Zalando Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 917 of over 1K reviews

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
470 Ratings
Pros
  • "innovation friendly fresh new good working environment(in 61 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is totally achievable, and you feel supported by your lead at all times(in 53 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low salary for German standards(in 27 reviews)

  • "My Team lead salary was 70K or less(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      It's pretty good environment.

      13 Mar 2021 - Customer Service Agent in Gurgaon, Haryana, Haryana
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are great in here in this Company.

      Cons

      There are no disadvantages. It's the most friendly environment.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Quality assurance chemist at chemistry lab

      24 Apr 2021 - Laboratory Chemist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am the best employees for your company I believe myself to do efficient work also like to work in team's

      Cons

      I believe work should be timely, with following safety we are responsible for our safety .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      nothing much

      5 Apr 2021 - Project Manager in Hooghly
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work culture is pretty sophisticated

      Cons

      some people are really troublesome

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Good Good

      22 Jul 2020 - Administrative in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Good Good Good Good

      Cons

      Good Work Life balance, work from home

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Workplace & Pleasant Company Culture

      3 May 2021 - Project Manager in Berlin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      After 2 years of working with Zalando, I still feel that it's such a great luck to work here. The more time passes, the more love I have for this work place. I even feel more energetic, excited and motivated than the very first days. I can now fully say that it's the first happy workplace I have ever known that truly care about the employees. I love how we all can work efficiency and have a great work-life balance. I personally love working from home, but it's the first company that make I think everyone missing being in the office since we have really beautiful office, enough space to breath and a large desk to work comfortable. - Care for the employees, support during the pandemic and home office - Open and friendly company culture - Fair salary - Advancement opportunities - Free fruits and cold drinks in the office - Dogs allowed - Children can be bought to the office, there are rooms for this case

      Cons

      Zalando may not have contributions to capital formation or bonus for Christmas, but Zalando has many more cool benefits that the other companies do not have.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Zero transparency, total chaos

      27 Apr 2021 - Applied Scientist in Berlin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - It's one of the largest employers in Berlin, and has a decently sized HR department. - They sell enough, especially with the pandemic, that there's enough money in the corp. - There are good initiatives in the company when it comes to responsible stuff, such as diversity and inclusion, sustainability, data privacy, etc. - There is a works council now (Betriebsrat) which is holding the corp accountable.

      Cons

      - They live in the past century, and think people still need to go to the office to do tech. - The company is moving towards a corporate style kind of work, where tech is not important and only the final product matters. Most developers are now disengaged. All exciting tech is the leftover from previous times, now it's all about using whatever makes it fastest to deliver a product. - In the all hands, the senior management almost never answers any questions in a clear and satisfactory way. - The CEO who was the diversity and inclusion champion has resigned, so that aspect is now in the hands of people who don't really care. - The company uses its active members in the diversity and inclusion scene as tokens w/o wanting diverse opinions. - There is almost no internal transparency when it comes to sensitive subjects. They keep talking about transparency, but nothing sensitive ever gets discussed or properly investigated. - There is an evaluation for all employees twice a year, where they collect a ton of data about employees w/o giving them that data, and for most of the year people are under the stress of the two evaluation rounds. Add that to the fact that it's easier to leave the company and join at a more senior level than moving up the ladder internally.

      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company to work in Berlin

      17 Jun 2021 - Software Engineer in Berlin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      challenging work with millions of users

      Cons

      lots of meeting and many layers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice Company overall, suffered from chronic understaffing on the team

      19 May 2021 - Tech Support in Berlin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting and varied work, very sharp learning curve. Nice bonuses like 40% discount on selected Zalando articles, new iphone ect. Beautiful office and fair treatment. For the most part great team spirit and lots of good memories working for the company, an incredible amount of learning new skills and a very supportive team lead.

      Cons

      Chronic understaffing on the team for over a year, which lead to feeling burnt out with work load and expectations. Perks like flexible working hours were taken away from the team with no notice, and goal posts moved often. The work was unmanageable at times and difficult to prioritise as the structure of the new team was in progress and this had caused some difficulties. I'm sure it would have been resolved by now however, and teething problems to some extend were normal.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company to start career

      11 Jun 2021 - Junior Merchandise Planner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very nice work atmosphere- cool and open minded people! People Support each other, of course there might be exceptions with min Teams, but overall there is always someone you can count on!

      Cons

      Being promoted takes a bit longer but then again it’s a big company - you can’t just ask for a promotion every 6 months

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice international colleagues

      29 May 2021 - Buyer in Berlin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Lot of responsibility early on -Generous with team events -Nice colleagues

      Cons

      -The office where I was located was very cramped with no AC which made it hard to function during hot summer days -Management was not the strongest in terms of team leading abilities, although I felt supported when needed -I didn't work long enough to have my yearly review but from what I heard from colleagues is that it is unfair and that people get held back from progressing in case colleague(does not need to be in a managerial position) rates you in an unfavorable manner.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 917 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zalando Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zalando? Share Your Experiences

    Zalando logo
    or