Xilinx Staff Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Xilinx Staff Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Xilinx CEO Victor Peng
Victor Peng
4 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Adaptable to latest technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent company with very positive revenue growth 100% work life balance Talented and experienced management Employee friendly and career focused

    Cons

    Nothing much to say Little hard to grow in faster pace

    Xilinx2018-08-15
  2. "very good, and scope for learning new technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Design Engineer in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    XIlinx is a company that en cashes the candidate situation. not always good for the company. generally the hiring happens based on local candidature, to encash as much as possible

    Cons

    dirty politics at Sr management level.. micor management of Sr management in every small issue too much work pressure very less people get to do quality work at Hyderabad-- dont get in to hiring trap

    Advice to Management

    control dirty politics and reward to the people who work for company.. not for persons.

    Xilinx2013-10-24
  3. "Work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to Work environment

    Cons

    Not much can think of

    Xilinx2019-06-16
  4. "Solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Longmont, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good environment and people to work with.

    Cons

    Behind on Software tech at times. More concentration on hardware design than software

    Xilinx2019-05-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "You boss will threaten to reduce your salary if you want to have personal leaving for vacation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you meet boss regard himself as the king, it will be a disaster. The manager want to control your life, ask you to work on the weekend, attend meeting in early morning or late evening. Even worse, when I want I have personal vacation, my boss told me “it seems your are rich. I will reduce your package and salary” Be careful, choose a good team and a good boss.

    Cons

    The pressure is less than other Asian technology company

    Advice to Management

    Watch out your managers, directors, and sr. director. Unreasonable requirement and high pressure management for the guy who has working experience for decades is not a smart way.

    Xilinx2019-04-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Burns people out, but some may like it that way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bleeding edge technology Nice working environment Talented engineers

    Cons

    San Jose hours + India hours + weekends Lots of drum beating, very little support Lots of hacking, push tough problems to later (or the next guy)

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff when they ask for help, *and* do something about it.

    Xilinx2018-12-28
  7. "1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance.. Cool company

    Cons

    Not good pay for bay area

    Advice to Management

    Increase salaries for Bay area expenses

    Xilinx2017-11-28
  8. "Staff Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work ethics, Competitive salary, Good work and life balance, Great p o t e n t i a l

    Cons

    X i l i n x should innovate more in this competitive semiconductor market. Provide more incentive to those work hard for them

    Advice to Management

    Be active while confident!

    Xilinx2017-05-12
  9. Helpful (7)

    "sr staff engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I think one of the highest benefit of working in Xilinx is that the company are stable and it does not have a lot of organization changes. Salary and stock benefit are decent for semiconductor company.

    Cons

    I do not like the high pressure in the environment. A lot of directors and vice presidents and they come constantly monitor progress and ask to pull in schedule. Outsourcing constrains headcount they hires in the U.S. and organization in the US does not grow.

    Advice to Management

    I would advice management to hire more engineers to do the work itself and promote less directors and VPs. Stop the outsourcing, it is demoralizing people.

    Xilinx2016-04-24
  10. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Design Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good work cutting edge technology

    Cons

    salary sucks. work life balance is question

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro management

    Xilinx2016-03-19
Found 82 reviews