Zillow Data Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zillow Data Scientist Reviews

Updated 2 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
0 Rating
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, good culture, care about employees, solid work-life balance

    Cons

    Recently tightened costs, mostly a positive, but at times a detriment.

    Zillow2020-01-03

    Zillow Response

    January 31, 2020Chief Analytics Officer

    Thanks for the feedback. Compensation, culture, work content and work-life balance are, of course, a few of the most important things to get right, and glad that you believe we've done so. Regarding costs, as you know, we are moving fast in our transition to Zillow 2.0, and this change is driving more analysis of our spend so that we can make sure we're operationally excellent. Investing as much as we are in multiple lines of consumer innovation is only possible if we're as streamlined as possible in each one. While being streamlined, we continue to grow our team and increase the investment in our technology and tools while maintaining an amazing culture. If you would like to discuss more, please feel free to reach out to me directly. -Stan stan@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent company with a great investment in people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong focus on personal development Living the core values Transparent, effective leadership

    Cons

    Compared to other tech companies, you'll spend a lot more time dealing with messy people data. That's not a con for me, but is a con for others

    Zillow2018-12-13

    Zillow Response

    January 9, 2019Chief Analytics Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback, and I'm so happy that you so readily see our core values demonstrated in daily work life here. We've definitely found that personal development, particularly skill development, is highly valued by our analytic teams given the fast pace of tech and methodological change. While we do a lot of such development already in a variety of ways (tech reviews, paper reads, learning academies, focused training on Spark/Python, hackweeks, leadership/mgr training, etc.), we'll be doing even more in 2019 and beyond (as you've probably heard via our team meetings). I'm not entirely sure of what the "messy people data" that you refer is, but please let me know if something is messier than it should be or if there's a better way to be tackling problems in your particular area here at Zillow. We're always open to new ideas! Thanks again and happy to have you on the team. - Stan Humphries

    Continue reading
  3. "Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Data Scientist Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow

    Pros

    1. Good working environment. 2. Good management. 3. Work-life balance

    Cons

    Cannot think of any for now

    Zillow2017-10-16

    Zillow Response

    October 18, 2017CTO

    Thank you for interning with us and your comments. I’m pleased you enjoyed your work, the environment and your team. We hope to see you back at Zillow Group in the future and wish you the best as you finish up your college experience.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Data Scientist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    awesome team, great data very generous benefits

    Cons

    the office is sometimes really noisy. Also, I gained +1kg in a month because of free snacks...

    Continue reading
    Zillow2017-04-01

    Zillow Response

    June 5, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. One of StreetEasy's greatest assets is its data and the more smart people we have working with it and on it, the better for the consumer. I'm excited to see what the Data team will do in the coming months. We're certainly a bit jam-packed at the moment, but we'll be expanding our space soon enough to give people more room and some quiet areas. As for the snacks, we've got a lot of healthy ones :)! Susan Daimler, GM and VP Streeteasy and Zillow NYC

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I've ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Data Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    Amazing culture and technical challenges. There are so many interesting problems to solve in the machine learning and data science areas here at Zillow. The working environment is excellent. I love coming to work everyday!

    Cons

    Not much I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2017-01-11

    Zillow Response

    January 11, 2017Chief Analytics Officer & Chief Economist

    Excellent! So good to hear and thank you for taking the time to deliver such positive feedback. We're always looking to improve our game so don't be hesitant to drop me or your mgr a note with an idea to optimize something that we're doing, and thanks for your passion for data science at Zillow. You're part of making the magic happen here. - Stan

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Invaluable Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    Brilliantly organized program, there were constant events, and programs to get us familiar with the industry and bond the team. I was instantly made to feel like a valuable member of the team working on meaningful tasks. The benefits were also more than anyone could ask for and the office is a very fun and comfortable place to be. It was so great that I continued to work at Zillow following my internship.

    Cons

    It is a big company, but they really do their best to make it feel like intimate teams and keep the culture strong.

    Zillow2016-10-04

    Zillow Response

    October 5, 2016VP, Rental Platform

    I'll second the comment that our San Francisco office is fun and comfortable, and it's hard to beat our location just a block from Montgomery St BART. Thanks for leaving a such a positive review of your intern experience, and glad you decided to join! Matt Corgan, VP Rental Platform

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Do cool stuff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. This includes cool events like “Hackweek,” a week-long event held three times a year where we get to work on our own projects. Happy hours, team building events, game room, cook-offs, etc. Smart people. Continually impressed by my colleagues. Interesting work. This is because of the company size: small enough to make an impact but large enough to be secure. Great management (this is huge!). I personally see little politics within the team. Lots of autonomy. Hours are okay. No need to work every weekend.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits very below average for industry. No annual bonus (at least in my org). Stock tanked, leaving some employees with worthless options. It's a big source of discontent and the reason why some have left or are leaving for companies next door like Amazon, Google, Tableau. Unclear path for advancement within the company. No training. Employees are expected to learn on their own outside of work hours.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2016-02-18

    Zillow Response

    February 19, 2016

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you are generally happy here. We are taking a comprehensive view of market comp at annual review this year, and I'm interested to hear how you feel about compensation after this. Feel free to reach out to me directly, or address here. Making sure people feel appreciated and fairly compensated is very important to us! Best -- Amy (COO)

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company, Great People, Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything. My boss is awesome, my boss's boss is awesome, ... the CEO is awesome. The views are amazing, the free food/snacks/drinks are great, and the benefits are great. I'm surrounded by smart people, and am constantly learning. Little red-tape and no business politics allow for us to immediately benefit the company and have a huge impact. I love my job. -p.s.: there are treadmill desks, a candy wall, ping pong tables, and a video game room!

    Cons

    From what I hear, it's pretty hard to make it in the Sales department. I'm more of a software developer, so we sort-of escape that kind of pressure. Also, we could use more bathrooms. But if that's the only complaint I can think of- I think Zillow is doing fine.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2015-10-01

    Zillow Response

    October 2, 2015

    Thank you for your review! I'm glad you are happy here. Reach out with suggestions any time. - Amy (COO)

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews