Zillow Inside Sales Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Inside Sales Consultant

Zillow Inside Sales Consultant Reviews

Updated 19 Oct 2016

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow

    Pros

    Surrounded by young professionals who want to work hard and have fun while doing so. A great place to launch a career, but able to grow and develop within the company longterm as well.

    Cons

    Not a lot of time invested in training of new sales employees. More training would help to reduce the amount of turnover.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2016-10-19

    Zillow Response

    October 21, 2016Senior Director - Inside Sales, Seattle

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your great experience at Zillow. I'm glad you had fun here and saw us as a great place to launch your career. We focus a lot on the training and development of our sales folks but I appreciate your feedback and will take a closer look at our program to make sure we are as dialed in as we can be. Thank you again! Chris Lowe Senior Director - Inside Sales, Seattle

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (16)

    "Inside Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow for more than a year

    Pros

    Young start up type company. Pay is 36k base salary plus commission-- good medical benefits and good location---- fun holiday theme employee parties.

    Cons

    Sketchy business practices. Employees are encouraged to work 10+ hour days and are made to feel guilty if they leave early. Required employees to be on the phone all day and not leave their desks. No work/life balance. Vacations are frowned upon.

    Zillow2016-08-01

    Zillow Response

    August 2, 2016Senior Director, Inside Sales

    Thank you for the review. It sounds like you left our organization some time ago based on the role listed. I agree we have outstanding benefits and our company parties are among the many team building events that are great. We certainly do not ask employees to work 10+ hours a day. In fact, quite the contrary. We manage to a healthy work/life balance that has a focus on strong work ethic during working hours and quality of life outside of the work place. We do, in fact, encourage vacations. Finally, when it comes to our business practices, one of our core values at Zillow Group is "Act with Integrity". Everyone in our organization is held accountable to that standard. Thank you again for your feedback. If you have more, please feel free to connect with me at stevec@zillowgroup.com. Steve Capezza - Vice President, Premier Agent Sales - Orange County & New York

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Inside sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    By far the best company I have ever worked at. It's definitely not easy but if you thrive off of a fast pace, work hard sales environment then your pay check will definitely show for it. Management genuinely cares and makes a conscious effort everyday to make it a fun place to work. Happy hours, prizes (tvs, Apple iPods, gift cards, trips, money), amazing benefits, monthly gym reimbursement, massages that come to the office, fun team outings, catered food the list goes on. The sky is the limit of how much money you can make, however it's all about the effort that you put in. If your someone who likes to push yourself, doesn't give up, likes a challenge, is competitive and wants to make money then this is perfect. If you want to coast and hope you make your numbers, it's not gonna happen. Year after year there is constant change and new opportunities. After working at several different sales companies, I'm so thankful to finally have found a company that I not only enjoy coming into every day but values my worth. Keep growing!

    Cons

    I really can't think of anything.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2016-05-10

    Zillow Response

    May 11, 2016Senior Director, Inside Sales

    Thank you for the fantastic review. We try our best to foster a productive, positive, and performance driven culture. I agree the perks we enjoy at Zillow Group are amazing and I am glad to hear you see the genuine care each member of our leadership team puts into their role. If you have any more feedback, please feel free to pull me aside on the sales floor, schedule a lunch, or email me at stevec@zillow.com. Steve Capezza, Senior Director – Orange County Sales

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Inside sales Rep Irvine Ca"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was an inside sales rep for a little over a year and for the most part I liked It.. Great people (for the most part), fun environment , music, food

    Cons

    The management team in Irvine Is horrible well, I take that back just one in particular; the manager that everyone tries to get off of her team. They make sure to practice Core values but, don't seem to implement it in their career at Zillow. They have numerous complaints for this manager and she's still employed there. I can count 4 people off the top of my head that quit just because they transferred to her team and wasn't allowed to move teams and didn't want to deal with her unprofessional rude degrading self! I feel sorry for anyone that has to remain on her team.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2015-12-06

    Zillow Response

    December 8, 2015Senior Director, Inside Sales

    Thank you for your review. We work hard to maintain a vibrant and productive culture here at Zillow. I am glad to hear you enjoyed it. Regarding our core values, they are the common denominator that guides all decision making, action, and vision. I am sorry to hear you feel otherwise; especially, as it pertains to the leadership team here in Irvine. I can say every member of our leadership team views their relationships with our customers and sales team as the top priorities of our business. We are also consistent in putting that philosophy into action. If you have more feedback regarding your experience, I am eager to hear it. Please feel free to reach out to stevec@zillow.com. Thanks again for your review and I wish you the best of luck with your future endeavors. Steve Capezza – Senior Director, Orange County Sales

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "It's been a great ride @ ZOC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You learn how to be a sales professional while having fun. The ability to make 6 figures. There is never a dull moment and they give you lots of benefits and spiffs.

    Cons

    Too many politics, promoting is not merit based and favoritism is a part of the job in some aspects. The company has a lot of links to work out and hopefully soon. Management should be trained before appointed to management. Your success can be determined by your manager and/or your region which are both out of your control.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2015-12-02

    Zillow Response

    December 2, 2015Senior Director, Inside Sales

    Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you find both the culture and financial opportunity as positive aspects of our business. Regarding career pathing and promotions, our approach is focused as much on performance and skill set as it is exhibition of our company values. I am curious to hear more about your experience; specifically pertaining to promotions not being merit based and suggestions you have regarding the continued development of our leadership team. Please feel free to pull me aside on the sales floor or schedule some time to discuss your feedback. Thanks again for your review. Steve Capezza – Senior Director, Orange County Sales

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Always impressed by this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work atmosphere, at a company that does the right thing by its customers, users and employees. I have worked in the banking and finance industry for 14+ years and have never before experienced the feeling of getting up every morning and being excited to come to work. From my first day through my first year this feeling has not changed.

    Cons

    Sometimes the coffee machine runs out of beans. Seriously this is the worst thing that happens here. On a serious note you have to be able to adapt to change quickly at this company but if you are able to accept that change is good and run with it you will truly enjoy the privilege of working here.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2015-11-05

    Zillow Response

    November 9, 2015

    Thanks for your glowing review! I'm so glad to hear your experience at Zillow has been so positive - I believe many people, including myself, relish the excitement of coming to work each day knowing that we can accomplish great things, working along side people who are on the same mission. Doug Slotkin VP, Local Ad Sales

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Inside sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for. If you're good and exceed your quota each month, the sales positions pay well. Spencer the CEO is awesome, very open about the company and has always given the sales guys what we'very asked for. Examples being standing desks, Frozen Yogurt machines and most recently quota relief during the recent merger. It's a fun place to work, I work my 8 hours, raid the free food and drinks, and rally home.

    Cons

    It can be a grind. Making 80-100 calls a day can wear down even the most motivated salesperson.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2015-10-13

    Zillow Response

    October 13, 2015

    Thanks for taking the time to give feedback on your time in Inside Sales at Zillow - It's great to hear how much you like your job! In regards to Skynet, the homegrown system we've built to help identify the best sales opportunities, it absolutely is a work in process - as we speak, we are working diligently to improve the interface, provide our people with additional tools and improve the dashboard to include additional data points. Stay tuned for new iterations, many of which are a direct result of feedback given to us by the sales team. Doug Slotkin VP, Local Ad Sales

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "review for zillow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    Nice Work environment, many benefits, nice pay

    Cons

    The team is not diverse enough

    Continue reading
    Zillow2015-09-02

    Zillow Response

    September 24, 2015

    Thanks for the feedback and I'm glad you've appreciated the work environment at Zillow. We strive to create a culture that fosters and encourages diversity. Doug Slotkin VP Local Ad Sales Dougs@zillow.com

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Centennial, CO
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free crackers and milk. I have to say twenty words for this to submit.

    Cons

    Whole company sucks the life out of top sales reps.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2015-09-27

    Zillow Response

    October 2, 2015Vice President

    Sorry you had a bad experience. I can't really address anything based on your limited response. But, I'm guessing our culture of teamwork, success and transparency weren't for you. We continue to grow our offices and now have latte machines in our free, fully stocked kitchen. Oh, and we're actually retaining & attracting top talent at an amazing clip right now. So, let me provide some facts, our employee satisfaction and retention is at a historic high, as is the success rate of our sales people. Best of luck in your next endeavor. For anyone reading this, come see it for yourself, it's an amazing place! Greg Bland, VP Sales

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "great company, not a lot of creative oppertunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, perks, and pay are all good, they also fly you up to Seattle for an annual party which is a blast.

    Cons

    the inside sales role at Zillow is tough work and they are very upfront about that. I would say that in the end, the culture they created did not provide an atmosphere that brought out my best, but if sales is your thing and you don't mind pounding out 150 dials a day with lots of noise, then it could be a great fit. They have also transitioned a bit from giving you, the sales rep, control of your book of business to a more hybrid account management model where a waitlist team takes a percent of your sales and you get less commission off upsells and any waitlist calls you make. Part of this makes sense since the premier agent program is now so big that they could not keep the payout as high as it used to be, but it's frustrating to see so many cuts happen on your commission as a sales person. I would say one of the more frustrating parts about working on the sales floor is the music and "energy". Of course energy on a sales floor is important and something that managers are constantly trying to maintain. But at some point in my time there, it simply got out of control to where they handed out plastic clappers to all the sales reps and whenever anyone made a sale, you found yourself caught in a windstorm of clapping plastic hands which, together with the screaming and yelling made for a very loud and obnoxious celebration. Keep in mind you are in close proximity to other reps, and it was not uncommon to be presenting over the phone and get drowned out with the noise. It's easy to get over this in the short-term, but in the long-term, it's the principle of the issue that I found disturbing and one of the core problems that still exists at Zillow to this day. Anyone who complained about the noise level was reprimanded while management seemed scared (or perhaps incapable) of dealing with loud, disruptive reps. This unprofessionalism is simply uncalled for and unnecessary, but for whatever reason it was not only left alone, it was encouraged to the point where mere disruption turned it to outright disrespect from one rep to another if you were asked to quiet down. Some other reps legitimately thought it was fun to be a part of a culture like that, but there are many, many others who simply thought it lacked professionalism and moved on with their careers. Carefully decide if you function well in that sort of environment if you get a walking tour on your interview and if so, then it could be a great fit for you.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2015-09-03

    Zillow Response

    September 8, 2015Senior Director, Inside Sales

    Thank you for your thorough review. We certainly appreciate the feedback. One important aspect of our inside sales role is the financial opportunity. We have a keen focus on making it both challenging and rewarding. Although the opportunity has evolved over the years, we certainly believe, at its core, the compensation model for sales professionals is very strong. Regarding floor energy, you are right, it is an integral part of our culture and certainly something that is designed to drive a high level of sales performance. At the same time, we certainly feel it is necessary to conduct our business with highest level of professionalism. I am sorry to hear you feel that was not the case during your tenure at Zillow, however, I do appreciate you providing actionable feedback for the team to consider moving forward. If you have more feedback regarding our sales floor, inside sales opportunity, or our recruiting process please reach out to stevec@zillow.com . Good luck with your future endeavors. Steve Capezza – Senior Director, Orange County Sales

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 67 reviews