YRC Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

YRC Worldwide Reviews

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 166 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
YRC Worldwide CEO Darren Hawkins
Darren Hawkins
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Open opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight and Research Coordinator in Conley, GA
    Recommends

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to grow within YRC is awesome

    Cons

    Working as a manager within a union terminal. Different atmosphere where union members gets a pass on doing things that are unethical. I wish I would've chose to work within the Corporate office in Kansas.

    YRC Worldwide2019-05-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful co-workers and a decent manager go a long way

    Cons

    The opportunities for advancement are little to none, the first job opportunity since the glint servay that recognized there is no work life balance or advancement within the company required 18 hour availability 6 days a week. Corporate is a joke and upper management is untrustworthy and disorganized.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest, don't lie about opportunities that do not exist and make an effort to create jobs people want verses ones they feel trapped into staying at until something better comes along.

    YRC Worldwide2019-04-07
  3. "Growing day by day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer II in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers are amazing. The people that I work with on a day to day basis are absolutely wonderful to be around. The culture that I find at YRCW is great. There are so many resourceful people and they are willing to help. We have a collaborative environment and use the Agile methodology. YRCW as a company isngooe to work for. They seem to be interested in what we as employees think and they actively work on the feedback...

    Show More

    Cons

    The PMO team needs structure. They don't understand what we as application developers do. Some don't care to learn the technical side of things and I feel that's very important.

    YRC Worldwide2019-03-13
  4. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Getting paid weekly on time

    Cons

    Putting up with bad attitudes and work habits

    YRC Worldwide2018-12-02
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Floundering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Analyst in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the people were fairly nice. Onsite cafeteria was good. Easy job to coast to retirement on which is what most people were doing. 40 hour weeks are the norm unless something extraordinary happens. You'll have to be on call sometimes though.

    Cons

    No or miniscule raises (1 or 2 %) and very inconsistent. Lousy benefits. Without raises, management's only tool to motivate was fear. Layoffs would come without warning. Also they're currently being sued by the Justice department for fraud and are under investigation by their investors. Some unprofessional behavior like the manager who tried to convert me to Christianity. There's also a lot of seemingly random changes...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raises are part of the cost of doing business and should be tied to employee not company performance. Otherwise you'll continue to lose young talent as soon as they find something better.

    YRC Worldwide2018-12-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "3pl Operations Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3pl Customer Support in Urbandale, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. Dedicated team. Very professional and driven. Profit-sharing

    Cons

    I really can't think of any.

    YRC Worldwide2018-10-21
  7. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very good company to work for. Operational Leadership, is very dedicated to customers, and ensuring employees understand the needs. Employees, have a team mentality. The drivers are customer focused, and care about the company.

    Cons

    High turnover, at this location, with Account Executive positions, and includes the regional Leadership. Regional Sales, VP, ETC. Customers comment on this issue, and view it as instability.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to Lead, and invest in employees.

    YRC Worldwide2018-08-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "BULLIES!!!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Medical insurance is the only good thing

    Cons

    Don't ask for help from the HR department, they will not help you unless it benefits them. If you try and get any answers or documentation from them they will cry harassment, because you asked them to do their job. Next thing you know, you get a call from the legal department saying they did an investigation, but of course without any input from you. Either way no help for you. To bad the previous legal attorney retired....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train current employees in your HR department to be helpful and not bullies. Or cut your losses and hire people who know how to be human. Just sayin

    YRC Worldwide2018-09-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Road drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Road Driver in Copley, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Honestly Their are none. Sad.

    Cons

    No home time management. Are very dishonest.lowest paid in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Terminate the old management, they don't know what they are doing very poor manage

    YRC Worldwide2018-09-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It pays the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at YRC Worldwide

      Pros

      Because the shop is not Union all mechanics get employer payed health care

      Cons

      To many chiefs and not enough Indians. Most co-workers are more than willing to throw you under the bus.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to the guys ideas on the floor. Up to date training for new equipment and let others have the opportunity to do diffrent kinda of work.

      YRC Worldwide2018-05-13
    Found 166 reviews