Xero Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Xero CEO Steve Vamos
Steve Vamos
88 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Maybe the middle management (team lead) is a bit weak in management skills(in 21 reviews)

  • "Global head office in NZ and a lot of functions in(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Ok"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Melbourne

    I worked at Xero full-time

    Pros

    good company to work for

    Cons

    Location not in Melbourne central city

    Xero Response

    August 7, 2020

    Thank you for leaving a review! We're glad you enjoyed your experience at Xero. ^CP

  2. "Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - .NET Graduate Developer in Canberra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Xero full-time

    Pros

    Working environment is excellent Flexible working arrngements

    Cons

    I haven't found many yet

    Xero Response

    August 7, 2020

    Thank you for leaving feedback! We love our workplace culture, even when we're working remotely. We're so glad to have you as part of the team! ^CP


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome product team and org in Toronto"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work on the product/eng side (vs. the sales side) so can mostly speak to my experience there. - Killer products (Xero and Hubdoc) with super interesting customer problem. Accounting tech is a tool that customers totally rely on and is changing rapidly so problems are complex and interesting. Toronto office teams in particular are focused on reimagining future of accounting which makes for stimulating challenges. - Awesome work culture: team is invested in their work and customer problems they are solving, but also treat each other kindly and respect work-life balance - Real focus on self development and growth: regular personal development/learning days, 360 reviews, supportive management, lunch and learns - Toronto product team originally consisted of Hubdoc employees (it was acquired - now Toronto has become larger eng hub beyond Hubdoc), but office still maintains startup feel and culture. - Good salary and benefits

    Cons

    - Global company means sometimes you may have to connect with teams in other time zones (including New Zealand and Australia). Doesn't happen often but when it does can mean evening meetings.

    Continue reading

    Xero Response

    August 7, 2020

    Thank you so much for sharing this feedback with us! We're so excited about the growth in Toronto and will work hard to maintain the culture of our team. I've passed along your feedback to our People Experience team as well so we can keep that top of mind. ^CP

  4. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Great Leadership - Great People - Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Xero's leadership team - From the local leadership in Toronto up to Steve Vamos. It's a team that very much cares about people. At every level, I have been really impressed with how the leadership team approaches the people side of things. A legitimate focus and care for mental health and work life balance is very much appreciated. Growth Opportunities - With the continued focus on growth in Toronto, there is a lot of opportunity to grow individually People - The people are what really make this a great place to be. It's a really strong group of people who care about each other, and making products better WFH / Office - Now that we're in Covid, Xero has a whole has been really great about flexibility with support. Xero had a plan in place that allowed the company to be more proactive with the shift to WFH with strong communication. As well as some financial support for gear at home (if you couldn't get things from the office). When we were in the office, the location was really great. Challenges - All of the teams are working on challenging problems that genuinely have a meaningful impact on our customers

    Cons

    Timezones - The timezone gaps between Toronto and New Zealand can create some friction with how fast we're able to drive some things forward if we need someone on the other side of the world to do something.

    Continue reading
  5. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Supportive global company who put their employees first."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Puts employees first. Terrific response to COVID including financial support for home offices, flexible working hours and mental health support. Senior Management gives us the autonomy and support to meet our objectives. Excellent team culture in Toronto. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Not of ton of downside at Xero. If I had to say one thing is we are a large global company which sometimes means decisions have to cross timezone which can slow things down but the company is focused on building out all functions in North America which should alleviate most of these concerns.

    Continue reading

    Xero Response

    August 7, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share this great feedback! We're delighted to hear that you're enjoying your experience at Xero, even when we're working apart for now. We can't wait to continue to grow our teams in Toronto and support our Xeros even more. ^CP

  6. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture and engineering challenges are fantastic

    Cons

    no cons to i can think of

    Xero Response

    August 7, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your review! We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying your experience at Xero and look forward to growing even more in the future. ^CP

  7. "If you’re a woman wanting a family, I wouldn’t recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, values, opportunities and people.

    Cons

    The maternity offering is awful. Xero only offer statutory pay. They offer you a bonus for returning but that’s no use after 9 months of struggle. They’ve said for a long time they’re reviewing this and want to support all types of parental leave (in the UK) but it’s one of those easy things for them to get away with leaving and they have. They’ll lose their good female employees to companies with better maternity offering eventually.

    Xero Response

    August 7, 2020

    Thank you so much for leaving this feedback. We want every Xero to feel supported and valued - both at work or on leave - and I'm so sorry to hear that wasn't your experience. I've escalated your review to our People Experience team so they can be aware of it as well. We hope to continue to build on our great culture and your feedback helps us do that. ^CP

  8. "A genuine human-led company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive General Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time

    Pros

    Great values, fast moving, successful

    Cons

    The world is still waiting for Xero!

    Xero Response

    July 10, 2020

    Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to see you're enjoying your experience at Xero! We look forward to growing with you in the future.

  9. "As good as people say"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications in Wellington, Wellington
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive culture. Flexible, professional. Smart people.

    Cons

    None! Really, coworkers are great. Leadership leads. Opportunities are plentiful.

    Xero Response

    July 10, 2020

    Thank you for your review! Our #human value really shines through our people and we're proud of the Xero culture! ^CP

  10. COVID-19

    "Amazing people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Wellington, Wellington
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Heaps of amazing, talented people to work with. A strong culture of empathy, kindness and support. Lots of room for growth. Doing some of the most interesting and challenging work I've ever done. Leadership's response to Covid has been outstanding.

    Cons

    Salaries aren't as high as you'd expect. Different groups and offices have different cultures and norms. We move slowly, very quickly. Not the place to be if you need hand-holding or don't like change.

    Continue reading
Found 416 reviews
</>Embed