Wiltshire Council Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Wiltshire Council Leader Philip Whitehead  (no image)
Philip Whitehead
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working, having every bank holiday and 30 days holiday a year are all also huge benefits(in 24 reviews)

  • "The ability to work from home, and flexible working means a better work-life balance(in 13 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good organisation"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Corporate 

    I worked at Wiltshire Council full-time

    Pros

    Flexi-time, lots of departments to obtain experience in, people diversity

    Cons

    Lacked structure and leadership in the department I was in, therefore chances for progression was low

    Wiltshire Council2020-05-27
  2. "A nice place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council

    Pros

    Local, genuine and motivated to help.

    Cons

    Budget constraints: everyone has to do more for same money.

    Wiltshire Council2020-03-08
  3. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Library Assistant 

    I worked at Wiltshire Council part-time

    Pros

    Good I loved it

    Cons

    No cons it was good

    Wiltshire Council2020-02-15
  4. "It's worth getting out of bed for..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Trowbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I absolutley love working for Wiltshire Council not only is everyone really friendly and approachable (even senior management!) I am encouraged by my manager to continuously look at ways I can development and further myself. The council encourages you to develop transferable skills allowing you to apply for roles beyond the particular service you work for and reach your full potential. There are many qualifications and in-house courses you can take on/attend. I also love the fact that all the services we provide are for the public and although not everyone may agree we really do have the community at the heart of everything we do! Flexible working, having every bank holiday and 30 days holiday a year are all also huge benefits!

    Cons

    Sometimes parking can be an issue and whilst the council have provided frontline staff with guaranteed priority parking, it would be great to see how the issue will be overcome as it will only get worse.

    Wiltshire Council2019-09-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Delivery Officer in Trowbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    development opportunities, flexible working, supportive to employees, great colleagues, secondments and personally I have had some great managers

    Cons

    nothing stands out as a con

    Wiltshire Council2019-08-29

    Wiltshire Council Response

    August 29, 2019Resource Advisor

    Thank you for your review!

  6. "LOVE where I work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Trowbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Career progression Learning and development opportunities Internal engagement is a key focus Supportive management

    Cons

    Parking can sometimes be tricky

    Wiltshire Council2019-09-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Council Officer 

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As an organisation what we achieve, often in difficult circumstances is really impressive. I'm lucky to work with really talented people and most people seem to really enjoy what they do. Benefits like the holiday package, pension and flexible working are massive plusses too.

    Cons

    Funding reductions do not make things easy.

    Wiltshire Council2019-08-29

    Wiltshire Council Response

    August 29, 2019Resource Advisor

    Thank you for your review.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Apprentice in Trowbridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Employee recognition & voice system EPIC means improvements are frequently being made to improve engagement. -The ability to work from home, and flexible working means a better work-life balance -Wiltshire Rewards -Supportive managers, and team

    Cons

    -Hot desking can be difficult as there isn't always desks available to dock -The relationship between the 3 different hubs isn't always positive as most activity occurs at Trowbridge

    Continue reading
    Wiltshire Council2019-08-28

    Wiltshire Council Response

    August 29, 2019Resource Advisor

    Thank you for your review, great idea about the team activities!

  9. "Easily forgotten"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Trowbridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexi hours, work from home, local benefits

    Cons

    Constant restructuring, too many accidental managers, each department seems to have different rules, lots of tick boxes exercises rather to make it look like the staff are looked after, lack of progression unless you know certain people or you are news worthy (Ie apprentice)

    Continue reading
    Wiltshire Council2019-08-26

    Wiltshire Council Response

    August 28, 2019Resource Advisor

    Thank you for leaving a review, and though I'm sorry to hear things like some management styles are a frustration, I'm glad you enjoy the flexi, work from home and other benefits. We are taking steps to keep improving things, such as managers being supported through our leadership and management apprenticeship. It would be great if you wanted to get involved in helping shape other improvements by joining TeamEPIC, our employee engagement group. Why don't you come along and join us at the next meeting on September 24th at 9.30 in the Cotswold room? It's a great place to get advice and clarification too. Thank you! James

  10. "As good as the manager you have"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wiltshire Council full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working and treated like adults

    Cons

    Lack of promotion/ reward opportunities

    Wiltshire Council2019-08-22
Found 66 reviews