Xilinx Senior Staff Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Xilinx Senior Staff Engineer Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Xilinx CEO Victor Peng
Victor Peng
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "You boss will threaten to reduce your salary if you want to have personal leaving for vacation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you meet boss regard himself as the king, it will be a disaster. The manager want to control your life, ask you to work on the weekend, attend meeting in early morning or late evening. Even worse, when I want I have personal vacation, my boss told me “it seems your are rich. I will reduce your package and salary” Be careful, choose a good team and a good boss.

    Cons

    The pressure is less than other Asian technology company

    Advice to Management

    Watch out your managers, directors, and sr. director. Unreasonable requirement and high pressure management for the guy who has working experience for decades is not a smart way.

    Xilinx2019-04-22
  2. Helpful (7)

    "sr staff engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I think one of the highest benefit of working in Xilinx is that the company are stable and it does not have a lot of organization changes. Salary and stock benefit are decent for semiconductor company.

    Cons

    I do not like the high pressure in the environment. A lot of directors and vice presidents and they come constantly monitor progress and ask to pull in schedule. Outsourcing constrains headcount they hires in the U.S. and organization in the US does not grow.

    Advice to Management

    I would advice management to hire more engineers to do the work itself and promote less directors and VPs. Stop the outsourcing, it is demoralizing people.

    Xilinx2016-04-24
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Still Toxic After all These Years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Staff Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx

    Pros

    Good benefits/compensation, cool technology, good location

    Cons

    "Do more with Less" is status quo. Competitive environment fosters distrust. The "Old Boy" network is very much in play, and it's not what you know it's who's on your side. Still moving entire operations offshore (India mainly), meaning whole teams getting axed for larger, cheaper teams in India. You can NOT trust management, because they don't trust you.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees. If you're moving a team offshore, talk to the team that's losing their positions. It worked when Operations moved to Singapore, but you refuse to trust long-time employees will work with you on a transition.

    Xilinx2015-06-25
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be a great company, now not so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary was top shelf, but has certainly leveled off. A leader in their industry. The company is profitable and has money to spend.

    Cons

    It is simply a grind. Do what you are told, hit deadlines, perform better than your peers, do it all again next review period. Do same thing next review period, except better. Impossible.

    Advice to Management

    Current pace is unsustainable. Good people are leaving due to unrealistic work environment.

    Xilinx2013-07-18
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great technology, good salary, bad work life balance and terrible upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Xilinx has some outstanding talent and cutting edge technology. If you are single, enjoy really complex and interesting problems to solve and don't mind insane workloads, this place has some interesting opportunities. Compensation is good for the area as long as you don't divide by the number of hours actually worked.

    Cons

    This is no longer a culture of open and fun innovation that anyone can participate in. Shareholder returns rule everything. Management pushes engineers on insane schedules burning out even the best of the best. There is a frequent "raise the bar" reference from upper management which means great work will be punished by tightening the thumbscrews on your next set of goals. Management appreciates "Yes" men and... quietly removes those that disagree or voice other opinions. This corporation is a perfect Peter Principle case study with a lot of the promoted incompetence weighing down from the senior director and above levels. Upper management does not value employees and treats them as expendable. This is NOT a good place to consider for employment as a software engineer if you are married, have outside commitments, or generally expect a life outside of work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make a complete U-turn and focus resources on employees, not kissing shareholder behinds. You may be surprised how this actually converts into a nice long term return on your investment. This company is capable of far more than it is achieving if you simply invest big time in your employees. There is a very good reason the CEO approval rating is so low, go understand why and fix it.

    Xilinx2013-03-18
  6. Helpful (4)

    "CEO and cronies only view staff as means to maximise their option values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance Nice people to work with Lots of parking onsite gym and exercise classes are a bonus

    Cons

    clueless senior management no promotion opportunities if not in HQ do staff surveys then "normalise" the results to ignore real concerns

    Advice to Management

    Leave now to save the company

    Xilinx2013-02-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The company has great potential, but I'm rotting on the vine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Staff Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx

    Pros

    Xilinx is a company filled with high-caliber people making great products. The recent restructuring has succeeded in establishing a culture of accountability and performance.

    Cons

    A divide has developed between the executive levels and all other employees. There is a sense of "them" and "us." There is a sense that while employee input is considered, there is never a true dialogue. Trust between the levels has broken down.

    Advice to Management

    Directors and above: simply walk around and talk to people. Drop into their cubes and chat. This is all it would take to repair the damaged trust -- actual conversations. Roundtables are a joke.

    Xilinx2011-12-01
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Mgmt acts like you should feel lucky you have a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Staff Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx

    Pros

    Leading technology and FPGA product company

    Cons

    Treat employees like they are lucky they have a job in the Bay Area. Use looming threat of moving your job offshore to emphasize the point. Pay for performance just means more politics and promotes a cut-throat mentality. Mor

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourselves

    Xilinx2011-12-18
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Xilinx Today"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Staff Engineer in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx

    Pros

    Extraordinarily talented engineering staff. Cutting edge technology keeps things very interesting. Peer interactions are amicable and new ideas are well received.

    Cons

    Nowhere even close the same place it was years ago. "New" management has turned Xilinx culture to a numbers game and too much has been off shored leading to morale issues in all departments. Too much following of a single competitor limits creativity.

    Xilinx2011-09-19
  10. "A once complacent company is now cutting edge and exciting again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Staff Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx

    Pros

    Before we pressed Ctrl-Alt-Delete on our Senior Management team, Xilinx was complacent and drifting. We had many fiefdoms and overlapping functional groups, an oscillating and ever-expanding product direction, and hundreds of employees at all levels who were on "cruise control." Our competition was eating our lunch, Difficult and painful as it was, we have rid ourselves of the business-as-usual contingent... within the organization. Our new management team comes from all over the Semiconductor space, including ASICs, GPUs, and EDA. They have proven that they are more than capable of picking up on the unique challenges of the programmable business - our leadership at 28nm is a testament to this fact. Our previous CEO was cashing in multi-million dollar option grants on a regular basis. What did he care? In contrast, our new CEO and his team are hungry for success just like the rest of us. Our new product direction and goals are aggressive yet at the same time sensible and attainable. Our customers are picking up on our new-found mojo and recognizing us as technical leaders again. I'm tired of all the whining about how Xilinx is no longer a "happy place to work." Yes, we used to score very high on those fluffy surveys, but frankly I don't want to work for a company where "everybody wins." This industry is competitive. Non-performers must be replaced by performers. We have streamlined and re-invented the company, and we are now scoring high on technical leadership, innovation, execution, and profitability, not warm and fuzzy employee happiness surveys. I'm very excited about the future of Xilinx.

    Show More

    Cons

    I think there is a limit to how successful we can be. We are worth 7-8 billion now. If we execute, maybe we'll be worth 12-15 billion. That of course would be great for all of us stock holders, but then what? Unless we make a revolutionary breakthrough, the programmable logic market will remain a niche. Also, we've hired so many talented people that now it is hard to reward them all. That's the downside of... grading on a curve. The economic downturn has helped us recruit and retain top talent, but if that changes, then what?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just keep doing what you're doing. Focus on execution but make sure we save a little budget for innovation. And please, don't take this off-shoring thing too far. Some is good, but too much could be disastrous.

    Xilinx2011-09-09
Found 26 reviews