Zalando Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zalando Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 524 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
199 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work-life balance (depending on the team)(in 30 reviews)

  • "Family-friendly work environment (your kids are taken care of if you have to bring them to work)(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Salaries in commercial roles are not great for German standards(in 17 reviews)

  • "Low salary, almost no trainings(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (9)

    "Research Enginner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Really good work-life balance. Great development opportunities Great working environment Great state-of-the-art tech stack Great and ambitious goals Great inclusive culture

    Cons

    Team focus shifted pretty often, need to be flexible for adjustment. Sometimes could be very difficult to see the impact of your daily work due to the size of the company.

    Zalando2019-03-11

    Zalando Response

    April 2, 2019

    Thanks for this review! We hope you continue to enjoy working here.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to learn and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    International environment Work-life balance Professional growth opportunities & support Management board is open to change and improvement and engages with employee body despite size Culture of continuous improvement

    Cons

    Lower salaries "Culture" is still not streamlined across the company despite numerous attempt Total absence of mental health awareness Implementing improvements doesn't always serve the improvement purpose, which results in too frequent changes

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be close and listen to employees, but do so more often, and faster.

    Zalando2019-05-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome experience and growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Engineering in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I love working for Zalando due to the following reasons: - growth opportunities - customer obsession - solving what matters - it is all about people - tech focused - embracing changes - fail fast - fail often - learn from mistakes

    Cons

    Some of the internal processes can be optimized and better documented, however Zalando did a huge step forward to solve this problem.

    Advice to Management

    Please keep embracing changes!

    Zalando2019-05-06
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great place for growth hackers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Growth Hacker in Berlin
    Recommends

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, lots of flexibility

    Cons

    No real growth opportunities in this area

    Zalando2019-04-26
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Found really lovely people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice colleagues and office next to the spree. 40% discount is great!

    Cons

    Sometimes work gets a bit hectic.

    Zalando2019-04-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A good place to learn but management needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Helsinki, Southern Finland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Zalando tech has a lot of smart and very experienced people, so there are good opportunities to learn from each other. The office environment has been cozy, free drink and fruit. So, working here is very relaxing.

    Cons

    The management has been quite chaos in past few years.

    Zalando2019-04-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Young and vibrant company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great energy among the people. Ambitious and always developing.

    Cons

    Sometimes the immaturity of the company and some co-workers still shine through.

    Zalando2019-04-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I had a good time, my partner not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    My team was great, wonderful team leads and good working environment.

    Cons

    My partner also found work at Zalando, but her experience was not as good as mine. She applied for the job, but wasn't called to an interview. I accidentally found out one day that the HR team had booked an interview with her, but had forgotten to write or call her to notify her. She obviously couldn't make it on time as the interview was 30 mins later, but managed to reschedule the interview. After the interview she...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow up. You're not a startup anymore, so stop acting like one. Take responsibility for the psychic wellbeing of your staff.

    Zalando2019-05-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture and colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Great culture best on feedback and trust - good environment (office, sport, kitchens) - young team - nice deals for employees

    Cons

    - A lot of changes are announced very much last moment - Instead of promoting own people, we hire externals

    Advice to Management

    Give more priority to growing own employees instead of getting the expertise from outside.

    Zalando2019-04-14
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Strongest product teams I've ever seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely strong and experienced product managers and engineers from all around the world. When people relocate from the USA to Europe for the opportunity, it means something. Cutting-edge data science projects. Startup culture - less bureaucracy, more freedom to build and experiment. A lot of changes - ineffective parts of the business are getting killed fast and it powers innovation. Working at Europe's largest fashion...

    Show More

    Cons

    Startup mindset at such large company means that it's getting chaotic sometimes. People services are not always helpful, the relocation process can be quite painful. Changing the team can be a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to do a good job, but pay more attention to employee's needs and support.

    Zalando2019-04-05
Found 524 reviews