Wood Smith Henning & Berman Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Wood Smith Henning & Berman Reviews

Updated 8 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
46%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Wood Smith Henning & Berman Founder & Managing Partner Daniel A. Berman (no image)
Daniel A. Berman
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "In sum, it's a good place to work and learn, as well as meet some great people(in 4 reviews)

  • "Staff and attorneys very welcoming making being new not awkward at all(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The secretaries do not know how to keep attorneys calendars(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wood Smith Henning & Berman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work for one of the practice groups in the main LA office. Work is fast paced and challenging. I have been given amazing opportunities to take significant roles in all facets of cases from beginning through trial. Partners are busy but have open door policies and make time to answer questions and round table cases. I’ve made great friends here and look forward to growing with the firm.

    Cons

    Always busy, not much down time, but to be expected with thriving litigation firm.

    Wood Smith Henning & Berman2020-02-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Experience, Fast Pace, Great Friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wood Smith Henning & Berman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Experience at all facets of litigation, from meeting clients, taking depositions, writing motions, court appearances and trial. Firm is incredibly busy and you are given opportunities that match your drive and capabilities. They hire great people, I have made life-long friends. They give great deference to working at home if it makes sense and treat you like a professional. Firm grows each year which means more room for advancement if you want it.

    Cons

    Depending who you get to work with there are a wide range of personalities at the partner level. There are no defined practice groups, which means you can escape working with a partner that you do not necessarily work with successfully. If you want feedback, you really need to make a point to ask for it. If you want some close mentoring, the onus is going to be on you depending who you get paired with as this is a really busy place.

    Continue reading
    Wood Smith Henning & Berman2020-01-04
  3. "OMG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wood Smith Henning & Berman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no pros to talk about.

    Cons

    Management could not be more awful.

    Continue reading
    Wood Smith Henning & Berman2020-01-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "There are no words to describe the awfulness of this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Wood Smith Henning & Berman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast on Fridays and lunch on rainy days.

    Cons

    This is the worst job I’ve ever had. Partners micromanage and make you feel as though you are less than. Partners do not read emails and then act as though you missed superficial deadlines they set. Partners open files you are working on to check your work status days before work is due to them without taking workload into consideration. Some Partners were somewhat better but most were horrible people to work with. I would never return to this firm as it was the worst experience of my life. Turnover at this office is high, and from what I understand, certain Partners have higher turnover rates than others. A certain female Partner is known in the industry to have a high turnover rate for her associates. A brand new attorney who knows no better may be able to work with her, but anyone with any firm experience will not succeed under her “leadership.” Pay is subpar as are benefits. Parking fees are deducted from pay. Assistants/secretaries had no idea how to do their jobs and were not able to do even the basics, such as calendaring. Some of the associates there are nice enough, but the workload is so high that there is no time for camaraderie. Hr/management have no idea what they are doing and make no attempt to build relationships. You will only hear from them when they have an issue to discuss with you. I would not wish this firm on my worst enemy. Stay away at all costs.

    Continue reading
    Wood Smith Henning & Berman2020-01-23
  5. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wood Smith Henning & Berman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work lunches, Raising desks, nice employees

    Cons

    Not a very flexible schedule

    Wood Smith Henning & Berman2019-11-06
  6. "Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wood Smith Henning & Berman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generous salary, bonuses, paid time off

    Cons

    Fast paced, hectic , overworked

    Wood Smith Henning & Berman2019-09-28
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wood Smith Henning & Berman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Room for advancement and growth. New offices opening across the U.S.

    Cons

    With so many offices opening, sometimes management forgets to remember the workers who have been with them for a long period of time.

    Wood Smith Henning & Berman2019-09-19
  8. "Good Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Wood Smith Henning & Berman full-time

    Pros

    Good group of people to worm with

    Cons

    High case load can be overwhelming

    Wood Smith Henning & Berman2019-08-26
  9. "Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Legal Se in Aliso Viejo, CA

    I worked at Wood Smith Henning & Berman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good working atmosphere.

    Cons

    Location is in the middle of nowhere.

    Wood Smith Henning & Berman2019-07-23
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wood Smith Henning & Berman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is not a single pro at all about this firm

    Cons

    incompetent, in over their head, do not know what they are doing, nepotism abounds, can't keep a single smart employee

    Continue reading
    Wood Smith Henning & Berman2019-08-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 51 reviews