Yodel "self employed" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Yodel Employee Reviews about "self employed"

Updated 14 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Yodel CEO Andrew Peeler  (no image)
Andrew Peeler
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "I always look forward to coming to work and that's because of the great people here(in 8 reviews)

  • "parcels a day to to my house which works out around(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, coffee machine produced drinks that had a hint of pickled cabbage(in 7 reviews)

  • "The drivers - I feel so sorry for the self employed drivers(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "self employed"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Uncertainty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Neighbourhood Courier in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yodel for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working outside, not in one place.

    Cons

    Parcel amounts uncertainty, future work uncertainty, disregard for any long serving contractors, if they can get someone cheaper they may well do that as they have no legal commitment to you as self employed

    Continue reading
    Yodel2019-01-14
  2. "The company of opportunity !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Centre Manager in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yodel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staring as a self employed same day driver, I was given great opportunities to progress, moving to become an employed operations manager and eventually Service Centre Manager. I was invited to relocate to run one of Yodel's biggest sites and brought my family to live in a beautiful part of Scotland. The pace of change in Yodel is blistering and one of the most rewarding things for me is that I am not just an implementer, but actually get input into new ways of working and continuous improvement. Quite simply, for me, Yodel is home

    Cons

    Logistics is a challenging environment and none more so than Yodel but then I love a challenge !

    Yodel2018-05-03

    Yodel Response

    May 9, 2018Head of Resourcing

    Hi there, This review has made my month; an individual who started as a driver now in a senior Operations role. No further comments needed. Best Ben Head of Resourcing

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Time to lift the lid on this lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Neighbourhood Courier in Gateshead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yodel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There used to be some pro's virtually all removed by constant changes in working practices, flexibility, pay was ok, used to get parcels dropped at house, never had to work weekends. All those have gone now.

    Cons

    So called self-employed contract, which is basically being an employee without any of the benefits of employment legislation and all the drawbacks of being an employee. After 6 years working for them I have just had my contract terminated with no notice, due to some unsubstantiated negative "feedback" for 2 deliveries!! Similar thing happened to 3 other drivers at my depot recently, one of whom was sacked for taking time off for suffering with pluresy. Have worked the last 4 weeks with a broken toe, and on many other occasions have worked when ill as of course you don't get sick pay or holiday pay but are expected to work 6 days a week. Never had a pay rise in all 6 years, and had a pay cut 2 years ago when they brought in their ridiculous "blended rate". Its like something out of a Dickens novel. Glad I'm out of it now, already had and accepted two job offers because I've got a good reputation as a hard worker. AVOID.

    Continue reading
    Yodel2018-02-16

    Yodel Response

    April 19, 2018Head of Resourcing

    Good morning, First of all thanks for taking the time out to review your experience with Yodel. As previously discussed we are looking at our overall people strategy which of course covers employed and self-employed opportunities and ways of working. In addition we are also improving how we engage with our teams to ensure everyone's experience is a positive one. I would be keen to hear your thoughts in more detail around this - my email is ben.gledhill@yodel.co.uk. Look forward to hearing from you. Best Ben Head of Resourcing

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid at all costs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Self Employed Driver in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yodel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Most drivers are friendly and willing to help you out, same with most of the warehouse staff. - If you're employed you get overtime at 1.25 over 45 hours. - There's a union.

    Cons

    - Staff turnover: Ridiculous amount of people leaving for better jobs, simple as that. - Paying to be sick or go on holiday: If you're sick or going on a holiday, it's going to cost you £175 per day for the privilege. - Technology: Drivers get given old Motorola scanners that just aren't fit for purpose and frequently don't work or freeze just as you get a signature for delivery. - Time slots: Yodel do use 2 hour time slots, but just for the drivers, the customers most of the time don't know when their parcel will arrive but the drivers still have to stick to their own 2 hour slots, pointless! - Pay and fines: Self-employed drivers get overworked and paid a pitiful amount per parcel, about 60p for most areas, and then you can expect to get at least a few £10 fines thrown at you as well, mostly for failing to keep to the 2 hour time slots customers know nothing about. - Management: Some of the managers are friendly and will try and help you out if you can't take the usual 100+ parcels for some reason, but upper management in the depot are practically useless, we never see them unless they have something to complain about. - Working a 6 day week, every week all year.

    Continue reading
    Yodel2017-11-02
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Don't let the great location of the nice office fool you, avoid this company at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yodel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great location and nice office at Liverpool's Albert Dock. The job role also provided some travel opportunities throughout the UK

    Cons

    I really don't know where to start. I had a desk based job and contracted to work 9-5.30pm. This only happened a handful of times. The hours are long. Sometimes you had to work 12 hour days, oh and don't expect to be paid any overtime or get the time back in lieu, this was just expected for you to work this long. The director of the team was a bully with unrealistic deadlines and with no care or respect for his team. There was a culture of fear within the team. There was no work/life balance. My line manager was very inexperienced in general management and also my job role. Tasks did not make sense, were not clear and a lot of time was needlessly wasted. If you were an employee who had been transferred over from HDNL (Home Delivery Network) these seem to be better treated by management and in general, had better terms and conditions in their contracts. HR (who call themselves 'people services') lock themselves away on the top floor of the office and you need to have your finger print scanned to meet face to face with them, which only a select few have access. Everyone else needs to contact them by filling out a web based form or by telephone. I don't understand the logic of this, especially when you are in the same building as them. The drivers - I feel so sorry for the self employed drivers. They are the laughing stock of the directors and management. Everyone knows they don't get enough pay to live on and have to work insane hours and bend over backwards to actually be able to live on the money they earn. They are the backbone of the business. Yodel you are a parcel delivery company, it's time to show the delivery drivers some respect. The amount of times the directors and management would be detrimental to the drivers in meetings with rude and disgusting remarks behind their backs was on a weekly and sometimes daily basis. All whilst the directors and management are on their bumper salary pay.

    Continue reading
    Yodel2017-05-01
  6. "Yodel do not look after the deliveries very well 8/10 times customers parcels are damage due to the lack and support of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Delivery Driver in Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Yodel

    Pros

    Self employed means be your own boss no not the case with Yodel if you have a appointment that was booked in advance you can not go to unless you have collected or receited the collection

    Cons

    you use own vehicle which is good i suppose and once parcels in your hands you can decide which to deliver to

    Yodel2016-12-12
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Self Employed Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Self Employed Driver in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yodel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    Yodel are exploitative. They have avoided any responsibility as an employer by insisting on couriers being self employed. Whilst the national minimum wage has increased by 7%, Yodel parcel prices remain flat at £1.15 or 58p for a packet. I have done a round with an average of 90-100 drops a day on a rural round which takes longer to deliver to. I work 12 hours a day six days a week and earn only £5,70 and hour before any tax or NI is deducted, I also get no holiday pay, no sick pay or any pension entitlement. It is a criminal exploitation of workers, I am raising this with my MP and am planning to take Yodel to an industrial tribunal. I work hard and am one of their highest rated drivers but this does not translate into a livable income. They treat staff with contempt, will sack you for any dissent or at the slightest sign of discontent. Some drivers earn a living wage, but this depends on your round. If its rural you are toast. Cant wait to tell them to stuff their job.

    Continue reading
    Yodel2016-05-07

    Yodel Response

    May 16, 2016Head of People Services

    Good Morning, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experiences with Yodel. I'm very sorry that you are unhappy with your employment experience with us. It is disappointing to hear you feel this way. Yodel is as honest and transparent as possible about the earning potential and benefits our Self Employed colleagues can expect upon the commencement of their employment. We always welcome constructive feedback and rest assured your comments have been taken very seriously and will be fed back to the management team of your local site. Should you wish to talk about this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Local Courier in Canterbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yodel

    Pros

    I was a Local Courier. The only good thing was the deliveries come to you.

    Cons

    Where do I start? - lack of communication within the depot office meant I would book time off but my manger would not pass the message to anyone else so deliveries still arrived at my house; - poor rate of pay at 72p per item some days my costs were not covered; - expected to deliver out of area items for nothing extra; - check payments carefully as there are many "mistakes" made in your money which takes ages to sort out; - priority given to employed drivers whilst self employed couriers are given what's left.

    Continue reading
    Yodel2016-03-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sub Contractor in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yodel for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a self-employed courier the job suited as i got good rates of pay and plenty of volume at the START!!.

    Cons

    After working for yodel for three years my route got smaller also my rates got cut which meant this was difficult for me to continue running my business. Time off was an issue infact i never got time off it was six days a week like it or lump it. Peak times we never got help with the big volumes coming in! My worst day was 256 deliveries which took me from 530am until 1030pm.

    Continue reading
    Yodel2014-08-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Badly run by ex DHL bosses!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Devon
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Yodel full-time

    Pros

    Employed pay is ok, Holiday entitlement , Nice vans when new!! Good bunch of drivers normally who work well together & help each other out

    Cons

    They only want self employed drivers now! Drop rates are much lower than other parcel company's . Poorest communication I've ever seen anywhere !!

    Continue reading
    Yodel2013-02-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews