Wilson Elser Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Wilson Elser Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 217 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Wilson Elser CEO Dan McMahon
Dan McMahon
53 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Not a Place You Should Consider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Desk, Lights and getting out of the malise

    Cons

    Behind the times technically Churn rate is dramatic CIO is all talk no results Morale couldn't be worse Management spends more looking for someone to blame then doing work

    Advice to Management

    Move on from current CIO, he has over extended is welcome.

    Wilson Elser2019-04-24
  2. "Nice People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people including support staff, professional staff, and attorneys, generous PTO time, good work-life balance, benefits,

    Cons

    Only attorneys receive annual bonuses.

    Wilson Elser2019-03-21
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Large company comes with perks and problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Resources, experienced staff, high standards

    Cons

    Miserable women, non caring partners, poor management of support staff

    Wilson Elser2019-03-15
  4. Helpful (9)

    "No room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Applications Analyst 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      The amazing and talented people

      Cons

      IT Management specifically the CIO

      Wilson Elser2019-02-25
    • Helpful (6)

      "Tough Environment and Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - WANG/LAN Manager in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Moving in the right direction and some good hard working people.

      Cons

      Technological antiquities everywhere. IT department is way behind the curve. Video conferencing capabilities for remote depositions is horrendous.

      Advice to Management

      IT needs to be a business partner and not overhead. Tomorrow starts today.

      Wilson Elser2019-02-08
    • Helpful (3)

      "Not the best"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Wilson Elser part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The staff are supportive of one another

      Cons

      Not much direction or room for advancement

      Wilson Elser2019-01-23
    • Helpful (4)

      "Bait and Switch"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Secretary/Paralegal in Las Vegas, NV
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits, nice office. The office tries to take the upper road and be very ethical which is important nowadays.

      Cons

      I was hired to be a paralegal not a highbred cat -dog. I don’t know if it’s their way of saving money or whatever but I was very poorly trained and at the time that I interviewed, with simply asked if I minded helping out with secretarial work. I thought that meant when there was a rush or an overload as a member of the team would I help and of course I said yes. No it really is you are mostly a secretary-ie 80%. I...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      If you are advertising for a cat dog position, didn’t state it as such rather than advertising for legal Defense paralegals and making them secretaries.

      Wilson Elser2019-02-05
    • Helpful (16)

      "Bait and Switch ... BossZilla CIO"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT Project Manager in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The IT team members are amazing and very knowledgeable and supportive.

      Cons

      Working for this CIO was the worst experience of my life I have never seen such a narcissist who thinks everyone else is incompetent. He has zero IT aptitude or emotional intelligence to manage people. It's clear this is his first management role his inexperience is clear and his workplace harassment techniques are clearly highlighted due to high turn over. He is completely incompetent as a leader and setting WEMED...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Speak to other CIOs in legal or other industries to understand what IT should be doing for your organization and question the turnover rates of poor management. This has been an issue for almost 4 years surprising this hasn't been questioned.

      Wilson Elser2019-02-08
    • "Paralegal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits, free downtown parking,

      Cons

      Micromanaged, must punch a time clock, not a lot of flexibility

      Wilson Elser2018-12-13
    • "Salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time

        Pros

        The people seem nice so far

        Cons

        No bonuses from what I understand

        Wilson Elser2018-12-13
      Found 217 reviews