Zalando Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zalando Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
248 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Gehalt eher am unteren Ende dessen, was(in 30 reviews)

  • "Salaries in commercial roles are not great for German standards(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (15)

    "Very diverse and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing People and Culture, very diverse, chance to work with people from all around world and from very different companies. Nice perks, a lot of events, meetups, celebrating diversity.

    Cons

    Too many organisational changes in a very short time

    Zalando2019-06-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people for sure. I had respect for every level of management above me. Worked with some amazing colleagues. Everyone strives to live the values and the management aim to be transparent, communicative and to address the issues that matter. Although it is an already diverse company they are making it a focus. There is a lot of support for people who want to make a difference.

    Cons

    It is a big company full of talent and sometimes it makes it hard to stand out and to be given opportunities and to be recognized for going above and beyond - because all my colleagues were doing the same! It pushed me but was also discouraging as someone who was eager to progress. Zonar is the performance management system which can work against you depending on when you enter the cycle. I applied for a couple... of internal positions and the response time was incredibly long

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More social events to bring people from over departments together to help with collaboration but also people who are new to the city and are looking to make friends.

    Zalando2019-10-16
  3. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, fast-paced environment, family friendly.

    Cons

    Shopping can be addicted

    Zalando2019-10-15
  4. "Zalando Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work here in Zalando

    Cons

    To my experience there is none yet.

    Zalando2019-10-15
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to be innovative and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Zalando is something I can recommend to everyone who likes to work with many different people, from different business backgrounds as well as cultural backgrounds. I really appreciate that people respect each other and that your leads trust you with the projects you are working on. There is a lot of room for creativity and suggestions and many possibilities to grow and move internally.

    Cons

    Zalando is a fast moving company, adapting quickly to changes in the markets, etc. So if you are someone who does not want to work in an environment which constantly changes, maybe this might not be the perfect place for you.

    Zalando2019-09-25

    Zalando Response

    October 1, 2019Employer Branding

    Thanks so much for your review. We also love how international it is at Zalando. Glad to have you on board!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Dynamic and young company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is young and dynamic. They have the will to improve the fashion business and put the customer first. I like the easy-going mindset and all the initiatives to make their employees happy. Everybody still have the start-up spirit even though the company is today quite big.

    Cons

    The attrition rate is high and there are very often changes of the leadership, sometimes the changes of structure or strategy are not transparent.

    Advice to Management

    The high attrition rate is really a pain point for those who want to stay, I had to start all over again with a new team (new colleagues and new leads) after only 9 months in the company and it was very difficult. I think also that efficiency and sustainability should be the most important topics for the future of Zalando.

    Zalando2019-10-07
  7. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Engagement Specialist in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, diversity, open minded, family friendly, English as a main language, young, positive, big thinker, career development, great benefits,

    Cons

    Chaos in the processes

    Zalando2019-10-09
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    I don't have any negative experience

    Zalando2019-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome offices; Nice environment; Good benefits for employees; People are really worried about the staff and try always to improve;

    Cons

    Salaries are not that competitive; Many changes in the management staff;

    Zalando2019-10-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "High impact and personal growth, alongside great colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The talent you work with and the atmosphere created through working surrounded by great, motivated and intelligent people. - Very steep growth curve and ability to grow not only upwards, but sideways to expand knowledge base - Projects have high impact and can directly see the results of your work

    Cons

    - Company is growing into (an agile/ young) corporate, if you are looking for a true start up style environment, you won't find it here - Working hours can be intense, you grow fast, but that comes with short deadlines, increasing pressure etc. If you don't thrive in this kind of environment, worth to consider a different company.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to increase collaboration as we grow bigger - knowledge shared is knowledge doubled

    Zalando2019-09-30

    Zalando Response

    October 1, 2019Employer Branding

    Thanks so much for your review. We love that you called out the impact and that you can see the results of your work! Clearly you are living Our Founding Mindset. Thanks for your advice. We're glad to have you at Zalando.

Found 648 reviews