Zillow Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zillow Director Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
3 Ratings
  1. "Love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart people. Great mission. Excellent benefits. Very collaborative environment.

    Cons

    Nothing meaningful found after 4 months

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-01-17

    Zillow Response

    January 22, 2020CPO

    I am glad you are having a great initial experience at Zillow Group. We work hard on our culture but we can always improve. Please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com if you ever have ideas on how we can better.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing, transformative company with roots in consumer empowerment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Information Technology in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great, intelligent, caring people. Opportunities to develop career, be part of an organization that is truly changing the industry. Leadership that is true to stated values.

    Cons

    A company that continually changes like Zillow can be challenging, and requires flexibility and discipline to be successful.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-10-19

    Zillow Response

    October 27, 2019CTO

    Thank you for your long service with Zillow and your positive comments. There are a lot of exciting things happening as we move into Zillow 2.0 and some new businesses and products. Our IT team is so critical to providing support for all the new people and services. We will do our best (with your help) to remain true to the culture and innovation that embodied early Zillow. As we grow and get into new businesses, the company will evolve and I certainly hope in positive ways. Some new processes and approaches will be needed as we go down the transaction funnel.

    Continue reading
  3. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Started working at Zillow and have been promoted within short time. Amazing benefits. Free snacks. Good work environment

    Cons

    Still navigating through the hoops to achieve my career goals.

    Zillow2019-10-12

    Zillow Response

    October 18, 2019CPO

    Thanks for your review - we are glad you are having a good experience at Zillow! I am glad you are focused on your career goals. We take careers very seriousily here and have lots of internal resources to help. If you have any questions please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great company for the motivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    High-growth business that recognizes and paths high-performers. Culture and leadership are second-to-none.

    Cons

    Executive development initiatives were lacking.

    Zillow2019-06-18

    Zillow Response

    June 25, 2019Vice President, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for the great review. The team puts in a lot of effort to ensure our culture and leadership are best in class. I am happy to hear your experience reflects that effort. We are currently building out the next phase of our Leadership Development Program and it sounds like you have some insights to share about executive development. If you have a moment to share those insights, please reach out to stevec@zillowgroup.com. Thank you again for your feedback and best of luck with your future endeavors. Steve Capezza - Vice President, Zillow Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  5. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, cool projects and approchability of executive staff.

    Cons

    Hard to make as much money as a new hire if you have been here for a while in a non sales role. While the 360 annual review is amazing, for people who have moved up fast the financial opportunity is limiting over a long period of time.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2018-05-08

    Zillow Response

    June 4, 2018COO

    Thank you for the review, and the feedback. I'm glad you are happy here! - Amy (COO)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Best tech company in Seattle, hands down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is fantastic leadership from the founders and the C-level executives. I have faith they are making the right decisions. It is great that our company is still controlled by the founders even though we are public. We never ever do anything just to make the quarter. We are doing really cool stuff to transform a fascinating industry, and there is a ton of runway ahead of us. We have lots of resources to support great ideas. Our culture is extremely strong and well defined. People really get our values, and we try hard to live them. The people here are very smart, very capable, very hardworking, and very nice. We have access to the data we need to make decisions properly. We have JUST enough process to support our growth, and no more. Benefits are finally getting to be competitive. Good IT hardware and software. Standing desks and Aeron chairs. Lovely downtown office and frequent free food.

    Cons

    Pay outside of the tech team is not competitive, and even tech has trouble competing. Resource allocation across the company is imperfect for new and for existing headcount. Sometimes we think that communicating a lot is the same as being transparent. It can be hard to get stuff done if you aren't located in Seattle.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2015-09-18

    Zillow Response

    September 23, 2015

    Thank you for the detailed feedback and review! We really appreciate the transparency and specifics. I'm thrilled you are overall happy here, but I will look into addressing some of your concerns. - Amy (COO)

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Building something great, and having a great time doing it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inspiring leadership. Amazing colleagues. All kinds of opportunities. Great benefits, from pay and insurance to free soda, meals, and more. You will feel valued.

    Cons

    Startup ways of getting things done don't always scale. Opportunity now is to build process without becoming a prisoner to it.

    Zillow2015-01-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Smart, collaborative people committed to a clear and important mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    I've been here for over 3 years(maybe a little more, maybe a lot more). I can count on one hand the number of days I've woken up in the morning and not felt like coming into work. A simple gauge and it's a big one for me. It's awesome to work on something as meaningful as empowering people to make better decisions about one of the most significant aspects of their lives. To do this with co-workers as smart, innovative and devoted as you'll find anywhere. To do this with one of the absolute best leadership teams around(just look at their track-records!). To be part of #1 -- the undisputed leader! -- in this space. And the part that excites me most is that even after so many years, even given the dominant leadership position we have, it is absolutely true when Spencer tells us that we've only just begun and that there is much, much more to do. There is so much more we can do for consumers, and so much more we can do for real estate professionals. Really. What more do I need?

    Cons

    We're growing fast, organically and through acquisitions. There are inherent challenges to this that we're not immune from and as much I trust we'll get through all of it just fine, ultimately, it can make for challenges here and there in the interim: clarity/ambiguity, communication, prioritization, culture, recruiting/talent, employee development, operational vs strategic, etc. Again, the typical challenges for a high-growth company so not necessarily unusual but certainly something that keeps us on our toes and can be distracting at times. Overall, though, I'll take all the goodness that comes from this growth since I trust we'll manage through the Change -- but it's never a given/guarantee and will require diligence, smarts and patience. I'll also echo what others have said here that it sometimes would be nice to slow down a little bit, take a step back and attend to doing some things a little bit better versus rolling out more and more new stuff. It's the classic quality vs quantity/speed/TTM dilemma and I know it's a tough and core strategic challenge to figure out.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2014-03-04

    Zillow Response

    April 1, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the great review and feedback. You are right that we are running so fast here (which is good) that sometimes mistakes can be made, and sometimes we aren't quite as efficient as we could be. I also wonder sometimes whether we could do a better job of slowing down to celebrate our wins. We have so much that is going right at Zillow that we rarely take a moment to appreciate it. We have a bit of a "what have you done for me lately" mentality, which I'm sure wears on people over time. I agree that "culture needs to be nurtured". That's one of my key themes for 2014. We are too big for the culture to just happen naturally now. We need to work at it a bit more. We can do it, but it takes time. It's sort of like a marriage -- in the first few years, everything works great. But as life gets more complicated (children, other commitments), you sometimes need to work at it to make sure you tend to the little things, which all add up.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Work hard, learn, collaborate. And have fun too!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you want to be challenged, work in a company that has high expectations (and high rewards), be surrounded by ridiculously intelligent people, do innovative and cool things, make a difference in the lives and careers of real estate agents and brokers and have fun while you're doing it, then work at Zillow. If you want to slack off, not be trusted or listened to, have no input in how things are done or work in a place that doesn't respect your contributions, then look elsewhere.

    Cons

    ... Hmmm, there's a 20 word minimum for this field. How about, "Sometimes the view of Puget Sound from the high-rise office space is distracting." Sorry, that's all I have.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2013-12-13
  10. "World class people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly smart, dedicated and passionate people. Amazing office space. A "start up culture" in a publicly traded company -- not easy to find. Work hard, play hard!

    Cons

    None. Really. Management expects big things, but gives you the tools, experience and people to pull that off. Big expectations is a good thing!

    Continue reading
    Zillow2012-12-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews