Xilinx Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Xilinx Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Xilinx CEO Victor Peng
Victor Peng
3 Ratings
  1. "Overall nice place but team situations might vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -- Company stability -- Work quality ( complexity wise ) -- Compensation -- Work Life balance

    Cons

    -- Not much just the typical politics ( it is so ubiquitous in industry that it is no more a Con). I call it a different skill set that everyone must acquire to survive industry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep rocking !!

    Xilinx2013-06-02
  2. "Good place to work for long time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gives good value to employees. Good higher management

    Cons

    Bad facility management. HR is not much responisve

    Xilinx2013-04-18
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging environment, opportunity to work for futuristic products, great technologies, friendly environment

    Cons

    Software quality is not good, ample scope of improvements. Approach towards software development is now changing.

    Xilinx2012-11-16
  4. "Good Place, good work, but need more matured management team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx

    Pros

    Good work, decent pay , lots of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Poor and inexperienced mangement, lot of communication gap

    Advice to Management

    Inexperienced managers with micromangement attitude may cause downfall of otherwise brilliant company, top mangement should be tough enough to perform weeding.

    Xilinx2011-09-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, lots of perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Longmont, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, interesting work and innovative new products

    Cons

    Depending on your position you may have to work weekend, holidays.

    Xilinx2018-12-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "it is ok! but under pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx

    Pros

    good bonus and time off

    Cons

    under resource and time pressure on releasing

    Xilinx2017-01-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Work, work and work. Recover. Repeat."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very interesting cutting edge technology. Flexible hours. Some nice perks, like shares, canteen and gym.

    Cons

    Work life balance is out the window. You basically need to move mountains (and give almost your life to it) to get just ok raises/shares which don't reflect the growth and impact you've had anyway. On the other hand, doing a good job and meeting all your goals and even exceeding on one or more of them, may still have you at the lower end of the performance curve, getting negative feedback, and little to no... rewards. Feeling of autonomy and control is non-existent with the heavily controlled top-down approach ; made worse by conflicting and changing goals. To do well here, ask yourself "how can I please those who pull the strings" rather than "how can I actually fulfil my role as best as possible" which feels more natural to some of us as a guiding principle.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The vast vast majority of employees are doing a very solid job and putting in a lot. If you cannot do much about the stress and workload due to competition, then at least reward employees better. People doing a very job are leaving because they feel unappreciated. Ask yourself "How can I make our employees feel valued and empowered?" and go from there, and I'm sure you will have your answers. Now put it as one... of your own goals, and genuinely exceed on this goal (use realistic metrics to measure it).

    Show More
    Xilinx2014-06-20
  8. Helpful (5)

    "From one of the best100 companies to one of the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very interesting people. First years - a lot of fun, discussions, exchange of ideas. Scientific seminars, learning. I felt that management was interested in people

    Cons

    No promotions, no growth, not even single "Thank you" for job well done. Focal review has become humiliation lesson. Often your effort is evaluated inversely proportional to contribution. People start to leave company in masses.

    Advice to Management

    Save old culture if you can

    Xilinx2013-12-05
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Used to be a great company, now not so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary was top shelf, but has certainly leveled off. A leader in their industry. The company is profitable and has money to spend.

    Cons

    It is simply a grind. Do what you are told, hit deadlines, perform better than your peers, do it all again next review period. Do same thing next review period, except better. Impossible.

    Advice to Management

    Current pace is unsustainable. Good people are leaving due to unrealistic work environment.

    Xilinx2013-07-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Inexperienced and bad managers destroying 20 years of value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ok salary and profitability. Ok work-life balance.

    Cons

    Very incompetent and inexperienced management team in PPG running the show. People are used as step stones for these almost-corrupt folks to climb higher and higher. It is surprising how they keep fooling the highest management. The rank and file are filled up with goof-up and hush-up guys. There are admins, and then there are bad admins on high heels with management dsesignations. And then there are the swollen... face employees. Do yourself a favor. Get some other job that pays you 10-20% less, you will be happier. Unless you are of the above type.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just leave and never come back. The company needs a complete overhaul.

    Xilinx2013-05-23
Found 36 reviews