    Pros

    Lots of exposure to litigation - ability to set my own schedule and flexible as to where my work gets done. Associate monthly bonus program is VERY UNDERRATED.

    Cons

    Pay could he higher based on amount that I know they are making off of me.

    Wilson Elser2019-10-10
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Engineer in Elizabeth, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offices are decent, it's a paycheck

    Cons

    By far a miserable place to work. In the IT field many years and I cannot believe how bad it is here. The CIO is a tyrant and will dismiss you and treat you like have no brain and you will be in fear of losing your job or you will be planning your next move out of here. If you value your skills and want to enjoy your job look elsewhere. Toxic environment.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like people. Stop the revolving door.

    Wilson Elser2019-10-02
  5. Helpful (6)

    "80 hour weeks in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Analyst in Florham Park, NJ
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There really is some good team members here.

    Cons

    The IT department is the most toxic environment you will ever experience in your career (I've been working in IT for 30 years with multiple companies). The money is definitely above average but divide that in half since you will be expected to work 80 hour weeks. Gerard Pento (the CIO) is a narcissistic sociopath. The IT office has a saying, "GP is all about the DP."

    Advice to Management

    Please pay closer attention to your CIO, as he will eventually cause a catastrophic failure in IT.

    Wilson Elser2019-10-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Calm, average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal Clerk in New York, NY

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    paid holiday, pay time off

    Cons

    same work load, nothing new

    Wilson Elser2019-09-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Highly Toxic IT Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free water, and soda.... Wish I could say more...

    Cons

    There are several IT positions that are open due to IT folks leaving at a high rate due to the highly toxic IT environment. This is all due to the incompetence, leaderless and idiotic CIO, Gerald Pento.

    Advice to Management

    Find a new CIO! Gerald Pento has done a horrible job running the IT department!!

    Wilson Elser2019-10-23
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Associate Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary higher than average for insurance field positions Diverse practice with lots of resources available Streamlined on boarding process. Good place as long as your Partner/Group are good people. Generous PTO Policy.

    Cons

    Health insurance plan with high deductibles or high premiums. Lots of work. This place is not for lazy people. After onboarding, it’s sink or swim. You better learn fast. No 401K match

    Advice to Management

    Better health plans.

    Wilson Elser2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Exceptional Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Willingness to change and striving to continually improve -Great Partners that appreciate the work you do for them - Conferences and continuing education is encouraged - PTO days great -Comprehensive benefits package

    Cons

    - PTO not unlimited - Support staff do not have laptops

    Advice to Management

    Stay competitive

    Wilson Elser2019-08-29
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Stay Away from this . Worst firm of all time. No structure.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free water and tea.. and sometimes cheap pizza.

    Cons

    If you wanna waste your time, this is th perfect place. No leadership, no Structure. IS helpdesk running by morons. IS helpdesk supervisor lack technical and management skills although that person been there for many years. The firm wasting money to employ this type retards..

    Advice to Management

    FIX IT.. Its a mess.my 6 years old kid knows more about computers than those helpdesk analyst.

    Wilson Elser2019-10-02
Found 230 reviews