Yodel "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Yodel Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 16 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Yodel CEO Andrew Peeler  (no image)
Andrew Peeler
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "I always look forward to coming to work and that's because of the great people here(in 8 reviews)

  • "parcels a day to to my house which works out around(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, coffee machine produced drinks that had a hint of pickled cabbage(in 7 reviews)

  • "priority given to employed drivers whilst self employed couriers are given what's left(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Disorganised, every man got himself. 1/5"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Courier in Newton Abbot, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yodel for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to go home at the end of the day?

    Cons

    No training Tricky Handheld device for scanning parcels Night manager is abusive Long, long hours. No appreciation for hard work

    Continue reading
    Yodel2019-05-17
  2. "Can be very challenging work !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Agency Driver in Newton Abbot, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yodel for less than a year

    Pros

    Bag deliveries and Pallet runs...a lot cushier.

    Cons

    Long hours. Waiting for ages to load vans. Scanners breaking . Surly night shift manager. Silly amounts of parcels. Unrealistic expectations. Yodel have got an awful reputation amongst Agency drivers. I would only do the Pallet runs and Bag drops ,as the normal multidrop work was just ridiculous. I'm also ex-HR so I can easily spot poor working conditions. Parcels are treated like footballs by the staff. Kicked and thrown around with little regard. A lot of the drivers were virtually Neanderthals, bordering on feral.

    Continue reading
    Yodel2018-10-15
  3. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Yodel full-time

    Pros

    Ample Parking, free beer on Fridays, comfortable chairs, attractive co-workers.

    Cons

    Long hours, coffee machine produced drinks that had a hint of pickled cabbage.

    Continue reading
    Yodel2018-05-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Section leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Section Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yodel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I can't think of any at the moment

    Cons

    Long hours low pay and will muck you about

    Continue reading
    Yodel2017-11-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Over worked, underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Selby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yodel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Other drivers were friendly and helpful, easy to get on with. Fuel and insurance on van paid for. Route was easy enough once learnt

    Cons

    Long hours for very little pay, definitely not enough to support a family on. Had to fight to have time off with family or for doctors appointments for my newborn baby. No chance of having a sick day, I've worked throwing up because I couldn't afford to lose money. No holiday, if you need time off that's at your own loss. Management seem to have no or very little understanding of health and safety in the workplace. Spillages were left until depot was empty or just left in general, heavy deliveries sometimes in excess of 50kg expect to be delivered on your own with no equipment, parcels specified on the box as 2 man lifts were expected to be delivered on your own. Lack of help and support, fined for deliveries being late even if it's due to uncontrollable circumstances. Fined for deliveries being early, so no chance of an early finish. Very long days, starting at 6am and sometimes not finishing until 8-9pm. Driving hour laws ignored. Poorly organised depot, sometimes being over filled with vans in a morning. Not enough space to load van safely. Fighting for loading space. Rude and disrespectful management. Accused of lying when I've told them I can't safely take extra parcels as I don't have room. Parcels physically thrown into cages and damaged parcels simply taped up without inspecting contents for damage. All in all not a great place to work

    Continue reading
    Yodel2017-07-06
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yodel for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are great, passionate and dedicated to providing great customer experiences.

    Cons

    Long hours which can impact on work life balance if you let it.

    Continue reading
    Yodel2016-02-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be a good company not any more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Dartford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yodel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    all i can say: its a job

    Cons

    long hours heavy parcels and low pay.

    Continue reading
    Yodel2014-05-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews