Workday "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Workday Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1216 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
866 Ratings
Pros
  • "At Workday one of the core values are(in 218 reviews)

  • "Work life balance & employee well being is empahsised(in 129 reviews)

Cons
  • "Proprietary language might not carry over well into different career paths(in 34 reviews)

  • "This might be because it's based in Pleasanton(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, paternity/maternity leave. Awesome people and awesome work environment

    Cons

    Sometimes have to work late? Sr Management gets lost sometimes

    Workday2019-06-20
  2. Helpful (18)

    "Could Be a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuinely some amazing people Great place for graduates to get on the ladder Shares are a great investment plan Good benefits Ok Salary Internal mobility to get away from the proprietary language Agile coaches to advance teams

    Cons

    Ruinous middle management in some teams. Policy of 'owning your own career' while well intended at the top, is get out of jail free card for middle management to not do their job. While there are some amazing people, rapid growth led to the original culture becoming diluted. Poor work / life balance. Proprietary language limits external career opportunities. Incidents of bullying and bad managerial conduct are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Middle management: Work hard to make your teams lives easier, don't make your team work hard to make your life easier. Be honest. Stop giving yourself excuses and be better. Senior Management: Cast a cold eye on the reality of things, take action and drop the enforced positivity policy.

    Workday2019-05-22
  3. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture with really great people. Work life balance is highly valued here and it’s evident that people care about each other.

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Workday2019-05-30
  4. Helpful (21)

    "The Firm Allows Low Performance (And Calls It “Culture”)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday

    Pros

    1) Can coast by easily doing minimal work 2) Pays well when factoring RSUs and ESPP 3) Emphasis in work life balance and getting along with coworkers 4) Good fringe benefits such as getting to attend the Altitude conference every year

    Cons

    Services consultant here. This is what I see out in the field with customers: 1) Other consultants that do the bare minimum for their customers leaving them extremely dissatisfied and wishing they went with a partner 2) Consultants that get rolled off projects year over year and are still with the firm because managing out low performers is a foreign concept to Workday 3) Management and project leadership caring more...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If leadership is looking to do a big shake up of how services is managed I say go for it and leave no stone unturned. They would be shocked at what people are getting away with and what customers are having to deal with. Meanwhile I hope what I describe is just limited to my own org and not other teams in services.

    Workday2019-05-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work - no kidding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm encouraged every day to do what I love to do with all the creativity and skills that I possess.

    Cons

    This is a very competitive workplace. You have to be the absolute cream of the crop to advance. That sometimes leads to work/life balance conflicts.

    Workday2019-05-20
  6. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment with friendly people, comfortable work/life balance and nice technology.

    Cons

    Proprietary language might not carry over well into different career paths.

    Workday2019-05-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Test Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Culture * Work-Life Balance * Caring Management Team * Great Talent Pool * Career Growth and Development Workday is really good at finding peoples' strengths and fitting them to positions that enable them to be their best. It's a win-win. I have been with the company since January of 2013 and I have to say, this company is the best place I have had to privilege to work for. I'm looking forward to continued...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only downside is that we don't have a large enough venue for our kick-ass company meetings :-)

    Advice to Management

    I see very little politics at Workday. Management has done a good job of empowering and enabling career development.

    Workday2019-05-11
  8. "A company worth being a part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great salary, environment that invests in their employees and gives them the tools to be successful. An environment where their values are reflected not only at an employee level but all layers of the organization to the very top. Great work life balance. A company who reads employee and client feedback and takes it to heart and action.

    Cons

    None so far. It really has been a great employee experience from interview to date.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. The culture is echoed globally, the same type of fantastic people I have met in every region and office that I have been to.

    Workday2019-04-28
  9. "One of the best places I've worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work there support you and help you like no other, they'll go out of their way to provide you with resources that will make you succeed from day 1 of the job Great culture, there are no divides between management and lower level workers. You can setup time with a VP or exec without having to go through the "formal/political" channels that you might need to at other companies. Great work life balance...

    Show More

    Cons

    Wish the food options were better, but we do have a new cafe opening in another 2 months so hopefully this will change Compensation may not be as high as other companies out there.

    Advice to Management

    HR should be keeping up with the compensation rates of other companies by doing yearly evaluations across the board & increasing salary packages as needed. This will keep employees motivated to stay & not look for opportunities outside the company

    Workday2019-04-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A Dream Job in All Respects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Market leading product, great work/life balance, considerate (dare I say loving) executive team

    Cons

    Hyper growth always makes me nervous—eg. I don’t want this party to stop!

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to emphasize job security to employees who worry that being on a rocket ship means that all these new hires could turn to fires when the growth stops. Maybe I’m unfairly nervous about this, but finding more ways to emphasize security amidst hyper growth and all that can come with it.

    Workday2019-04-07
Found 1216 reviews