Zillow Client Engagement Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zillow Client Engagement Specialist Reviews

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
54%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Phenomenal Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist in Centennial, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay Awesome Office Wonderful Management Inclusion and Diversity Room to Improve yourself Free Food

    Cons

    Hire some not so nice people Repetitive Work

    Zillow2019-12-03

    Zillow Response

    December 4, 2019Senior Director, Connections Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy the pay, office diversity, and leadership. Because taking care of associates is one of our core values, we%E2%80%99re always looking for ways to ensure our associates have equal access to growth and development opportunities. We strive to provide an environment where associates feel they%E2%80%99re valued, treated fairly and, respected. Thanks for your contributions during your time with us and best of luck in your new endeavors. Greg Davis Senior Director Connections Experience gdavis@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Glorified call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, great company parties, great office.

    Cons

    The opportunity for growth here is almost impossible, unless you end up getting to know the right people. Zillow takes pride in their company slogans, however they don’t actually live up to them at all. It’s very much like a high school setting with the way everyone acts. You’re entire job is to text, and call potential buyers and connect them to an agent while using an SOP to follow. 10 hour shifts with an hour lunch, and you must work at least one weekend day.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-09-19

    Zillow Response

    September 20, 2019Senior Director, Connections Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am disheartened to hear of your experience and perspective of your time employed by Zillow Group. The key to our business is our commitment to all employees no matter which level or department. We believe in empowering all employees to grow long term careers. With this said, we’re always looking for ways to ensure our associates have equal access to growth and development opportunities as we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly and respected. Career development is something we do not take lightly and we are always looking for feedback to improve. The role of a Connections Specialist is very important to Zillow Group's success and does require long days connecting Buyers with Agents. This is a unique environment and best suited for those who are willing to move fast and operate with excellence. I appreciate your feedback and ideas on work needed and how we can improve. Greg Davis Senior Director Connections Experience gdavis@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company and culture for all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist 

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to move up.

    Cons

    Not many that I can think of.

    Zillow2019-08-06

    Zillow Response

    August 8, 2019Senior Director, Connections Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoyed the Company and Culture. Because taking care of associates is one of our core values, we’re always looking for ways to ensure our associates have equal access to growth and development opportunities. We strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly and respected. Thanks for your contributions during your time with us and best of luck in your new endeavors. Greg Davis Senior Director Connections Experience gdavis@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  4. "Smart and caring leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Client Engagement Specialist 

    I worked at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and culture.

    Cons

    Growing really fast and changing rapidly.

    Zillow2019-07-22

    Zillow Response

    July 23, 2019Senior Director, Connections Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to hear you had a very positive experience. We are indeed growing fast and changing quickly, but we view this as a positive. Our business is constantly evolving and we are never standing still. This is a unique environment and best suited for those who are willing to change and evolve with the business. Thanks for your contributions during your time with us and best of luck in your new endeavors. Greg Davis Senior Director Connections Experience gdavis@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (28)

    "Grateful but had to move on.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started at Zillow in 2016. Premier Agent Concierge was new and I thought it was innovative. I wasn't thrilled at working in a call center environment but the benefits, pay and people outweighed that. The biggest reason why I stayed at Zillow is because of the top notch benefits and the people. I would say about a third of the managers I had were excellent leaders. They kept me there. They didn't just say they valued my opinions-- their actions SHOWED me they did. Ultimately, Zillow gave me experience in a corporate environment and helped me develop skills that I now use in my dream job. For that, I am grateful!

    Cons

    The first year in PAC was great. People had their complaints but I realized that every company had their office politics. However, as the company grew FAST-- things changed. Management changed and department moral declined. I would go to all hands meetings and Spencer and Amy would deeply inspire me. Then I would go back to a department that felt so separate from the rest of the company. We weren't included in many functions that the rest of the company participated in. I realize that business needs dictate scheduling but there is always balance. Management spent so much time trying to convince us that we were no different than any other department when they could have exercised humility and OWNED IT. WE WERE DIFFERENT and you know what? That is okay. All I ever wanted was for management to admit that. Also, I understand that mistakes are made in corporate environments. That does not frustrate me. What frustrated me was that genuine apologies were never made, only excuses. I'm fairly confident I will receive a response to this assuring me that "management did admit when they were wrong!" An apology is not "well, you know, possibly the messaging was not the most effective and we are looking into maybe changing this. However, the reason this happened is because we were in a time crunch and we were doing the best we could with the resources we had." An apology does not include excuses. It is simply, "We are sorry for our actions and we will strive to do better." Thankfully, for my last bit of time at ZG-- my team lead kept me engaged. They are the reason I stayed and I am so grateful for their encouragement and effective leadership skills. Additionally, leadership was constantly asking for honesty and feedback. So, in skip levels, occasionally, I would speak up. I learned quickly that this was not effective. Generally, the response from management was: "Thank you so much for sharing! However, do you realize how good you have it here? Most jobs didn't have free food and top notch benefits." I must have heard 10 different versions of that answer. Again, I understand that you cannot just allow people to sit and complain without bringing up possible resolutions. I am not suggesting that managers should sit and allow people to vent without end. If your employees are venting in a kind and professional way, as a leader, you should listen and do your best to help them problem solve without making them feel like their thoughts and ideas are not valid. PAC had so much potential to be an amazing department (even with scheduling differences and limited access to functions and meetings). Unfortunately, during the time of my recent departure moral was continuing to decline. There are great people in PAC. People who care and who lead with kindness and humility. It is my hope that those people will take action and grab hold of the amazing idea that PAC stemmed from. I genuinely believe that the solution to many of the problems here is honesty and a willingness to be humble when you make a mistake.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2018-12-04

    Zillow Response

    December 7, 2018VP, Client Experience

    I'm glad you found the benefits and people to be top notch, and that you found excellent leaders in your management. Our goal is always to create an environment that helps drives great results for our clients and consumers. We wish you the best in your next endeavor. JR Gast, VP CIient Experience. jrg@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist in Centennial, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice benefits. PTO, healthcare, pay, and free snacks/drinks

    Cons

    The work was not fun and grueling. Felt like the red-headed stepchild of company as we were not allowed to participate in most activities.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-01-14

    Zillow Response

    January 17, 2019VP, Client Experience

    Great to hear you felt the benefits and perks were solid. Since our department works with high volume inbound and outbound contacts, there is certainly an amount of repetition in daily tasks, which is why we try to be extremely clear in recruiting and hiring exactly what the position is and what a typical day looks like. Thanks for your contributions during your time with us and best of luck in your new endeavors. -JR Gast, VP Client Experience

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Engagement Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly the best position I've ever had. There is so much this company offers you as a whole, with full paid health benefits, great pay and career development I can't see why anyone would have anything negative to say. Yes we are going through some changes that I can say can be difficult on some people but it has to be done to make the consumers and the agents have the best experience with Zillow. I've worked for companies in the past that would never give you any opportunity to grow and with this company they don't want to hold you back at all. We do work 4/10s but we also get three days off which helps with my schedule perfectly so I can have more time with my children. They also very understanding with your personal issues like sick time, mental health and PTO. When your sick or have a family emergency, no problem. Zillow fully understands what your going through, they will give you the time off you need to help yourself or fix your family issues. Which to me is almost unheard of in other companies I've worked for. No matter if I felt like I was near death I had to go to work in the past. The Affinity groups are great as well, these groups help you build connections with other people in different positions at Zillow so you can promote yourself internally. I love working here and can't wait to see what the future holds for me and for Zillow.

    Cons

    The only con is I wish we can get more notice for changes in the SOPs due to I feel like people feel rushed and more errors occur.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2018-11-07

    Zillow Response

    November 8, 2018VP, Client Experience

    Thanks for this great review. I agree the speed that we're changing our procedures can sometimes mean you don't have a lot of time to digest them. I appreciate your hard work and effort while we pivot. -JR Gast, VP Client Experience, jrg@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Great company, but PAC is a disappointing department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Engagement Specialist in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The perks and benefits of the company are obviously one of the best things about working for the company. Medical/dental/vision all offer great coverage, the well stocked kitchens are great, and the amount of PTO offered is generous.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the cons of working in PAC seem to outweigh all the benefits the company has to offer. The company is headed in a great direction and does have a bright future, a lot of which depends on what the PAC department does, but they're not set up to fulfill this vision yet. The department is incredibly understaffed, particularly on weekends. This creates a negative environment because we are not living up to our promises and are setting ourselves up for failure. It's hard to remain motivated when you there are times that you simply cannot succeed, just because there are not enough people to do the job needed to be done. On days when the department is not running hours and hours behind schedule, there is still the problem of the job just being mundane and monotonous. For some, it may be an ideal position because it isn't the most mentally challenging job (though it is mentally draining), but for others with more ambition it can be a bit too simple. The Denver office, while growing, does not offer a lot of opportunities for growth in other departments, unless you're wanting to get into a sales role. Most of the job opportunities available will be at the headquarters in Seattle, which is unfortunate for those who do not wish to relocate. There are many other headaches that come with working as a Client Engagement Specialist, such as poor communication and lack of transparency at times, but right now the biggest issue is just the fact that the staffing levels are not set up in a way for us to do our jobs the way we should be doing them. They preach about a 6 Star experience for Beth, yet there are times that we're delivering a 1 star experience, if that. If the company has a specific vision, we should not begin executing it until we can do so in a way that provides our consumers with the service they deserve.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2018-10-22

    Zillow Response

    November 2, 2018Vice President, Premier Agent Strategy & Operations

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, and please keep it coming! Best way is to send directly to me at carey@zillowgroup.com. Weekend staffing – There have been a couple of unexpected spikes but please rest assured that we’re all over it, thanks to changes to schedules, process, and software. Overall staffing – We have the staffing levels to deliver a great experience to our personas. This isn’t always obvious because we haven’t helped you to navigate all of the metrics that we publish and understand which ones mean what. Some are critical to the experience our personas have, but others are more informational. We’re going to fix that by training the team leads on this and having them share out. Nature of the work – We’ve worked hard to improve the rep experience with our new processes and tools, and I hope this is paying off. But there is a lot more in store here. We are working hard to take automate the mundane so that you can spend more of your day doing creative, challenging work. Stay tuned here and thanks for hanging in! Opportunities – Denver is our second-largest office and has a pretty wide mix of opportunities available. Yes there are even more in Seattle, but we are really proud of the internal mobility we’ve had lately to other functions in the Denver office. Recently folks have moved to PA Sales, Emerging Market Sales, Seller Success Team, Recruiting, Agent Care, and Quality Assurance. Communications – We’ve just moved team lead into a project manager role where she’ll focus on communications across the full team. We hear you and help is on the way! Thank you again for the feedback and please reach out if you have more.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Changing the game, but still room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I want to start by saying I WISH I could give Zillow 5 stars, but the way PAC is treated and a few other things really bring it down to 4. Now down to the real pros and cons: - AMAZING Culture. Truly one of a kind and I believe the company lives and breathes the values. -Benefits are top notch. Healthcare, dental, vision, snacks, stock, competitive/above average pay, 401k match, games, occasional catered lunch, etc. Think of the most stereotypical Silicon Valley company (In a good way :) ) and you've got Zillow. - Incredible technology and innovation. Zillow is THE #1 site when it comes to real estate. Zillow is 10 steps ahead of the competition and I’m excited to see where they go next. -Changing behavior - Some people may see this as a con, but the company is in a constant state of flux. They are changing people's behavior (Potential home buyers/sellers, agents, loan officers, landlords, etc.) and it was fun to be a part of, but you need to be okay with change.

    Cons

    - Internal mobility is an absolute mess. This is one of the main reasons I left the company. I applied for a job after being with the company for 2 years and was quite literally “forgotten” about until a Sr. Manger pinged the internal mobility recruiter- I received a formal apology, but it was really hurtful. ------As a follow up to this internal mobility, all Denver hires should be aware that the majority of the Denver office (80-90%) is sales and customer service. If you want to move up in those departments it's a great opportunity, or if you want to stick it out for a year, get to understand the company and culture, etc. you can transfer to another office after a year. - It's mostly a joke within the company, but PAC or Premier Agent Concierge (The entry level department a large number join into as an associate CES) is the red headed step child of the company. We work 363 days out of the year until 8 PM, 7 days a week(Holidays included) and other departments pity our department/consider it a joke. It's ridiculous that PAC still is expected to "thank" management when we were allowed to participate in entire company events. -----This has gotten A LOT better since I started in early 2016, but there is still a long way to go -Management communication (especially in PAC). When news comes out, it instantly turns in to a game of telephone with some team leads/associate managers saying one thing, while others say another. One SOP changes and some say follow it, others say do whatever you want. There were a couple times when we had LARGE meetings where EVERYONE got the exact same information- I think this needs to be more frequent and a standard practice to reduce this chatter and try to nip the "Zumor mill rumors" before they bud.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2018-06-15

    Zillow Response

    June 22, 2018VP, Client Experience

    Great to hear that the benefits and culture are top notch. However, I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with the internal mobility process. I'd like to hear more about that, so shoot me a note at jrg@zillowgroup.com if you like to share more details. While I agree PAC works hours different than other departments (other departments work 7 days a week as well), I disagree that PAC is considered a joke. It's very important strategic part of ZG's future vision. Syncing communication in a large org across different cities with teams working different sides of the week can be challenging. We've taken a number of steps already this year to continue to tighten each and every communications release. The nature of our work means that we have to be very thoughtful in what extra curricular activities our teams attend and when. We strive to build a vibrant culture around a robust business, and in doing so we have to balance the needs of our clients with those of our people. If you have improvement suggestions, I'm all ears. Good luck in your next endeavor!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Bandaid over a gapping wound."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros are the bandaids. They offer amazing benefits, snacks, outings, etc. Any benefit you could hope for is offered, which causes employees to drink the “Zillow Kool-Aid” and ignore the real problems this company has.

    Cons

    Management is on separate playing fields. There is no constant when it comes to everyday operations and systems, each member of management you speak to has a different answer and they tend to conflict with each other, causing issues for the employee. There are cliques within every department, which is somewhat normal, but at Zillow, it’s extreme. The management plays into the cliques, causing more problems. Favoritism is the way to win in this company. If you suck up to the right people, you will excel and move within the company, but if you make one mistake, or if someone in a management position does not like you, you will be stuck or be fired without communication. I experienced many situations where employees where fired with very little warning. The way they fire employees is absurd as well, they will pack your desk while you are in the restroom or on break, and meet you in the hall (keep in mind this is an open floor that all of the employees and management share) with your box of things and walk you out. In front of everyone. When they try to offer some reasoning for the employees dismissal, they are very hush hush and do not posses transparency. They do not “turn on the lights”. The core and heart of the company has major faults, unfortunately nothing is being done about those faults. They are simply covering them with bandaids and even offering a candy wall for your troubles. My advice; don’t give into the gimmicks, save yourself the stress of job security and the stress of pettiness; do not work for Zillow.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2018-05-31

    Zillow Response

    June 8, 2018VP, Client Experience

    I'm sorry you felt your experience with Zillow was poor. I respectfully disagree with much of your assessment. Based on our company-wide employee engagement survey that just came out, over 90% of teammates in our department said they would recommend Zillow to a friend as a great place to work, and more than 80% are planning on staying for at least 2 years. This, to me, means we have a vibrant and productive team with a solid culture. Regarding performance management, we have a robust process that includes clear expectations, thorough documentation, and in-person conversations. The goal is always to move someone up, not out. You are correct that we don't share reasons for individual termination with the teams, out of respect for the individual impacted. If you have other direct feedback you'd like to share, I'm happy to connect with you directly at jrg@zillowgroup.com. JR Gast, VP Client Experience.

    Continue reading
Found 43 reviews