Find jobs for Canvasser

Work for Progress Canvasser Reviews

Updated 17 Sep 2018

To filter reviews, or .
2.0
10%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Work for Progress President of the Board Crystal Bergeman (no image)
Crystal Bergeman
2 Ratings
  1. "An Alright Company to Work for"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Field Canvasser in Colorado Springs, CO

    I worked at Work for Progress part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organized, Manageable, Pays decently for your efforts.

    Cons

    I did not stay long enough to form any cons or negative view.

    Work for Progress2018-09-13
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Liars"

    1.0
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Canvasser in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Promised to pay $15 an hour. Ended up getting 10.20 an hour, feeling totally ripped off.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2018-09-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Disorganized, run by kids, unprofessional, low pay"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Canvasser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nope. It's good exercise and you figure out where good neighborhoods meet bad ones with a quickness.

    Cons

    No logic lives here. From sub-par tablets to maps that don't make sense, the whole program is mismanaged.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2018-09-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Their system doesn't even accept the standrd file types"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Canvass Director in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress full-time

    Pros

    It's a worthwhile effort at the right time.

    Cons

    They are a slave to technology which is a very cruel master to them.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2018-07-19
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Many Try but Few Succeed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Canvass Director in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress full-time

    Pros

    Their campaigns work on important causes, and winning a campaign is a good thing for people and the country.

    Cons

    This organization, and many of the other organizations within the public interest network, have a really hard time with employee retention when it comes to the canvass director and campaign organizer roles. In a lot of cases you end up working so many hours per week it works out to be less than a minimum wage salary. In many cases the canvassers that you hire as a director, make more an hour than you do. There are a few situations involving canvasser's concerns/safety that were not handled well by higher management in my opinion. I also feel that you are very much just a number in the overall organization of the team. When myself and others raised concerns or decided to quit because we were uncomfortable with the way things were done, the management seemed more than willing to drop us and find the next person who would be willing to blindly follow their game plan. Because of that, I really didn't feel valued.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2017-05-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Canvassing"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Canvasser in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Work for Progress

    Pros

    easy interview, working for Democratic candidates

    Cons

    obsessed with quotas, encourages false data

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2016-10-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The management team and co-workers made it very enjoyable."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Canvasser in Grand Junction, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved the exercise and knowing I was making a difference.

    Cons

    Walking so far for so long was very hard on my back.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2014-10-05

    Work for Progress Response

    November 3, 2014Recruitment Managing Director

    Thanks for your hard work and thanks for the feedback.

  8. Helpful (13)

    "Worst Job in America - Don't believe any of the positive reviews, they write the reviews themselves"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Canvass Director in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to pretend to feel important

    Cons

    15 hour work days - 7 days per week, $24,500 a year salary which comes out to roughly $4.10/hr after taxes. Work for Progress' entire strategy is hire as many people as they can and then work them to death until they quit or they have grounds to fire them. They have incredibly high quotas and hire innocent people thinking that they have a job. The problem is that you have to knock door to door so quickly that it is almost impossible to not meet the quotas. I am not sure how this company gets away with blatantly violating labor laws but this company employs practices that would have made slave owners in the antebellum south tell them to calm down. They are weird, pushy, aggressive, uncompromising and only care about the bottom line.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2014-08-19

    Work for Progress Response

    January 8, 2015Recruitment Managing Director

    We're sorry that you had a bad experience. We are upfront about the work and especially when we are partnering with groups working on election campaigns, we're sure to tell candidates that they'll be working 7 days a week running a campaign office.

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews