Zillow Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zillow Reviews

Updated 9 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
38 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Glorified call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, great company parties, great office.

    Cons

    The opportunity for growth here is almost impossible, unless you end up getting to know the right people. Zillow takes pride in their company slogans, however they don’t actually live up to them at all. It’s very much like a high school setting with the way everyone acts. You’re entire job is to text, and call potential buyers and connect them to an agent while using an SOP to follow. 10 hour shifts with an hour... lunch, and you must work at least one weekend day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the work environment a little more than socializing with the other managers. The position has potential to be great, however the lack of care in how the employees are treated really makes it not even worth working there.

    Zillow2019-09-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Sales account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place good people there

    Cons

    Turnover was very high when I worked there

    Zillow2019-08-26
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pac 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, culture and location

    Cons

    The hours for my role were not consistent with little autonomy

    Zillow2019-08-15
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work that has a promising outlook."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits - The benefits Zillow offers are numerous. Free snacks/drinks, gym reimbursement, time-off (vacation, parental leave), etc. Culture - Zillow really cares about its employees. There are various networks to foster a sense of belonging for marginalized groups, career development opportunities, emphasis on well-being and work-life balance, etc. I also love that despite being a mid sized company, it's still... got a tech startup feel to it. Internal Mobility - Plenty of opportunities for career development. Zillow really invests in the growth of their employees. Innovation - Zillow is constantly iterating and never stagnating. I love that things are constantly changing, it really keeps you on your feet. I also really believe in the vision the company has. I see a lot of potential and Zillow definitely is not missing the opportunity to execute on it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Contact-to-Hire - I started at Zillow as a contract-to-hire employee. The contract-to-hire process was the worst. Despite being identical in function to every other Zillow employee, I felt like I was treated as a 2nd class citizen while a contractor. Contractors get terrible benefits, are excluded from certain events/activities, and when you are finally converted you lose your hire date - so all the time you spent... as a contractor doesn't count. One thing that really made me feel excluded as a contractor was the fact I didn't get a z-Pal, which is a program they have for new hires that pairs them with someone from outside their team to bond with and introduce them to the company in a more informal way. The only reason people have to go through this unfortunate process is because management wants to make easier to let employees go if they don't live up to their expectations (my manager admitted this), which is a pretty bleak way of looking at it. Growing Pains - As things scale up, Zillow has experienced growing pains in a few areas. I feel like leadership really needs to step it up on transparency and communication. As an individual contributor I feel like I'm in the dark on what's going on. Sometimes changes happen and I find out weeks later that something had changed. So not only do I not have the chance to provide feedback and be involved in the process, I don't even get looped in on the change. Lower and middle-management could work on communicating out the direction and vision for our org.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ditch the contract-to-hire practice. Involve ICs in the decision making process. As we scale, please don't forget what makes this a great place to work. Keep the tech startup culture.

    Zillow2019-07-30
  5. "Great company and culture for all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist 

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to move up.

    Cons

    Not many that I can think of.

    Zillow2019-08-06
  6. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    Motivated teams, excellent culture, great company outlook

    Cons

    Lots changing quickly and can lead to various outcomes for both company and its employees... not for everyone but certainly for those looking for a closer to startup experience vs mature tech company experience

    Zillow2019-08-04
  7. "Amazing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Zillow Offers 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    This company walks the talk. The environment is amazing. I’m happy to come to work, therefore I’m WAY more productive and creative.

    Cons

    Haven’t found one yet.

    Advice to Management

    I like How we move fast. It keeps me on my toes and excited. I like that everyone contributes and is heard and appreciated!

    Zillow2019-07-24
  8. "Smart and caring leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Client Engagement Specialist 

    I worked at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and culture.

    Cons

    Growing really fast and changing rapidly.

    Zillow2019-07-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work, improvements needed on comp side of things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Consultant in Centennial, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Benefits and perks were second to none - Travel regularly - ZG Week

    Cons

    -The majority of teammates did not understand how comp worked or how much $ they were going to make in a given quarter. In the time I worked there, the comp structure changed once per quarter - Little career growth opportunity - Unrealistic quotas set by individuals with very little to no experience setting a quota or participating in an IC sales role

    Advice to Management

    Hire an outside consulting company with experience in Sales enablement /quota planning

    Zillow2019-07-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Database Engineer 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Freedom not much micro managing new technolgies

    Cons

    not great pay and compensation

    Zillow2019-07-31
Found 772 reviews