Workday Associate Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Workday Associate Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2016

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO, Co-Founder & Chairman Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Rising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time

    Pros

    - Great work atmosphere, everybody is friendly - Working on some cool technology - Good work life balance These qualities are honestly very rare in SV, but then there are drawbacks to having such balance..

    Cons

    - Typical problems of scaling a company - Lack of open-source projects (which I feel is very important to staying integrated with the tech community) - Pays under the market, which limits the amt of talent

    Continue reading
    Workday2016-11-11
  2. "Engineering talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are tons of reasons for why Workday is a great place. Although others are saying the culture is deteriorating, it is still very good; work life balance is great, business prospects look good overall.

    Cons

    What a lot of people don't see is that the hiring bar is getting lower and lower because the company is trying to expand. Quality over quantity should be the mindset in recruiting, but as a new grad, I've seen extremely brilliant (and friendly) people get rejected from this company, and not-so-brilliant people get in, which astounds me. Salary is a huge issue; everyone knows the Workday does not pay enough, probably 15k under the market for new grads alone. If we want Workday's engineering reputation to increase, you cannot continue paying people so little. You are giving the truly talented engineers less reasons to choose Workday over other companies.

    Continue reading
    Workday2016-11-08
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place To Work, Lovely People. Only downside is the development language"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work Great benefits Friendly People

    Cons

    Development language leaves me feeling pidgeonholed

    Continue reading
    Workday2016-09-24
  4. "great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Associate Software Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Workday

    Pros

    great culture, very nice & helpful people

    Cons

    headquarters in Pleasanton, no meals

    Workday2016-09-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Associate Software Engineer - Recruited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Associate Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday

    Pros

    I went through a recruitment process with workday recently. - All the recruiters were nice people to talk to. The technical guys were also quite good, we engaged in deep conversation about the technology stack and the architecture of some particular systems. - We were able to delay the Commence Date of the contract, which was excellent news for me. - The team-lead walked me through the module they are developing and told me where will my place in the team be and what responsibilities will I have.

    Cons

    - Relocation's a b*tch. Although they provided a Relocation Asistance Company. Which actually comes to a plsu, at the end of the day..

    Continue reading
    Workday2016-04-08
  6. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Associate Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    great managment , new technologies, GREAT culture

    Cons

    things are moving waaaay to fast , technologies are changing all the time

    Workday2016-03-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company, income is not too competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday for more than a year

    Pros

    Software Engineer = Great culture, great company, awesome hours, constantly challenged, DOG FRIENDLY.

    Cons

    I personally believe it is hard to get salary increases similar to other tech companies, i think that is my least favorite part about workday.

    Workday2015-12-03
  8. Helpful (34)

    "Boring technology, Micromanagement, and no Career Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Any company that has a good cash flow is good for seniors, and people in the finance/hr or service roles. If you're into fun and like to live at work, the culture is great. The leadership is top-notch. Some visionary guys are in power here that help spurn the company forward.

    Cons

    When it comes to engineering, IT, and development, this place is a dead end. If you want to work day and night, spent 60 hours a week at a job that underpays you for 40 hours, this is your place. You will spend the rest of your life here in proprietary-language programming, finding hidden bugs in the system beyond your domain of knowledge. You'll spend most of your time tracking down people who caused a particular issue, not learning anything new about technology. Documentation is terrible here. Better become best friends with key people to know what's going on. They say they have career advancement opportunity here because you go nominally from associate, to engineer, to senior engineer, but these titles don't mean anything and they don't come with much pay increase. They do pay ok but that's only because their stock benefits are doing well "for the moment." The stock prices has been continually slowing in growth since I started and the lofty promise of And do the math and you'll realize that even if you worked only 40 hours a week, you make less than half the hourly pay of the average contractor. Don't be fooled by the fancy cars some workday employees drive. Seniority is the single most important factor here. If you are employee 500 or less, you're doing well. Also don't expect to design anything because all the important decisions are made by 6+ year seniors. If you worked at a startup or medium sized company you'd be doing the same job as them and make more in the long run.

    Continue reading
    Workday2015-11-11
  9. "Decent experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Associate Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits and pay are impressive for an intern Pleasanton is a fairly mice neighborhood to work in, you are near many amazing cities

    Cons

    The projects don't feel as substantial as they could be, sometimes you feel like you aren't contributing as much as you could be

    Continue reading
    Workday2015-10-16
  10. Helpful (19)

    "Know what you are gettting into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Nice people at the company

    Cons

    terrible proprietary language that has zero transferability as a skill pay is way below industry standard very few benefits misleading and often lying about expectations at work

    Continue reading
    Workday2015-08-31
Found 17 reviews