Yahoo India "bangalore" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Yahoo India Employee Reviews about "bangalore"

Updated 24 Apr 2016

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Yahoo India Managing Director Arun Tadanki
Arun Tadanki
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have been working at Yahoo from last 3 years and its been great I have been having good work life balance(in 47 reviews)

  • "Work culture is awesome, lot of benifits(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "None of the Product development work happens in Bangalore(in 12 reviews)

  • "Job security was an issue and a good amount of time was spent over weekly and bi-weekly meetings(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "bangalore"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Yahoo India

    Pros

    Good people around you. Company takes care of the employee. Good pay and stocks. Free food, free cab, phones and mac etc. Good work life balance. Hack days are fun.

    Cons

    In my BU atleast one has to advertise yourself to get recognition. New review system is not good for who can't advertise yourself. I am not saying this for entire company. Future of Bangalore centre at this point of time (jan 2014) is uncertain.

    Continue reading
    Yahoo India2014-01-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not a great company for Techies anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Build & Release Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo India full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of freebies, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    It was a great place to work for techies many years ago. None of the Product development work happens in Bangalore. There's practically nothing for the techies in Bangalore office. All that's required is to maintain some of the older platforms from Bangalore whereas the teams in Sunnyvale gets to work on cutting edge technologies

    Continue reading
    Yahoo India2016-04-24
  3. "Not much oppurtunities in India"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Yahoo India full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much work, so you have a pretty relaxed job ( if that is a pro).

    Cons

    Not much of the core development happens in Bangalore office

    Continue reading
    Yahoo India2015-08-11
  4. "no more a product development center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Yahoo India full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    challenging work environment work culture flexible timings if you are not part of support team benefits stock units free food and transportation

    Cons

    there is no development work going at Bangalore center one side good people are leaving the company due to bad appraisal system and the other side company is firing people in the name of restructure above mentioned pros are useless if you are end up with joining in wrong team or reporting to wrong manager

    Yahoo India2015-04-15
  5. "A great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo India full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every day we face a new technical challenge whose solution needs to be invented on the fly.Some of the technologies that we develop become part of this modern era.

    Cons

    With changes in leadership things were not moving fast or in one direction . I hear very positive things after Ms MM took over.However, it has not worked for Bangalore(though its good)

    Yahoo India2014-10-13
  6. "Fun to work, unsure of the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo India for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Work culture is awesome. 2. The cafeteria is huge. Game rooms, gym, breakout areas, etc also helps. 3. I liked working in big data framework in Yahoo. It is a prime contributor to the hadoop project.

    Cons

    1. Hiring has been frozen since last year in the Bangalore centre. This cannot bode well for a company.

    Continue reading
    Yahoo India2014-08-09
  7. "Fun but slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager - Product Development in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo India full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I met really great people both technically and attitude-wise while working at Yahoo both in bangalore and at head quarters (Sunnyvale, CA). I get to learn a lot while working with my colleagues

    Cons

    With changes in leadership things were not moving fast or in one direction. I hear very positive things after Ms MM took over. However, it has not worked for better in Bangalore (though good for the overall company i hear)

    Continue reading
    Yahoo India2014-07-28
  8. "Yahoo is loosing focus and Bangalore is loosing projects and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Lead in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo India full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Great people to work with Liberty to explore things Open culture and no cabins

    Cons

    No long term focus Bangalore is loosing projects to US. May be a strategy to consolidate everything in US Firing indirectly in the name of performance Not much growth

    Continue reading
    Yahoo India2014-07-08
  9. "Great company to work in bangalore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo India

    Pros

    Great company to work in bangalore

    Cons

    company can have more products developed from Bangalore

    Yahoo India2013-06-20
  10. "Yahoo! India review- Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Quality Enginear in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Yahoo India full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great learning opportunity and amazing employee perks

    Cons

    Bangalore traffic is very difficult to tackle , making the commute to office very difficult

    Continue reading
    Yahoo India2013-02-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews