Workday Applications Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Workday Applications Developer Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
21 Ratings
  1. "Great internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, fun people, top notch product

    Cons

    Proprietary tech stack is career limiting

    Workday2019-05-10
  2. "Very happy employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Software Applications Development in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People come first. This is a place where you can challenge & grow your career

    Cons

    Unfortunately it's easy to just tick the boxes & collect your wage at the end of the day.

    Advice to Management

    Challenge your staff more

    Workday2019-04-20
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Has it's ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Mostly great coworkers -Good location, as it's opposite traffic both ways.

    Cons

    -Salary based income, so be prepared to work more than 8 hours a day. -In house programming language doesn't promote career growth outside of company.

    Workday2019-04-12
  4. Helpful (27)

    "Don't make the same mistake I did"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good culture, fun co-workers - Great work life balance - Stock is doing well, good ESPP plan, stock refreshers - Generation Workday new grad program is a good way to make friends

    Cons

    Workday’s App dev teams are the product engineering teams and they build the app using a propriety GUI-based language called Xpresso. The tools teams work on infrastructure and they use traditional programming languages like java and scala. This review is about app dev only. Hate to say it but working in Xpresso is a very bad career move for engineers coming straight out of college. Unless you are proactive and work...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not sure what they can do since xpresso is a fundamental part of the tech stack. They're currently working on a replacement for xpresso that's more similar to traditional programming languages but it will still be proprietary and it's unclear when it will be widely adopted.

    Workday2018-10-24
  5. Helpful (11)

    "No innovation and empowerment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work/life balance Good culture Easy commute

    Cons

    Proprietary technology Lots of dependencies with teams Constrained by XO Lots of mid level management

    Advice to Management

    Please empower teams to take product forward Cut down on slack teams

    Workday2017-10-31
  6. "Best people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday

    Pros

    Great fun, loads of social clubs and whole-building activities like watching the World Cup matches. Loads of new hires which gives a great energy to the place. As an intern I felt very much part of the team I worked with, included and my opinions respected.

    Cons

    As an application developer you're stuck working in Xpresso which is a dead end career wise. Can sometimes feel like there's no time for work in between all the meetings and activities.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, I really felt listened to during my time there.

    Workday2017-07-26
  7. Helpful (26)

    "Career Killer for Application Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Generally great and friendly people - Company cares about the happiness of employees

    Cons

    -Xpresso is the death of a career. Some internal initiatives are evidence to how unsuccessful Xpresso is and efforts to "revitalize" the language. Application developers hate it and other engineers openly mock the language that developers have to use. - Underpaid. Even after "market adjustments," application developers are underpaid compared to the industry standard. If you're going to make developers learn a new language...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Think about the line developers. Let us use and explore technologies that actually make us excited to built the product. Many of us love the product but the vehicle by which we build it is so horrid that it ruins the experience of doing what we love most -- coding.

    Workday2017-05-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Smiley Face - and cats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's the best :D it's a great place to work

    Cons

    Nada nada nada nada nada

    Workday2017-05-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good company with nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Pleasanton, CA

    I worked at Workday

    Pros

    People here are nice to work with

    Cons

    sometimes it gets confused with lots of info

    Workday2016-10-25
  10. Helpful (35)

    "Good place if you don't care about your future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Applications Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Workday

    Pros

    "culture" at an inconvenient location: pleasanton

    Cons

    learn their language and be stuck here forever become friends with your manager or stay associate forever run jump ship

    Advice to Management

    set better goals and help the peasants

    Workday2016-04-29
Found 30 reviews