YRC Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

YRC Worldwide Reviews

Updated 13 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
55%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
YRC Worldwide President and Chief Operating Officer  Darren Hawkins
Darren Hawkins
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Corporate is a joke and upper management is untrustworthy and disorganized(in 13 reviews)

  • "Long hours And No family life(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job very rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - City Planner/Dispatcher?supervisor in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YRC Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Great people and results sastifing

    Cons

    Working weekends and working nights

    YRC Worldwide2020-01-13
  2. "The job is always interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pricing Analyst in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Chance to have great impact

    Cons

    Work environment is sometimes chaotic.

    YRC Worldwide2020-01-10
  3. "Database developer/Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Developer in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work from home flexibility and good pay

    Cons

    change in management difficult to know job responsibilities

    YRC Worldwide2020-01-06
  4. "Day to day work office."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility with scheduling.

    Cons

    May get loud at times. Same duty every day.

    Advice to Management

    Probably fewer meetings.

    YRC Worldwide2019-12-01
  5. "You can probably find a better job at another company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Revenue Specialist in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Health Insurance. Flexible Hours, relaxed dress code.

    Cons

    Low wages. Worked in collections dept for 4 1/2 yrs. Received 1 merit raise, and 3 across the board percentage increases i.e. 2% of base salary. Bonus was mostly unachievable. When this company needs to meet their numbers they do and will take from their employees, it has become a bad habit. AND, this company is top heavy with managers because they layoff the little people that do the work, just in my opinion. Company hires managers from outside the company, does not move proven employees up the ladder.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop protecting the bad managers. It has hurt the company and cost people their jobs. Increase wages to attract qualified people to the hourly positions.

    YRC Worldwide2019-12-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "YRCW suspended 401K match and Bonuses currently and for first quarter 2020"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Start our sales if you have no experience in Sales or Freight

    Cons

    No work life balance, software out of date, micro managing, no real collaboration, management does not care about the customer or the employee only the numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Care about losing customers, care about your employees. Taking more and more away from the hardworking employees to save the company.

    YRC Worldwide2019-11-22
  7. "Forklift operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dock Worker in Kearny, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good job and good pay

    Cons

    Good place to work

    Advice to Management

    Good management

    YRC Worldwide2019-08-15
  8. "Open opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight and Research Coordinator in Conley, GA
    Recommends

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to grow within YRC is awesome

    Cons

    Working as a manager within a union terminal. Different atmosphere where union members gets a pass on doing things that are unethical. I wish I would've chose to work within the Corporate office in Kansas.

    YRC Worldwide2019-05-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful co-workers and a decent manager go a long way

    Cons

    The opportunities for advancement are little to none, the first job opportunity since the glint servay that recognized there is no work life balance or advancement within the company required 18 hour availability 6 days a week. Corporate is a joke and upper management is untrustworthy and disorganized.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest, don't lie about opportunities that do not exist and make an effort to create jobs people want verses ones they feel trapped into staying at until something better comes along.

    YRC Worldwide2019-04-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Growing day by day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer II in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers are amazing. The people that I work with on a day to day basis are absolutely wonderful to be around. The culture that I find at YRCW is great. There are so many resourceful people and they are willing to help. We have a collaborative environment and use the Agile methodology. YRCW as a company isngooe to work for. They seem to be interested in what we as employees think and they actively work on the feedback we give. Pay is decent, could be better of course. Benefits are better than I have had at other places

    Show More

    Cons

    The PMO team needs structure. They don't understand what we as application developers do. Some don't care to learn the technical side of things and I feel that's very important.

    YRC Worldwide2019-03-13
Found 173 reviews