Windstream Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Windstream Reviews

Updated 10 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
44%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Windstream President and CEO Tony Thomas
Tony Thomas
598 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You are just a number to upper management(in 71 reviews)

  • "Tools do not work but windstream expects you to provide excellent customer service(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people to work with, not a clear path forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - UCaaS Operational Manager 

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good people to work with and the leadership seemed to have the best interests of the company and employees at heart.

    Cons

    Company had filed chapter 11 after some litigation, not sure how things will look when they come out the other side.

    Windstream2020-01-10
  2. "I enjoyed my time at Windstream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Technician in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My immediate boss was very good. Great Co-workers

    Cons

    No job Security. Every year multiple times a year there are layoffs. Bad work life balance.

    Windstream2020-01-05
  3. "Professionalism with a Capital P"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had 5 thorough and professional interviews as part of the hiring process. I am a 20 year career professional who was considering leaving 1 great job for a different great job. It was a decision process I took with career life seriousness. The Windstream management team demonstrated at every level they took the very same level of seriousness and reflection. It was the leading factor that ultimately influenced my decision.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are many detailed documents and videos to be reviewed with the onboarding process. I was only sent the information links on paper and never electroically. It would have been much faster for me to click on hyperlinks then input some 20 plus exact characters into my address bar.

    Advice to Management

    Same as my only CON

    Windstream2020-01-01
  4. "Constantly changing -- rarely for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Upbeat, vibrant co-workers. Complete though expensive benefits.

    Cons

    Constantly restructuring, moving people around, laying off and then hiring others. Tony Thomas is totally out of touch with the outdated network and double standards he presents.

    Advice to Management

    Just hold still a few minutes! You can't start a new initiative and then pull the plug in less than a month, saying it's not working.

    Windstream2020-01-04
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Analyst in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to gain experience on equipment and knowledge, especially on equipment and levels above your current scope and skill set.

    Cons

    There's always a level of concern or fear that you will be part of the next layoff.

    Windstream2019-12-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Mixed emotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people make up Windstream

    Cons

    You are just a number to upper management. Health insurance is terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people to manage that have actually worked in the field instead of just looking for a degree.

    Windstream2019-12-09
  7. "Don't apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Technician in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Non mgmt employees were good to work with

    Cons

    Mgmt doesn't care about employees. Many layoffs

    Advice to Management

    Get your heads out of your a55. You are not better than employees.

    Windstream2019-12-24
  8. "Great Work Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    On-boarding process and training program has been excellent, for sure the best I have been involved in. They provide all of the tools necessary to be successful, and are open to suggestions from the field. Friendly, warm, collaborative work environment. Co-workers and Managers are helpful and are vested in each other's success. Management seems to have a realistic expectation of us and what the challenges are out there. Pay is competitive; at plan there is a lot money to be made.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being in Chapter 11, there are many customers that are hesitant to do business with Windstream at least until they come out of bankruptcy. Benefits are OK, my only critique though would be that the health plans have high deductibles.

    Windstream2019-12-04
  9. "Great start!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flight training (on-board sales and product training) is very well built and best I've ever seen.

    Cons

    None so far I can think of.

    Windstream2019-12-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Constant threat of Layoff - No sales since Bankrupt filed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Technician in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company vehicle. Direct coworkers. Direct manager.

    Cons

    No new sales, CEO out to drain all money before he leaves. Horrible benefit package. Constant layoffs. Old patched together network hanging by a thread.

    Advice to Management

    Go do something else. You have already sucked this company dry. Time to move on to the next, go ruin other peoples jobs as this is what you are good at.

    Windstream2019-12-16
Found 1425 reviews