Winston & Strawn Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Winston & Strawn Reviews

Updated 5 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
53%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Winston & Strawn CEO Tom Fitzgerald
Tom Fitzgerald
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "I imagine it was like working in a big law firm anywhere(in 12 reviews)

  • "Small office, good benefits and get paid fairly well(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical law firm meaning technology is 15 years behind(in 12 reviews)

  • "The supervisors for the legal secretaries in some offices are also members of HR(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A solid biglaw option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney 

    I have been working at Winston & Strawn full-time

    Pros

    Responsibility, flexibility to work from home

    Cons

    Benefits, Hours, Transparency of management

    Winston & Strawn2019-11-06
  2. "Soulless corporate job with very few paths for promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money, money, money, and money

    Cons

    Literally everything else. Working a staff position at Winston & Strawn is a good paycheck, and that's about it. Dealing with lawyers on a day-to-day basis is hard enough; but a rigid, callous management makes the whole ordeal not even remotely worth it. It's a meat grinder filled with micro-managers and sociopaths from top to bottom here. Beware.

    Advice to Management

    Managers at Winston will pretend to care about your well-being, like any other billion dollar corporation, but when you actually have problems that cause your work product to suffer, they will toss you aside without a second thought.

    Winston & Strawn2019-10-22
  3. "Good work; tough partners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work with plenty of early opportunities

    Cons

    They will work you hard and you shouldn’t expect work life balance as an associate - the best junior associates seem to always burn out after being expected to work around the clock

    Winston & Strawn2019-09-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Went downhill pretty fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Solicitor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small office, good benefits and get paid fairly well

    Cons

    Went on a massive sacking spree to refresh the workforce

    Winston & Strawn2019-09-10
  5. "Winston & Strawn was the Best place I ever worked at! Absolutely Loved it there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendliness of the people; willingness to help each other out. Was able to make many long-term friendships. Good salary and benefits.

    Cons

    There were no cons -- seriously!!

    Advice to Management

    It's been many years since I worked at Winston & Strawn. I absolutely loved working there. Everyone was so friendly and cooperative. I retired a year ago from a different firm and am thinking that I would like to go back to work, but I'd only do that if it were at Winston & Strawn.

    Winston & Strawn2019-08-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "As law firms go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Business Development in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generous with employees and heart is in right place

    Cons

    Typical law firm meaning technology is 15 years behind

    Advice to Management

    Business model is outdated

    Winston & Strawn2019-08-28
  7. "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account in London, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good atmosfere with the staff and partners

    Cons

    Change of management from US too sudden and oppresive at times.

    Winston & Strawn2019-07-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture Competitive benefits and compensation

    Cons

    Interviewing and onboarding process seem outdated

    Winston & Strawn2019-06-10
  9. "Okay place - some problems but good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist 

    I have been working at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, flexible work environment.

    Cons

    Management is stretched too thin which leads to perplexing and unnecessary dysfunction. 5% of people do 90% of the work.

    Advice to Management

    Take more time to hire. So often mgt. just wants to fill the seat and it leads to hiring incompetent employees. There's enough good ones to balance it out, but some people should NOT have jobs there.

    Winston & Strawn2019-06-14
  10. "Excellent firm with very smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Attorney in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winston & Strawn full-time

    Pros

    World class firm with very smart people and interesting clients. Strong comp. Nice offices. Great parental leave benefit.

    Cons

    Most office perks don't keep up with SF tech companies. Bureaucratic. High billable hours requirement.

    Winston & Strawn2019-06-08
Found 162 reviews