Yell Digital Account Manager Reviews

Updated 27 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
Yell UK CEO  Claire Miles
Claire Miles
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good opportunity if only it was fair"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money to be earnt, focus on staff is good

    Cons

    Very unfair, certain people get all the advantages Moral low ‘It’s not what you know, it’s who you know’

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    September 30, 2019Telesales Director

    We appreciate your feedback. The Premise Digital Account Manager role has had a significant number of changes to support our customer contact strategy, one of which, is that each customer now has a Relationship Manager. This now means the role of Premise is to take the opportunity to engage more with potential new to Yell customers, rather than servicing existing. We have listened to the feedback from a recent engagement exercise and some of this will be featuring in our Quarter 3 plans to support our People.

  2. "Fun place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Account Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Do a good job and you'll have alot of fun. Early finish at 2pm on fridays.

    Cons

    Waiting for lifts in the morning

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    June 28, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. I glad you enjoy the early Fridays finishes this was introduced a few years ago after listening to feedback from our people.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "***NO LONGER A CAREER***"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Account Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Basic is high but targets are unachievable for the majority, nice car.

    Cons

    Managers offer no flexibility and very little support Constant staff turnover Unachievable targets Same old people hitting targets due to relationships and fed diaries from Belfast, nobody new stands a chance Poor fuel policy with expectations of long journeys Expectation to sell to current clients even if they do not need anything extra KPI's are unachievable for most, leads given to you are poor Check your final wage slip they like taking money off you for no reason It was disappointing to the company change so much, they are too focused on trying to grow current customers rather that new business.

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    July 15, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. We have under gone a lot of changes in the Premise role recently to focus more on growth and prospecting rather than account management, as this is now looked after by the Customer Relationship Manager assigned to the account. We recognise that this will be a big change for some of our face to face colleagues and to support we have recently trained all our people on the Challenger sales model, which we are already hearing great news stories from our customers experience, as well as our own people when using it. When you add this to the market leading products, great partnerships with Apple, Google, Facebook and Bing, we have a great formula to support our customers whether they are looking to grow or just simply maintain their business and our sales people to offer a solution that is right for them.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "DAM role - Decent rewards but long hours and massive issues with offshore depts."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Digital Account Manager in Birmingham, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent basic, bonus and BMW car (or allowance), as well as pension scheme.

    Cons

    The field sales roles are utterly stressful 1) 10 hour+ days with heavy traffic to see the mandatory 4-5 appointments per day, and to find time and enthusiasm and planning ready to sell more digital portfolio, when in reality many of the customers actually wanted to cancel their DDs for advertising they perceived wasn't working. 2) Micro diary management - I actually had my line manager asking one day why my last appointment was 3.30pm - bearing in mind it was usually 1hr+ appointment and travel time of a minimum of 1 hour to get home! 3) The absurd inability for either Scarborough or Manila call centres to be able to build properly and amend the hugely over-priced (£3.5k for a Duda website!!!) for our customers. I actually had a Scarborough staff member in tears on the phone to me when asking for content updates for a client's new build website. Yell's challenging performance targets means staff are on occasion treated as statistics and all humanity seems to be forgotten. 4) The enormous 40% margins for managing sub-£2k PPC Google Ads campaigns. Yell's culture is to hide the margins from clients and simply present a 'sign here' box on the laptop with total spend rather than transparency - this didn't sit well with me and many cancellations ensued when they realised that £400 of their £1k per month PPC budget was actually going to Yell for management fees. 5) The poor Manila-served PPC management meaning that the Spotzer software used had so many errors and glitches and broad match keywords wasting client's budgets. PPC cancellations alone were running at around 50% ... In summary the DAM role as it stands is more of a fire-fighting, 'keep the customers paying their DD' service role rather than a sales role. We even had to 'self gen' photos while driving (ILLEGAL!) for Belfast to try to convert into sales leads, with regular bollockings if we hadn't sent lots of data in... Management focus was all about what business have you increased / sold today and very very little support with avoiding cancellations. Lots of wine and certificates and bonuses for sales made to new clients which was the easy part, but no consideration for the overwhelming majority of the DAM role's challenge which was to solve tech issues with the existing client base we managed. As the face of Yell, customer-facing staff NEED the time, tools and ability to be able to take ownership and solve the many issues clients have which is essential to retain them. Instead it's all about the revenue and no time or even tolerance is given for solving issues and they are simply fobbed off to a call centre. Yellouts were often the only way of getting ongoing problems fixed once and forall, and I on many occasions felt embarased to be representing the Yell brand with paying clients who simply were not getting the service they deserved.

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    May 5, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review and the time you worked with us. I want to reassure you we have done a lot recently around management and the culture they create and we will continue to work with our Managers to ensure they are looking after their people. Starting from April everyone will be scoring their Managers on their leadership so we will have transparency and can then ensure that we have the right training to support. To support the DAM's and our Customers to ensure they do get the right level of service we have firstly increased our headcount in our Inlife department so we now have significantly more CRM's (Customer Relationship Managers) to allow more opportunity to pro-actively contact our Customers. Secondly we have now created a new role in what was our Collections and I & R department and all the People are currently going through a training programme to support them in their new role as Customer Retentions. I hope this reassures you that we are listening as some of the changes have come from our People feedback.

  5. "Great Interview Process & Early Training Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional, technology, L&D is fantastic, real commitment to their people.

    Cons

    None experienced so far, will update if required.

    Continue reading
  6. "Digital Account Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Efficiencies 2. Everyday is different 3. Potential to earn great salary 4. Great team environment - Very motivating 5 Being an integral part of the largest digital agency in the UK!

    Cons

    Work and private life balance

    Yell Response

    July 31, 2018Head of Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to hear that you enjoy your role and the environment you work in! We would always encourage our colleagues to speak to their Line Manager about any concerns with work-life balance. We wish you a long and happy career with us!

  7. "Digital Account Manager - Excited new starter"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unbelievable On-Boarding process. I've never seen anything like it. Before even starting I had an 8 week intensive training schedule, meticulously planned out. The bonuses appear to come from every angle and whilst It's no walk in the park, they feel very generous and achievable. Everyone I've met in the company so far from management to the trainers to other employees seem to have a great attitude and are always willing to help rather than a dog-eat-dog approach. The Yell employee discount/rewards are unreal as well. Literally every shop/store/cinema etc you can think of is on there.

    Cons

    There is a different application or process for everything. It's a little overwhelming at first. I come from a technical background so I found I grasped the different applications quite comfortably but I can understand how it can be daunting for some new and current employees. The training however is second to none and they don't expect you to come out of the gate running. It's made very clear that you can't no everything after the training.

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    July 11, 2018Director of Customer Operations

    Thank you for this review! Its so great to hear you have been so well supported within your new role and I'm so glad you are finding so many benefits and rewards for all your hard work. We pride ourselves on rewarding excellent employees and nurturing new talent. I'd encourage you to continue to take advantage of all our training opportunities and always discuss with your line manager anything you need further support with. I wish you a long and happy career with us at Yell!

  8. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support, opportunities & benefits

    Cons

    Alot to learn initially, lots of systems

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    July 11, 2018Director of Customer Operations

    Thank you for this review! I'm so happy to hear you feel supported in your role and are making the most of all our opportunities and benefits! We appreciate this is a fast-paced company and I'd encourage you to make the most of all our training sessions and courses. Please discuss with your line manager should you feel you require any further support within your role. I hope you continue to enjoy your career with us at Yell!

  9. "Value & Earning Potential"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great earning potetnial / feel valued / freedom to manage territory in the way that works for me as long as I'm doing the job / good benefits / plenty of incentives

    Cons

    Long hours ... but if you want the big bucks :)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Account Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great Products for our clients that produce amazing results. As an employee all the support you could ever need is at your fingertips

    Cons

    I cant actually think of any

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    February 20, 2018Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thanks for your review and the positive feedback you have provided. It is clear that Yell is doing a lot of things right from your perspective, and that you are happy to be with us. I completely agree we have a strong product portfolio which is continually improving and growing, this is an exciting time for us. We wish you all the best for your continued career.

Found 43 reviews